We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun day of adventure”

Royal Gorge Rafting
Ranked #2 of 18 Tours in Canon City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Royal Gorge Rafting, Zip Line Tours & the White Water Bar & Grill ~ One Location, 100% Fun!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed June 6, 2015

We purchased the silver package that afforded us to do the classic zip line in the morning, lunch, and rafting the gorge in the afternoon. We found the organization (paperwork, scheduling, etc.) to be excellent. We booked on line a few weeks in advance and had no trouble using their online site. We even called the day before to get clarification and suggestions about what to wear and other logistics. They were great in working with us. Since this was our first time doing these activities, we found the supplied equipment easy to use.

Our zip line guides, Vanessa and Kenny, made the morning enjoyable. They were fun and knowledgeable about zip-lining and the area. It was a great morning. They kept the group to 8 so you weren't doing a lot of standing around. This was a great course for first-timers.

Lunch was provided in our package and it was good. It is a limited menu, but we all found something on the menu we enjoyed.

The rafting was fun as well. Scotty was our guide and he had a good sense of humor and had a lot of insights about the region. I was rather disappointed however, that when he got frustrated, he told my husband and our two teenage children that they were "paddling like a bunch of pussies." I know he was frustrated and apologized about an hour later, but I was and still am, a bit put off by it. I know we all have moments where we say something regretable, but it was really a downer on our otherwise very fun family day. The rafting and the views were amazing.

In spite of that frustration, I would still recommend this trip to anyone looking for a fun day of adventure.

Thank go-kiwi-3805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoradoJames, Front Office Manager at Royal Gorge Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2015

Our package deals with rafting, zip lining and lunch are a fabulous way to spend the day and a great value for your money! It's wonderful that you took advantage of that! A lot of our guests are participating in our activities for the first time so it is our pleasure to assist you with any questions you have and help you figure out what to wear and bring.

The Classic Zip Line course is definitely perfect for all ages! It is adventurous yet simple enough to handle for the first time, especially if you have never zip lined before. We normally take groups of up to 8 people at a time so no matter the group size, our guests can enjoy a cozy, personalized tour. Vanessa and Kenny are really fun and professional guides. We're happy that they made your trip enjoyable. We're sorry that your guide behaved inappropriately on your raft trip. Upon reading your review, we have taken prompt action to fix the situation and that particular guide has been reprimanded. Customer service is of utmost importance to us and we aim to continually improve our company so honest reviews are critical. We would like to invite you to come back and visit us again for a second chance. Please give us a call at your convenience and we will gladly set you up with another trip.

Thank you!
~ Jax

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"zip lining"
in 354 reviews
"the river"
in 462 reviews
"royal gorge"
in 422 reviews
"bar and grill"
in 53 reviews
"great guide"
in 82 reviews
"white water"
in 77 reviews
"first timers"
in 44 reviews
"these guys"
in 64 reviews
"made us feel"
in 75 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 80 reviews
"awesome experience"
in 38 reviews
"extreme zipline"
in 33 reviews
"raft guide"
in 56 reviews
"great job"
in 74 reviews
"great trip"
in 75 reviews
"top notch"
in 62 reviews
"super fun"
in 42 reviews
Filter

1,180 - 1,184 of 2,284 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2015 via mobile

This was mine and my friend's first time rafting. All of the guides were amazing, but Chris was the bomb. He was very knowledgeable, had us rowing like champs and he kept us from having any "out of boat experiences." My friend was slightly nervous but at the end we both wanted to go again. We had the water to wine tour and our fantastic helicopter pilot Eli was the best. I'm a nervous flier, but it was very smooth and he talked us through each turn. After our rafting adventure Chris drove us to the winery and we were able to sample many delicious wines with a very knowledgeable Paul describing the wines and pairings. I cannot wait to visit Colorado again!

1  Thank Lehcar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoradoJames, Front Office Manager at Royal Gorge Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

The Water to Wine Heli Tour is a fabulous package! You get a wonderful helicopter tour of the Royal Gorge area, an exhilarating, action-packed raft trip, and then end it off with a wine tasting at the famous Holy Cross Abbey Winery. We're so glad you had a great rafting trip with us! Chris really is the "bomb!" Not only does he have a lot of energy and enthusiasm, he is a very skilled and knowledgeable raft guide. It's nice that he was attentive to you and made you feel comfortable throughout the trip.

We hope that you will come back to visit us again soon! Please consider trying some zip lining next time you visit.

Thank you!
~ Jax

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2015 via mobile

We had an amazing experience with Royal Gorge Rafting and Zip Lining! I was scared to death after the safety speech on the way to the river but once we got going I had 100% confidence in Dallas, as long as we followed the rules it made his job a breeze! He knew a ton about the river and the city, it was a great experience and were already planning our next trip!

1  Thank DesiFlerlage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoradoJames, Front Office Manager at Royal Gorge Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2015

Our guides do give a pretty extensive pre-trip orientation because it is best to be aware of any possible scenario that could occur whilst out on a trip. Dallas is an awesome guide with over 20 years of experience on the Royal Gorge so you are definitely in good hands if you raft with him. He is also a Canon City local so he is very knowledgeable about the area.

We're so glad you had a great experience rafting with us and we really look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you!
~ Jax

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2015

The staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. The guide was okay but steered us into a rock and two people fell out. He also said we were rowing like "pussies" but did apologize later. I would probably go again.

1  Thank Rynos123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoradoJames, Front Office Manager at Royal Gorge Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2015

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your response as it is invaluable to us to not only better our services but to progress in our ability to create a better experience whether in enjoyment or safety for the participant. Sometimes the boat can bump into rocks and guests fall out but it shouldn't be intentional. We apologize for the inappropriate language and discourage that sort of behavior. Please give us a call and speak to our River Manager so that we can find out who your guide was and take the appropriate action. We strive for our guests to have an awesome experience from start to finish. We hope that you will give us a second chance for a better time.

Thank you!
~ Jax

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2015

Our family came for a Rafting trip. This was my boyfriend, Michael's first trip. My daughter Hayden and I have been rafting on the Snake in Jackson Hole and I have rafted in Moab. That said, NOTHING, let me say it again, NOTHING compared to our experience Rafting with Quinn on the Big Horn section of the Arkansas. Quinn was amazing and we will request him and make sure all of our friends request him anytime they come!!! Thank you so much for the personal touches and making our trip the best ever. We live in Castle Rock and rest assured we will be back. Since this was Michael's first time we wanted to ensure his experience was wonderful so we can come back and do the Royal Gorge. Well.....he wants to come back next weekend, that is how much fun he had. When we do come back, we will request Quinn. No doubt he takes his job very seriously, and ensures safety first always, but fun is the name of his game and we were so thankful to be apart of his trip!!!! Thanks so much for the amazing time Quinn and we will be sending you a copy of our pictures from the camera we found floating down the river :)

1  Thank Janie J. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoradoJames, Front Office Manager at Royal Gorge Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2015

We're thrilled to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time rafting with Quinn on the Bighorn Sheep Canyon! It's awesome that you have rafted on various other rivers and had the best experience yet with us! We like to employ friendly and personable staff here because we want our guests to leave with an unforgettable experience. It sounds like Quinn went above and beyond to ensure you had a good trip.

We look forward to your visiting us again soon for the Royal Gorge trip. We're sure you'll love it! Please consider spending the day with us with one of our great package deals that also include a zip line trip and delicious meal at our White Water Bar & Grill.

Thank you!
~ Jax

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Gorge Rafting also viewed

 

Been to Royal Gorge Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing