We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Gorge Route Railroad
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fun trip through the gorge

Probably my favorite experience of a week long trip to the Colorado Springs area. Our family of 4... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Tim H
via mobile
Views are amazing

The ride was amazing. Boarding took a little too long and the food service was a bit slow. The... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
stevejG6762DN
Read all 2,096 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Canon City
from $129.00
More Info
from $129.00
More Info
from $189.00
More Info
from $89.00
More Info
Reviews (2,096)
Filter reviews
2,096 results
Traveler rating
1,371
453
164
67
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,371
453
164
67
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dome car open car open air vista dome train ride club car dining car santa express coach class coach seats prime rib dinner train north pole bison burger the river royal gorge nice ride
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 2,096 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2020

This a must do in Colorado springs. We went to the Royal Gorge bridge prior to riding the train and it really made a difference. The river is spectacular and the remnants of the old mining era equipment is something to see. This ride is full of things to look at. We were in the observation car and it is well worth the price. The open car is a lot of fun as well if you want to get some really good pictures.

Date of experience: June 2020
Thank RobertD4137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2020 via mobile

This was my first time on a passenger train and it didn’t disappoint. We sat in the Vista Dome and the views were amazing. It was nice to have the option to walk out into the open air cars.

Date of experience: June 2020
2  Thank herowannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2020

Enjoying nachos and Prosecco, delivered by Acacia. She’s funny, efficient, quick, and a wealth of knowledge

Date of experience: June 2020
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2020 via mobile

I didn’t realize in advance that the same people own the Georgetown Loop Railroad. This operation offered a lot if options but provides a pleasant basic experience at a reasonable price. It’s really important to get a seat on the river (left) side for the best views. The train has no turnaround so you will see the same things on both parts of the ride. They do backpack checks so no outside food or beverage except bottled water are allowed. Best if your time is limited. Check out other items like river rafting which I think might be the better choice.

Date of experience: June 2020
Thank Kirbyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2020

Took the dome car with our family of five, all sat together, it was very comfortable, but if it’s a nice day I would’ve gone coach and spent the ride in the open air car. There was a great voice over telling stories Of the history of the area, which we really enjoyed. We loved the open air car; views were amazing. Our server Kenneth was attentive and did a great job.
Four stars because the food was so disappointing. We were expecting some choices and the good food that people wrote about; it’s really just burgers, sandwiches and pasta dishes. The burgers were just ok, there was no signature sauce as spelled out on the menu. Ordered a flight of beers, the Rouge was very good, the others were nothing special. Skip the food, enjoy the views and go out to dinner for the same price.

Date of experience: June 2020
Thank RTMamacita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews