We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canon City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Canon City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
APigford
1 review
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed August 1, 2008

My husband and I had such a great time at Jewel of the Canyons B&B. Beautiful home, very friendly owners, lovely gardens and AMAZING breakfast!

It is located within walking distance to downtown but is on a quiet street.

We thought that their website was very helpful with photos and it was easy to make a reservation online.
[-]

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank APigford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
201
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2008

The Jewel of the Canyons was the perfect place to stay. It was clean, private, air conditioned and very comfortable. The owners were perfectly hospitable and the breakfast was wonderful. We would definitely recommend the Jewel of the Canyons highly and would stay there again if we return to the area. It is perfectly situated for the Royal Gorge Railroad, the Royal Gorge and the rafting in the area. We are very particular with regard to cleanliness and we were very satisfied.

  • Liked — Cleanliness. Polite / professional owners.
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VeryDiscriminating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita KS
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

My wife and I stayed at The Jewel of the Canyon one night on a hot day in July, when we arrived our room was cool, and we were welcomed with brownies. The Jewel has wireless internet access and cable television access. The decor was charming and the breakfast was truly gourmet. This is one great place to stay.

  • Liked — Wonderful Atmosphere
  • Disliked — There was nothing at all negative
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KEH-ICT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2008

The Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast is a beautiful home that is immaculate and very comfortable. The garden is quite lovely with many blooming plants and flowers. A relaxing way to start the morning was by sitting on their porch, listening to their water fountain, and sipping delicious coffee. The fact that the B&B is centrally located (very close to the Royal Gorge Railroad) is also a plus. The hosts are delightful people [as are their two pets!] and delicious cooks. The pecan french toast was to die for!
I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Otie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woody Creek, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a stay at the Jewel of the Canyons B & B in Canon City, Colorado. We had a beautiful room on the ground floor that was filled with wonderful touches that made you feel right at home. Wendy, the innkeeper, is a lovely lady and we were blown away by her hospitality. This is a true Bed and Breakfast in the best sense of the term. We had a rhubarb crisp that was to die for and breakfast was DELICIOUS!!! We highly recommend this B & B to anyone!!!

  • Liked — Cozy, welcoming, charming Victorian house
  • Disliked — nothing...it was great
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelingtolearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

Our second stay at Jewel of the Canyon was even more wonderful than the first! Wendy and Lyn provide unparalleled personal attention to every detail.
This past week we had the pleasure of visiting 4 Colorado B & B's, and while nice in their own way, all paled by comparison to the Jewel.

  • Liked — Proprietor's attention
  • Disliked — can't think of anything we disliked
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DBW0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada. CO
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We had just been on a train ride thru the Royal Gorge, a fun and beautiful trip. Just driving up to the house you could see how well taken care of it was. The gardens outside were beautiful and well maintained. Our room was large with many plants and a beautiful decore. It was very warm and welcoming with a large bath. In the morning we had coffee on the large front porch. Breakfast was yummy with a variety of items to suit your taste. They asked about dietary problems when we checked in. Wendy & Len were very attentive and shared in the breakfast conversation telling about the renovation of the house. We would highly recommend it and hope to return someday.

  • Liked — Clean and the host were very warm.
  • Disliked — Can't think of any thing.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank leabreth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canon City hotels
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Canon City
Hampton Inn Canon City
#4 of 13 in Canon City
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 13 in Canon City
135 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Canon City
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#7 of 13 in Canon City
90 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Canon City
Super 8 Canon City
#1 of 13 in Canon City
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkview Inn Motel
Parkview Inn Motel
#2 of 13 in Canon City
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast

Property: Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Address: 429 Greenwood Ave, Canon City, CO 81212-3245
Location: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Canon City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Cañon City’s most charming Bed & Breakfast Inn. Enjoy present day comforts in an authentic 1890 Victorian style Bed & Breakfast while visiting scenic Cañon City, Colorado, the "Gateway to the Rockies."Our Cañon City Bed & Breakfast Inn welcomes Colorado vacationers, business travelers, out-of-town guests, friends, relatives, and anyone needing a relaxing place to stay while away from home. With near-perfect weather, the Cañon City, Colorado area embraces western history, river rafting on the Arkansas River, hiking, mountain biking, antiquing, and attractions such as the Royal Gorge Route Railroad, Royal Gorge Bridge and Park, and The Winery at Holy Cross Abbey. Take your camera and enjoy the gorgeous drive to Cripple Creek (casinos) and Victor, Colorado. It's a quick 45-minute drive to Colorado Springs and two hours to Denver. Walk from our bed and breakfast country inn just two blocks to historic downtown Cañon City, offering a variety of wonderful dining, sightseeing and shopping experiences. Jewel of the Canyons Bed & Breakfast resident-owners Michelle and Brian invite you to their beautiful 1890 Queen Anne home that has been restored to its original beauty and splendor. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing