We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Comfortable Quiet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canon City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Canon City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at the Jewel of the Canyons late Spring 2013. Located off the beaten path of the main street on a fairly quiet side street. This B &B is a charming little home which they have recently done much landscaping to beautify the front yard. The inside is well put together. Our room was the Red Rocks Room. This is a nice room with a decent bathroom. Oddly enough a glass door is what separates this room from the main living area of the house. The blinds which cover this glass is not exactly private. It was a bit uncomfortable being that the bed is directly in front of this door with others just yards away able to see through the glass and cracks in the blinds.
Breakfast is hard to comment on, as the entree of eggs Benedict is not a favorite of ours. It was most likely good but not to our liking. The host seemed a bit frazzled over making more coffee. Her comment was something like, "we have a lot of coffee drinkers today guess I'll have to make more coffee". Sigh. Not a comment you would expect from a gracious B&B host.
Not the most friendly host we've experienced, but we realize that some host feel it is important to give their guest the tour and then as much quiet and privacy as possible.
The fresh flowers are a nice touch. The place is clean and cozy. The bed was comfortable and the neighbor nice and fairly quiet.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foursport43, Owner at Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments so we can better serve our guests! Having taken over the "Jewel" in May of 2013 we knew we would be making minor changes.
The wood blinds on the French doors in Red Rocks have been replaced with room darkening pleated shades. The glass panels on the doors have been frosted. You could not see into the room but we felt that our guests should not feel the lack of privacy.
In regards to the coffee...I don't like an empty coffee pot! We now have a Bunn coffee system to assure we always have fresh hot coffee.
We have a variety of breakfast specialties. I'm sorry our breakfast choice was not to your liking on the day you stayed with us. I would have been more than happy to make you something else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 282 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

Great stay in Canon City!

Michelle was a great hostess and luckily I was the only guest so I had the run of the house

Very well maintained and beautiful decor.

Wonderful breakfast of Belgian waffles...

Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for the side away from 5th st
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deeweechaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foursport43, Owner at Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thanks for the review!! It was so nice chatting with you at breakfast. Looking forward to seeing you soon! Having wrist surgery....Doc decided best solution for the long term....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I had a delightful stay at this charming, beautifully restored Victorian Home in Canon City. This comfy B and B is as warm and friendly as the innkeepers themselves, Michelle and Brian. They do an outstanding job and go the extra step to insure your comfort and enjoyment. We rented all four rooms on New Year's eve with three other couples. Michelle even left the holiday decorations up special for us so we could all enjoy the evening and feel festive. We rode the Royal Gorge Route train that is located just three short blocks away and came back to the Inn to ring in the new year with games and cheer gathered around the fireplace in the living room. We could not have had a nicer stay.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Red Rocks Canyon room. Located downstairs with a connecting bath. Well appoin...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAJ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foursport43, Owner at Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you so very much!! It was a pleasure to see you ring in the New Year - fireworks and all!! Please come and visit during the summer months when there are concerts, rafting and many other neat things to do. Your group knows how to have fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Ours was a one night stay and after that one night we wished that we had more time and could stay another. The Jewel of the Canyons B&B is a beautiful, thoughtfully and thoroughly restored, home located right off Main Street in Canon City. We chose the Queen's Canyon room and it was everything that it was described and pictured to be . . . and more. This is a room with room to spare and a large up-to-date bathroom. Perfect!

Michelle Tate is a great hostess and our breakfast was outstanding. While somewhat new at operating a Bed and Breakfast, you would think that she had years of experience as there was nothing that didn't meet our expectations during our stay.

The location is walking distance to most anything you would want in terms of a casual restaurant or a pleasant walk around town.

We take "road trips" throughout Colorado often and have made a great new discovery. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKT42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We recently stayed just one night in the downstairs bedroom. It is spacious, nicely furnished, comfortable bed and also a very nice adjacent bathroom with shower.

Breakfast was very good. You will find that Michelle is the perfect hostess.

She also made reservations for the train ride for us at a slight discount. The location is just a couple of blocks from "downtown." Easy walking distance if you so desire.

You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROKColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We only stayed one night but we loved it. It was a beautiful place, a good bed and a great breakfast. We had the downstair bedroom and it was beautifully furnished and had a great bathroom. Couldn't ask for a better place to stay in Cannon City.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

If you are staying in canon city, co for 1 night or multiple, this is the only place you need to go. The hospitality is unparalleled to any place I have ever stayed. The breakfast was absolutely amazing, and its only a 2 block walk to downtown. With a georgous house and setting its not to missed if visiting this area.

Room Tip: Try the Queens Canyon Room, it has an amazing claw foot tub and balcony
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brett s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canon City hotels
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Canon City
Hampton Inn Canon City
#4 of 13 in Canon City
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 13 in Canon City
136 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Canon City
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Canon City
Super 8 Canon City
#1 of 13 in Canon City
441 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Canon City
Best Western Canon City
#3 of 13 in Canon City
501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkview Inn Motel
Parkview Inn Motel
#2 of 13 in Canon City
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast

Address: 429 Greenwood Ave, Canon City, CO 81212-3245
Location: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Canon City
Price Range: $109 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Cañon City’s most charming Bed & Breakfast Inn. Enjoy present day comforts in an authentic 1890 Victorian style Bed & Breakfast while visiting scenic Cañon City, Colorado, the "Gateway to the Rockies."Our Cañon City Bed & Breakfast Inn welcomes Colorado vacationers, business travelers, out-of-town guests, friends, relatives, and anyone needing a relaxing place to stay while away from home. With near-perfect weather, the Cañon City, Colorado area embraces western history, river rafting on the Arkansas River, hiking, mountain biking, antiquing, and attractions such as the Royal Gorge Route Railroad, Royal Gorge Bridge and Park, and The Winery at Holy Cross Abbey. Take your camera and enjoy the gorgeous drive to Cripple Creek (casinos) and Victor, Colorado. It's a quick 45-minute drive to Colorado Springs and two hours to Denver. Walk from our bed and breakfast country inn just two blocks to historic downtown Cañon City, offering a variety of wonderful dining, sightseeing and shopping experiences. Jewel of the Canyons Bed & Breakfast resident-owners Michelle and Brian invite you to their beautiful 1890 Queen Anne home that has been restored to its original beauty and splendor. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing