We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fun place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canon City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Starlite Campground
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a fun place to stay”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife, sister and I stayed at Starlite for two nights during July on our trip around the USA. We were determined to stay off the Interstates as much as possible and stay away from motels. Well, we booked from Australia not quite sure what we were getting into, but it was wonderful. Sylvia welcomed us and introduced us to our vintage trailer "Bailey". It had everything we could ask for and more. In addition to the adventure of living in a trailer, other campers were warm and hospitable and made us feel just like "one of the family". Thank you Sylvia and staff for a truly memorable stay. So if you are thinking of traveling, forget that motel, live it up in a wonderful vintage trailer at Starlite Campground.

Room Tip: Why not try the Lucy Trailer or if not available, just go next door and relax in Bailey. Fun for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belfastbrian46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    9
    3
    2
    13
See reviews for
36
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is an adorable campground/RV park. The retro campers are so sweet!
My family of 4 (Two adults & 2 kids, ages 5 & 8) stayed here after the fires. We were just passing through for a few days on a road trip vacation. We were going to get a campsite and pitch a tent, but decided to stay in one of their small log cabins so we didn't have to set up/disassemble camp several times throughout the vacation.
The cabin was cozy & clean. It had a twin bunk bed & full size bed next to it. It had a fan and a swamp cooler. We were not there during the day, so the heat wasn't bad. It locked so we were able to leave our things there while we explored Canon City & surrounding areas.
The bathrooms were extremely clean! They have a little shop with some really cool things including some retro items. The have laundry, a place to clean your dishes, pinball machines, a pool, mini golf, a dog park & kennel and playground.
The kids played in the pool, playground & road bikes all around. The pool was very clean & didn't smell like harsh chemicals. The playground had fun equipment and there was tons of room to ride bikes.
Next time, we will stay in one of the campers. They are just so much fun!
My favorite part was the staff! My family felt like we were old friends with the owners. They make you feel super welcome and will help you with anything you need. Sylvia & Larry are really amazing people & their hearts are huge! Thank you for making our trip very special!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horselover316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a place truly unlike any other. A campground near the beautiful Royal Gorge/Arkansas River-- that has fantastic restored vintage travel trailers you can stay in! Be still my heart. We stayed in the Lucy trailer with two adults and a teen. The fire that hit the nearby Royal Gorge park has meant a dramatic drop in the number of people visiting this area -- so the misfortune ends up being a bonus for travelers. The fire damage isn't really noticeable if you are not planning to do the Royal Gorge bridge -- in fact, the rafting trips are even better (for us) with fewer people on the river. Throw these nice folks some business and do yourself a favor at the same time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We just got back from a really fun weekend by the Royal Gorge. Don't let the news reports of fires in Colorado keep you from visiting, everything was great and beautiful! Be sure and stay in a classic retro camper at the Starlite Classic Campground. We stayed in the Tacy, reminansce of the Lucy and Desi movie, the Long, Long Trailer. Super comfortable and pristinely clean. Sylvia and Larry are the owners and couldn't be any nicer and making you feel right at home and really welcome. There are great Segway tours right across the street, ilean ride, highly recommend doing that and the train ride through the gorge. Just a really fun family weekend, great memories with our teenagers.

Room Tip: You can tent camp or bring your own rv or doing something really different and stay in a classic cam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timberon, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We are fortunate to have found the STARLITE over two weeks ago!Facility is very clean, fresh flowers in the restroom, 5 star laundry and a dog park with an incredible view. We have stayed before and after the fire. ! This is so much more than a campground!! An experience!! The vintage trailers are amazing, the view of the Royal Gorge bridge is visible from our "windshield" 24/7. As the sun sets-WELL you have to see it to believe it!!!!! Sylvia and Larry treat their guests like family which is so fitting with the retro theme! It is truly who they are. As we are sad to leave, next visit we are going to park our 40ft diesel pusher and travel back to the past and stay in one of the vintage trailers. Make Starlite your destination. Kindest Regards, Nancy & Charles Marshall

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just enjoyed a weekend at Starlight. I was expecting a typical campground but was so impressed, I need to write a review! Sylvia and her team are so darling and attentive. I was with a large group and everyone was so impressed. I brought my own pop-up but those in our group who rented the restored old campers just loved them. Best family photo op EVER. Also there is so much to do in this area. Starlight campground was a great home base between activities and a great feeling of 'home' to bunk down in.

Room Tip: The web site shows the trailers, you can custom fit your personality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotModelForTSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Me and my family of 4 and our 5th member(our dog) found one of the best camping grounds we have ever visited. The staff is incredible, the view is incredible. The facilities here were some of the cleanest we have ever come across. Their store has everything and the classic theme is just out of this world. The kids really enjoyed their clean pool and the bikes for free to ride around!! We really cant say enough about this campground, while it is close to main highway to the Royal Gorge you never noticed the traffic. We will definitely be regulars on our trips through here. The prices is half the major campgrounds while not having to pay for the extra's. Sylvia is an incredible host and you just feel like you belong! (We brought our own "classic" popup Apache) but their vintage campers to rent per night were just something special to see and something I would take over a hotel room anyday! If your coming to this area or to see the RG you HAVE to check this place out. Thank you so much for being so kind to my family!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floyd Josh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canon City hotels
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Canon City
Hampton Inn Canon City
#4 of 13 in Canon City
520 reviews
6.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 13 in Canon City
131 reviews
7.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Canon City
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#9 of 13 in Canon City
88 reviews
6.6 mi away
Super 8 Canon City
Super 8 Canon City
#1 of 13 in Canon City
405 reviews
6.0 mi away
Parkview Inn Motel
Parkview Inn Motel
#2 of 13 in Canon City
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Starlite Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Starlite Campground

Property: The Starlite Campground
Address: 30 County Road 3a, Canon City, CO 81212-9729
Location: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Canon City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a restored Retro campground and RV park, with sites, cabins and Professionally Restored Vintage Trailers available.The area is filled with exciting and relaxing activites; white water rafting, horseback rides, helitours, jeep trips, hiking, biking, fishing, the Royal Gorge Bridge and so much more! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing