We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best guides, best experience, best lunch!”

Royal Gorge Rafting
Ranked #2 of 18 Tours in Canon City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Royal Gorge Rafting, Zip Line Tours & the White Water Bar & Grill ~ One Location, 100% Fun!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I am so pleased with our trip with Greivy, Cameron, and Frenchie, that I am writing my first online review of anything, ever! Seriously. All day trip was well worth it. Incredible beauty, knowledgeable and very cool guides, and hot, fresh food for lunch is WAY better than a sandwich and some chips. We had kids ranging from 10 to 50 yeas old, and the guides knew just how to handle everyone. Safe but adventurous, knowledgeable but far from boring--genuinely good people who love their jobs and being on the river. Afterward, we sat in the bar/restaurant and watched a slide show of the great pics Frenchie took, reliving a great day (not to mention enjoying a cold beer and excellent bar grub--green chili nachos rock). Long story short, I've rafted on many rivers many times, and always enjoyed it, but this was far and away the best experience I've had.

1  Thank Luke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoradoJames, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Gorge Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

WOW! Luke P, thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are truly humbled to hear that you would make your inaugural on-line review based on your experience with us. Thank you.

Greivy, Cameron, and Frenchy are a great trio to spend a day with and we are so glad to hear that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your time on the river with them.

Thank you for commenting on our riverside lunch. The homemade chicken fajitas (a Frenchy speciality) are definitely a step above sandwiches and potato chips.

Thank you again for your very kind comments,
Natalie
Royal Gorge Rafting

PS Yes, the green chili nachos totally rock!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,088)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"zip lining"
in 331 reviews
"the river"
in 439 reviews
"royal gorge"
in 390 reviews
"bar and grill"
in 52 reviews
"white water"
in 74 reviews
"these guys"
in 61 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 76 reviews
"made us feel"
in 67 reviews
"great guide"
in 73 reviews
"raft guide"
in 53 reviews
"extreme zipline"
in 32 reviews
"great job"
in 73 reviews
"great trip"
in 70 reviews
"top notch"
in 58 reviews
"super fun"
in 38 reviews
"next year"
in 48 reviews
"first timers"
in 41 reviews
Filter

1,129 - 1,133 of 2,088 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

All day trip with Greivy & Cameron - Killer guides for the most killer day of rafting ever recorded, in the history of mankind. Greivy & Cameron are artists with their oars, carving up a little slice of heaven for all involved all afternoon. Flips, dips, eddys, and wicked, never-before been accomplished rafting feats - if you were there, you know what i mean. Masters at work. Mad props to Frenchie for the best grub ever prepared by human hands on a raft trip - NOTHING better than Frenchie's fresh, hot, chicken fajita burrito made by hand on the banks of the Arkansas. Others may rock a lame, pre-prepared cold sandwich, but this was a culinary delight, made by a culinary genius who also broke off KILLER action shots all afternoon long. Greivy, Cameron & Frenchie? Ask for them by name. LIke taking pie with the Godfather, a full afternoon of the best rafting with some soulful, funny, talented guys. I will now drop the microphone

1  Thank Drew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoradoJames, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Gorge Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dres K--

Your post was filled with the best one-liners:

"...Killer guides...
the most killer day of rafting ever recorded, in the history of mankind...
artists with their oars...
carving up a little slice of heaven...
best grub ever prepared by human hands on a raft trip...

Wow! Great wording and very humbling. Thank you very much for your glowing review. We feel so fortunate to have those three fellows on staff. Greivy and Cameron really are incredible guides. Both are extremely knowledgeable and just fun guys to be around. Frenchy definitely makes some wicked awesome fajitas. As you mentioned, these are not your typical cold cut sandwiches or plain chicken and peppers in a flour tortilla.

Thank you again for your props on our full day rafting trip. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

Natalie
Royal Gorge Rafting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Royal Gorge Rafting gave me a 30th birthday adventure that I will never forget. I have been rafting before and I have to say Sean was the best guide I have ever had. He knew how to direct us and taught us all the tricks to having the most fun and safest experience. Sean was also a great tour guide during the whole trip down the river showing and explaining some of the history of the river and the surrounding areas.

Following our experience I asked him where the best place was to get a bite to eat. He recommended the Whitewater Bar & Grill right there at Royal Gorge. I am sure many guides recommend their local grill as the best but I have to say Sean wasn't lying. Amazing burgers, friendly staff and delicious margaritas. It was the icing to an already amazing day.

Thank you Sean and Royal Gorge for showing my wife, my family, and myself a fantastic time. We almost didn't want to leave and can't wait to return.

1  Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoradoJames, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Gorge Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

HAPPY BIRTHDAY! What a great way to celebrate such a momentous occasion! Happy 30th!

We are glad that you and your family had such a good time on the river with Sean. The Royal Gorge really is a wonderful stretch of river--beautiful canyon walls, occasional sightings of bighorn sheep and other wild animals, and, of course, the incredible history of the area.

Those margaritas (and the whole Whitewater Bar and Grill experience) really would be the icing on the cake after any day on the water! The waitstaff at the Whitewater will be glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience there as well.

Thank you for choosing to spend your 30th birthday with us, Ed C. We hope to see you again soon!
Natalie
Royal Gorge Rafting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great experience. We rode Bighorn Sheep Canyon (and we did see bighorn sheep) because we have a small daughter and it was our first time white water rafting as a family. Rains the night before had the river running 1700 cfs and we had an awesome run. Our guide was Matt - we recommend him to all. He accommodated the kids on the boat and allowed them to do different things... but only after we had finished the challenging portion of the run. We are already talking about returning and going down the Royal Gorge run.

Thank whitescATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoradoJames, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Gorge Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Congratulations! You are one of the special groups that had the privilege of seeing the namesake of the gorgeous canyon through which you rafted! Aren't the bighorn sheep incredible creatures?

We are so glad to hear that you and your family had such a wonderful time with Matt. He really is an incredible guide and we feel so fortunate to have him on staff. We appreciate your willingness to bring your children on their inaugural whitewater rafting trip with us. There is nothing like seeing the thrill on their faces when they crush through their first big wave!

whitescATX, thank you so much for coming to see us. We hope to see you and you family for your first run through the Gorge!

Natalie
Royal Gorge Rafting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Guides Cody and Jimmy made our group event fantastic. While the conditions were perfect to spoil us, the experience could not have been better. The views were beautiful and the ride was just the right mix of challenge and fun. Highly recommend as we had a mix of teens and over 50 year olds with no experience who all enjoyed the ride.

1  Thank JCCspartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoradoJames, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Gorge Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Finding that perfect activity that suits the fancy of all involved can be a challenge--especially when you are looking to please the likes of a wide age range. Zip lining truly is one of those adventures that can bring everyone together. JCCspartan, we are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your time with Cody and Jimmy. Those guys love introducing folks to the zip lines and truly appreciate getting feedback from their guests.

JCCspartan, we would love to see you and your family again. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

Natalie
Royal Gorge Rafting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Gorge Rafting also viewed

 

Been to Royal Gorge Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing