We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first B&B experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canon City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Canon City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent a night at the Jewel of the Canyons as our (almost) first B&B experience. It was charming! We were taking the Royal Forge Railroad train ride at 3:30, so we needed early or late check-in. We received a phone call early in the day offering us the opportunity to check-in whenever it was convenient. Shared some wonderful Holy Cross Abbey wine on the front porch before walking to Main Street for dinner. The Red Rocks Canyon room was wonderfully cozy, bed comfy and very quiet. Breakfast of strawberries with Devonshire cream, quiche and a wonderful strawberry muffin. If we return to that part of our wonderful state, we will be repeat customers!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccmandrgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 286 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the B&B. Michelle and Brian were very welcoming. Since we were the only guests for the night, they allowed us to have our pick of the rooms. There were many wildfires throughout Colorado, including the recent Royal Gorge fire that burnt down the park, so we assume some travelers stayed away. We dined at Merlinos' Belevedere restaurant and had some of the freshest and best pasta dishes. After dinner, we went back to our room which had all the comforts of home. Michelle's breakfast of Mexican fiesta eggs, fresh-baked scones with locally made jams, fresh coffee, etc. were delicious. After breakfast, we took the Royal Gorge Scenic Railroad train tour, which went the entire route as they cleared the track of fire debris. We enjoyed Canon City, and staying at the Jewel of the Canyons B&B made it more memorable. Hope to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked comfortable. Our room was on the ground floor next to the shared TV/lounge roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warusaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This B&B was so great! Once you pull up to the property just a block from downtown, you immediately know you have arrived because the place is just so immaculate and well taken care of. From the landscape to the relaxing patio and into the well-kept home, I was impressed. I could not be more pleased with our stay. Michelle and Brian literally greeted us at the patio and you just feel like you are at home.
If you book online, there is a special request box that you can type in, so that they are prepared for anything you might need upon arriving. For us, it was making sure our room was nice and cool since we would be arriving that evening; sure enough we walked in our room and Michelle had the air down low in order to keep my husband nice and cool.
If you visit Canon City, this is THE place to stay!

Room Tip: The upstairs room with the private bath is the best room, roomy bathroom area and spacious. The down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrookeEthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a wonderful stay with Brian and Michelle. They made us feel right at home with their hospitality. The rooms were nice and quiet and our own personal bathroom had a sauna in it which was a nice surprise. Michelle made a super tasty breakfast in the morning that helped get our day started off right. We had dinner at 2 of the eateries that they recommended and were very pleased with both. We will be staying here again on our next trip to the Canon City area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Jewel is a B&B done just right! The house was charming and perfectly decorated and landscaped. Breakfast was delicious -- fruit parfaits, waffles, eggs Benedict - all exquisitely prepared.

The owners expertly balanced warmth, helpfulness, and availability with staying out of the way and letting you feel like the space was yours. We had everything we needed in the room, including free wi-fi, and didn't have to track down the owners to ask for anything extra.

The house is just a few blocks from Main St., making it very easy to walk to shops and restaurants, and not much further to the river beyond that. This was a superb B&B experience, and I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbiea67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Simply stated, this is the place to stay if you're in the Canon City area. My boyfriend and I were very pleased with our experience and the Bed & Breakfast far exceeded our expectations. The rooms were very clean and the keeper, Michelle, was extremely personable and accommodating. The breakfasts were amazing! Michelle made us pecan Belgium waffles, eggs Benedict, and homemade fruit parfait. I'd recommend this Bed & Breakfast if you're planning on whitewater rafting or ziplining in this region. ***Of note, the hotels and motels in the area are similarly priced but there is no way that they are as memorable and neat as this place. For $109, you get a clean, comfortable room***

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was our third time staying at Jewel of the Canyons. We were surprised to learn that the B&B was under new ownership, but were happy to find how friendly and helpful the new owners are. They have made some changes to the B&B which I think have improved its appearance somewhat, and even though I was worried the breakfast that I had grown to love that was prepared by the previous owners was going to be replaced with something less than delicious, I had no need for concern. The breakfast is definitely different than what we used to get, but it was still great nonetheless. The rooms are all very clean and comfortable and I still consider this the only place to stay when in Canon City.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canon City hotels
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Canon City
Hampton Inn Canon City
#4 of 13 in Canon City
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 13 in Canon City
137 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Canon City
Best Western Canon City
#3 of 13 in Canon City
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Canon City
Super 8 Canon City
#1 of 13 in Canon City
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkview Inn Motel
Parkview Inn Motel
#2 of 13 in Canon City
241 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travel Inn Motel
Travel Inn Motel
#5 of 13 in Canon City
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast

Address: 429 Greenwood Ave, Canon City, CO 81212-3245
Location: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Canon City
Price Range: $109 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Cañon City’s most charming Bed & Breakfast Inn. Enjoy present day comforts in an authentic 1890 Victorian style Bed & Breakfast while visiting scenic Cañon City, Colorado, the "Gateway to the Rockies."Our Cañon City Bed & Breakfast Inn welcomes Colorado vacationers, business travelers, out-of-town guests, friends, relatives, and anyone needing a relaxing place to stay while away from home. With near-perfect weather, the Cañon City, Colorado area embraces western history, river rafting on the Arkansas River, hiking, mountain biking, antiquing, and attractions such as the Royal Gorge Route Railroad, Royal Gorge Bridge and Park, and The Winery at Holy Cross Abbey. Take your camera and enjoy the gorgeous drive to Cripple Creek (casinos) and Victor, Colorado. It's a quick 45-minute drive to Colorado Springs and two hours to Denver. Walk from our bed and breakfast country inn just two blocks to historic downtown Cañon City, offering a variety of wonderful dining, sightseeing and shopping experiences. Jewel of the Canyons Bed & Breakfast resident-owners Michelle and Brian invite you to their beautiful 1890 Queen Anne home that has been restored to its original beauty and splendor. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing