We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Gorge Rafting- Amazing”

American Adventure Expeditions
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.05*
and up
Half Day Bighorn Sheep Canyon Rafting Adventure
More Info
$85.61*
and up
Half Day Royal Gorge Rafting Adventure
More Info
$114.14*
and up
Full Day Bighorn Sheep Canyon Rafting Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Your next great Colorado Adventure starts here! Offering whitewater rafting trips on North America's most popular river, mountain bike tours along the Continental Divide, guided ATV tours throughout the High Country, and Ziplining over rugged Colorado canyons. Let us help you plan your vacation of a lifetime. "Epic Adventures. Inspired Hospitality."
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Royal Gorge Rafting- Amazing”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I went with my parents, sister and brother-in-law last week. We came in from out of state and a few of us had never been rafting. We were pretty nervous. The team, and our guide Curtis, made us feel safe while still feeling adventurous! Highly recommend this group because you do not have to take a bus to get to the water, and it is a very short bus ride back. This saves a lot of time and hassle. VERY WORTH IT! We had a few "4" rapids and it was great, even for our inexperienced group. We did the morning to afternoon trip, and they even recommended a place to eat lunch and explore after. Very helpful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JSumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanAdventureExp, Owner at American Adventure Expeditions, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide some feedback to us from your trip last July! We're so glad to hear that you guys had a great time with Curtis - he is quite skilled at getting nervous groups relaxed and ready to enjoy the awesome rapids of the Royal Gorge! Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to see you and your family on the river again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    812
    24
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Jellyfish was awesome”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great trip on a great day. Our guide, Brian (aka Jellyfish), was great - he kept it fun while keeping us safe (directed us superbly).

Notes:
1-Location is exactly 22.0 miles west of intersection of 115 and 50; this is 500 ft west of where the 50 crosses the Arkansas river. Site directions not clear enough.
2-Length of trip depends on speed (volume) of river. Don't be surprised if trip is less than 3 hours. Ours was closer to 2 1/2 hours.
Dan Tyndall

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanAdventureExp, Owner at American Adventure Expeditions, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
We wanted to take the opportunity this off-season to thank you for your feedback! I'm so glad to hear that Jellyfish took great care of you guys out there! I'm also grateful you added some great tips for fellow travelers - also will help us be more specific and make sure that we're getting the most accurate information possible out to our guests. Thank you again for choosing AAE and we hope to see you on the river again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best day ever”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I recommend choosing American Adventure Expeditions if you are planning to raft the Arkansas River. First reason: Their facilities are on the river itself, so you avoid the 15 - 20 minutes bus ride of other organizations. Second reason: The staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and engaging. Brian Johnson, our guide, was skilled and entertaining. He would be, as he's a history teacher who guides river tours during the summer. Third reason: The staff, again, for their sense of humor. We had extremely bizarre weather (hard, pouring rain, thunder and lightning, and hail the size of BBs) while we rafted. It was outstanding but a little apocalyptic. Brian guided us through it swimmingly -- as the four of us were peppered by hail, drenched, and grinning madly. A once-in-a-lifetime experience which reads like a minor disaster but which was the best day ever. I heard my 19-year-old son exclaim to himself as we rode the Class 4 rapids-- "I love it!" and I agree.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank itsago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanAdventureExp, Owner at American Adventure Expeditions, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
We wanted to take the opportunity this off-season to thank you for your review! It sounds like you had a pretty wild adventure last July - and I'm glad that Brian was able to make sure you and your family had fun through it all! Thank you so much for choosing AAE and for taking the time to share your experience! We hope to see you all on the river again in the future - hopefully with sunny skies!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Had a Blast!!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had an absolute blast on our rafting trip. The guide was informative and fun. He joked with us the entire time. We saw 3 big horn sheep, beautiful sight. Our group had 9 boats total and all of us enjoyed ourselves and are ready to go again!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mjpete15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanAdventureExp, Owner at American Adventure Expeditions, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
We wanted to take the opportunity this off-season to thank you so much for your feedback. We're so glad to hear your group had a great time with us and also that you saw some bighorn...it's not a guarantee but it does happen quite a bit! Thanks, again for choosing us to host your group's trip and we hope to see all or at least some of you on the river again in 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best time!!!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had a blast on our white water adventure. This was something on our bucket list! Dan was an awesome guide! Everyone was friendly and informative when questions were asked. Outstanding lunch provided. We will come back

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanAdventureExp, Owner at American Adventure Expeditions, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback regarding your rafting adventure this past summer. We're so glad to hear that you all enjoyed your trip and were impressed by Dan and the lunch! We are so happy that you chose American Adventure Expeditions and we hope to see you on the river again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Adventure Expeditions also viewed

 

Been to American Adventure Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing