We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing except”

Royal Gorge Route Railroad
Ranked #11 of 18 Tours in Canon City
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: F-7 streamlined locomotives follow a route along the "Grand Canyon of the Arkansas River" and feature Twilight and Dinner trains.
Fountain Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very relaxing except”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The train ride is a wonderful relaxing trip, however there were three children running up and down the aisle, just about the entire ride No one did anything about it. They were with their seem to be grandfather who spent almost all the ride outside, leaving the inside passengers listening to his loud kids screaming spilling food etc. The other annoying thing is the announcements going on and on. Do they really think you may upgrade on the way back. Beautiful trip except for the kid induced headache.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank flowerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world_travel_review, Owner at Royal Gorge Route Railroad, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your trip aboard the Royal Gorge Route. I am sorry to hear that your trip was interrupted by kids running about the railcar. This is a total failure on our part as, unfortunately, we must also work as "parent's" aboard our train, taking over where others have failed. We should have had a car attendant available and ready to help, but obviously this didn't happen on your trip. We are correcting this issue today to ensure consistency. Also, it sounds as though our train narration was played again and again which shows a lack of attention on our part as well. This is not the norm, but we will work to correct this issue as well. Thank you for your feedback as it helps us grow and do a better job for you, our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    904
    340
    97
    35
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lunch Train was Outstanding!”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We've lived in the Denver area 11 years and had been meaning to take the Royal Gorge Train 'one of these days.' Don't make the mistake we did by waiting years. We booked the lunch train as a 20 th birthday present for our grandson who loves trains. The trip was not inexpensive but worth every cent! TIP - Request seating on the river side!

The trip, views, the wildlife, and photo opportunities exceeded our expectations. Do not miss taking this train if you are within 200 miles of Canon City.

Frankly, our expectations for food on a train were not high. The lunch, served in a beautifully refurbished 1930s dark paneled dining car was outstanding. Exactly as advertised, it was in fact a 3-course meal that was as good as at any first class restaurant. The service was impeccable. The food quality, quantity and presentation was outstanding. The wines were reasonably priced.

We'll be back again.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A bit pricey, but a neat trip nonetheless.”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

It is listed as one of the 8 Top Train Rides in North America by Trains magazine where you get to see what was once the world’s highest suspension bridge (so I think it is still the highest in the US), which they don’t highly advertise. It is the same ride in and out of the Gorge. I paid the Coach fare and spent my time out on the open car, which I think gives you the best view of the whole thing and the cars aren’t very air conditioned so you won’t be much cooler in them. You are assigned your seat, so this is especially the way to go if you end up on the right side (while looking toward the front of the train) as you will mostly see only a rock wall out your window instead of the Arkansas River on the left side (this advise may not apply to Vista Dome car riders). I got a left side seat and still spent the first half of the ride outside. They could stand to turn up the volume for the announcer that gives the history of activities in the area – it is VERY difficult to hear, which is another good reason to go to the open car as you can stand closer to the speaker if you are interested. If you do this – REMEMBER THE SUNSCREEN!!!

NOTE: TripAdvisor’s preliminary info at the top of this page says, ”Cost: Free”. This is not correct, it is at least $33/adult for coach.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank avenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice train ride great scenery”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Overall this was a great train ride. We had a great time and loved the scenery. The only complaint I have is that for the coach passengers they only have one outdoor car an d it was a bit crowded. Also they only offer a concession car for food choices, with overpriced hotdogs, chips, etc. The dont allow you to bring your own food aboard. Besides that it was great. The staff was very nice and the scenery can't be beat.

Helpful?
1 Thank bebedani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Incredible views”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The train through Royal Gorge is a spectacular ride.The station is easy to find in Canon city.The vista dome cars give a great view of the gorge.There is an open car in the line of cars which gives an even greater view of the gorge and river. Anyone riding on the train can go to the open car..The lunch served on the train is pedestrian.The station gift shop is well stocked with a variety of goods.P.S. the area near the station is a river front park and across the tracks there is a small dinosaur museum.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Surrfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Gorge Route Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Royal Gorge Route Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing