We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do trip.”

Royal Gorge Route Railroad
Ranked #11 of 18 Tours in Canon City
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: F-7 streamlined locomotives follow a route along the "Grand Canyon of the Arkansas River" and feature Twilight and Dinner trains.
Cheshunt, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A must do trip.”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have visited the Royal Gorge before, but did not have a chance to ride the train. I did not know what I was missing. This time did get to travel on the train! The train starts from Canon City and travels on a 12 mile journey through the Royal Gorge. The scenery is amazing with the train hugging the wall of the canyon with the river running alongside. At one point, because of the cramped location, the railway is actually suspended from a hanging bridge on the side of the canyon. We saw many people white water rafting on our trip. On reaching our destination, the train then returns to Canon City, a total journey time of about 2 hours. There are various types of coach in which one can travel. We chose an open car. Refreshments are available on the train. I cannot recommend this trip enough. Fantastic.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    902
    337
    97
    35
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Perfect Train Ride”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Royal Gorge Route Railroad begins in Canon City, Colorado. This scenic 2 hour train ride travels along the Arkansas River through the spectacular Royal Gorge with its 1,000 foot cliffs. Getting there is relatively easy as the station is right off of Highway 50 and clearly sign posted. There’s plenty of parking however you could save a little time by purchasing your tickets on-line and picking them up at the Will Call window rather than waiting in line.

The train’s route takes it approximately one hour from the station where it stops and then it spends one hour coming back along the same tracks. To maximize the outing, I suggest spending a little extra money to get seats in the Vista Dome. The Vista Dome is an observation dome car which maximizes your view and is also a dining car with comfortable seating that is not too cramped. The table seats 4 people so if traveling with two people you may be sharing a table with two people you don’t know. Spend the first hour of the ride in the Vista Dome taking in the beauty of the Royal Gorge and enjoying a reasonably priced lunch...be sure to try the “Bacon Mary” which is a Bloody Mary with bacon infused vodka (I actually ended up drinking two!). When the train stops at the end of the first leg, go to the Open Air car and enjoy the hour ride back to the station outside. Be sure to bring a camera and dress appropriately but keep in mind that space is somewhat limited on the train.

As you’re boarding the train, a staff member will ask you to pose for a picture which you can purchase during the train ride. The cost is $10.00 and is a nice memento to remember your trip.

Along with seeing the incredible Gorge, you will pass under the Royal Gorge Bridge. You may see rafters on the Arkansas River, Big Horn Sheep along the canyon walls, and some guests have also seen American Eagles flying along the canyon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ReaverArmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun and Beautiful.”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We sat in the domed car and spent some time outside- such a beautiful day, it was hard to stay inside! We each had the bison burger- $14, and pretty darn good. The staff was attentive and solicitous, especially Danielle who went out of her way to take special care of a woman who wanted to sit on the river side. It was a fun, charming trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappySassyGalSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great experience on the royal gorge railroad”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just went on the lunch train yesterday. What a terrific experience - the food was outstanding which was a great surprise. Salad, entrée, and desert were excellent but best of all was the service. Dani (our server) made the trip worthwhile. The views were breathtaking. We will take this trip again on our next CO vacation.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great time! Highly Recommend!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was one of the best things we did on our Colorado trip. The train is a 2 hour ride up and back the royal gorge. There are 3 levels of seating (coach, bar car, and vista car) We rode in the vista car which is a glass domed car for awesome views. The vista cars are all set up like a dining car so be aware if you don't have 4 in your party and the train is full you may be sat with other passengers. I was traveling with my wife and 2 young boys (both under 3) and we had only purchased 2 seats. Luckily our train was not full so we had a whole booth to ourselves. Food was excellent! If booking a vista car, try to call and get a table on the left side of the train (looking forward). This is the side that faces the river and has the best views. The right side is still good but much of the ride you will just be looking at a rock face out your window.

There are also open air viewing cars that are standing room only and anyone has access to them. We got some great pictures from these.

We had our two year old with us and he had a great time. While waiting for the train there is a city park right next to the station that can keep the kids busy. That way you can keep them out of the overpriced gift shop full of toys.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sammyj18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Gorge Route Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Royal Gorge Route Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing