We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Echo Canyon River Expeditions - Day Trips
from $88.61
More Info
from $75.49
More Info
from $152.56
More Info
from $128.49
More Info
Reviews (3,062)
Filter reviews
3,058 results
Traveler rating
2,879
134
21
11
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2,879
134
21
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alfredo white water rafting steak royal gorge great trip half day trip big horn top notch family float changing rooms trip leader great guide great job class rapids wet suits first timers a lot of fun
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,058 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I went on a float in September. It was Wonderful! Only advise is wear your swimsuit and shoes with a strap so you won’t have to rent anything. Also this is key,bring your own Waterproof disposable camera! The pics they sell were soooo expensive for just one!!!! Very sad I didn’t get one but $70 a pic was ridiculous!!!!!

Thank brandymguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EchoCanyon, General Manager at Echo Canyon River Expeditions - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We appreciate your choosing to join Echo Canyon for your raft trip this summer! You definitely want to start with a swimsuit or quick drying clothes, and sports sandals are always the best option when temps are warmer and wetsuit gear isn't necessary for warmth. We'll do a better job next year of letting our guests know what the costs are for photos - it sounds like we confused you on the rate. Our packages range from $49 to $115. Also, at the our rafting check-in counter we also sell a low cost / high quality waterproof phone pouch so you can bring your own 'camera' and get some shots at a very affordable rate.

Thanks for joining us and for offering your review! We hope to see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As a part of a large family, we have many different ideas of fun. This trip was fun and exciting for all of us, from young to old. Our guides were fun and helpful; they had the experience to make the trip as fun as possible for all of us.

Thank Resort701965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EchoCanyon, General Manager at Echo Canyon River Expeditions - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for making rafting at Echo Canyon a part of your family get together! Our guides do an exceptional job of adapting trips to a variety of ages and interests. I'm happy to hear we hit the mark for your group, and we thank you so much for trusting us to provide a rafting trip for all of you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There were 6 in our group - 2 seniors, 2 younger adults, 2 young teen girls. This was a first time trip for the teens and one of the adults and was just right for our skill level. Rapids were mostly 2's and 3's. Scenery was great as was our guide. River is a bit narrow in places, follows the highway, and water was low the day we were there, so raft snagged on rocks several times. But everyone had fun and I wished we had booked the 6 hour trip with lunch instead of the half day! We thought pricing was reasonable, although photo package was expensive. (Pictures were great!) Would definitely recommend, but make sure you go when water levels are good. We were also very happy with the glamping tents and the Mile 8 Bar and Grill at this location. Canon City was a great 3 day stop for us on an extended vacation.

Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EchoCanyon, General Manager at Echo Canyon River Expeditions - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for spending a long weekend with us, Pat! We did see some lower river flows late this summer, but it's great to hear your group still have an enjoyable first rafting trip. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the glamping tents as well, and also our on-site restaurant. Thanks again for joining us, and of course for your time in offering a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

We came here 2 years ago while touring in Colorado with 8 friends, we had 2 rafts between us and never stopped laughing. We were with a different group of friends this year, we had said to them during our trip how much of a great time we had 2016, you know what its like when you hype something up and then think was it a fluke, well it wasn't. Our guide was great, full of fun and banter right from the off, he knew what he was doing and had us laughing all the way, he asked us if we wanted to try and put the raft in a hole, he explained what would or could happen and we went for it, we couldn't stop laughing as the water was just rushing in over the front of the raft, we were up to our waists in water, and the raft wasn't moving. Our friends are still talking about it 2 months later. We would highly recommend doing one of the trips, it is good fun and all the family can take part, the guides are very professional and take it seriously, and are still able to make it a fun experience, not being able to swim isn't a stopper, they provide the wet suits which aid flotation and life vests.

Thank Spikethebeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EchoCanyon, General Manager at Echo Canyon River Expeditions - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for returning for another trip with us, and thank goodness (for us and for you!) your guide delivered on how much you talked up your previous trip with us! From your description, you joined us at a water level ideal for 'surfing' - steering the raft into a mild hydraulic or hole that keeps the raft in place for a while. Trust me, your guide loved it just as much as you guys did! Thanks for coming back, bringing your friends, and writing a great review. Also, we love your username!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

We had a great tie on our trip. The guides are all friendly and knowledgeable. Equipment was clean and in good condition. The restaurant has good food too, so it can be a nice relaxing extended outing. We did make a reservation in advance. We went over Labor Day weekend, so the water was lower and slower than mid summer. We look forward to going again earlier in the season.

Thank Coastal709566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EchoCanyon, General Manager at Echo Canyon River Expeditions - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for entrusting your first rafting experience with Echo Canyon! We appreciate reviews like yours that talk about more than just the rafting, but also the overall experience with details. Thanks for your review and we look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018

I was excited to get invited to join 6 colleagues to raft the Royal Gorge. The drive in was full of anticipation. We were placed in two rafts. Both of our guides did an excellent job coaching us and keeping us steered in the right direction so we could enjoy all the River had to offer. We even got to stop and watch a herd of mountain goats navigate the cliffs. What a day. I will go back.

Thank mayibefrankwithyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EchoCanyon, General Manager at Echo Canyon River Expeditions - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

That does sound like a good business trip! Thanks for tagging along with your colleagues, and for taking the time to offer your review - we sure do appreciate you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

My boyfriend and I did the Royal Gorge 1/2 day trip for my birthday. We were nervous before getting on the water since it was our first time and we were expecting our arms to most likely give out or one of us fall out of the boat. The guides told us it was the lowest recorded water level for the day we went, so it was much harder to get over some of the rocks without the water helping push us along. The rapids weren't as quick & steep as I expected, but it was the end of the summer and it hadn't rained in some time. Our guide was excellent when we'd get stuck on a rock or needed to maneuver differently- he did seem a little annoyed though with my group. (possibly due to everyone being first-timers/the girls in our raft complained extensively/we weren't following his instructions since they were shouted so quickly and at times not loud enough). Overall we really enjoyed it. I researched MANY white water rafting trips throughout Colorado and chose Echo Canyon due to price, what's included, location, difficulty of rapids involved, and amenities.

Thank haleylm02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EchoCanyon, General Manager at Echo Canyon River Expeditions - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review, Haley. I'm glad to hear you did a fair amount of research before choosing to raft with us, and we're honored you chose Echo!

We did see very low water flows at the end of our rafting season this year. As a guide myself, I'm guessing your guide was frustrated for getting hung up on the rocks rather then with the two of your and the other paddlers. That's just a guess, but we have pretty high expectations for ourselves as we navigate the rapids with our crews. Regardless, he should not have even given you a hint of frustration with his crew. We cater to many first time rafters, and it's important to make your first rafting experience a stellar one. Thanks for mentioning this aspect of your trip, and we hope to see you another time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

My grandson and I took this whitewater experience. it was well organized, safe, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. It was a chance to see nature at its best.

Thank carl2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EchoCanyon, General Manager at Echo Canyon River Expeditions - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for joining us with your grandson! I'm pleased to hear you found us to be a good choice for rafting on the Arkansas River. Come back and join us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

This is a great company to have a rafting experience with! They teach you everything you need to know to stay safe but also have a great time. I booked a trip here for an anniversary gift for my boyfriend since he had never been rafting before and he loved it. We will definitely return again next season! Kieran was our guide and he was great!

Thank camille76306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EchoCanyon, General Manager at Echo Canyon River Expeditions - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for joining us and for your great review, Camille! Kieran has been with us for a few years now, so it's really nice to hear he's providing a first rate trip for his guests. When you reserve your trip next year you can certainly request Kieran if he's available on the day you end up rafting. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

Highly professional staff, great facility, clean & accomodating. Our first time rafting in a group of 9 friends (early 30’s men and women). Our guide was awesome! Skilled, knowledgeable, friendly- but let us do our own thing and be ourselves (even recvomnded some local nightlife). We had a blast! Lots of laughing and paddle high 5’s. I’ll be back for sure, this was the highlight of our vacation.

Thank arcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EchoCanyon, General Manager at Echo Canyon River Expeditions - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

That's the highest compliment we could receive - the highlight of your vacation! Thanks so much for rafting with us and for for providing a wonderful review. We certainly hope we can host you again another time. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews