We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My kids loved it!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canon City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prospectors RV Resort
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Canon City
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in cabin #9 this past weekend and my kids did not want to leave! They loved the pool, jump pillow, splash pad and game room. The property was very clean and the cabin had everything we needed. The people working the front desk who I think were the owners were very friendly and helpful. They were able to direct us to activities around town and close by but my kids were just happy hanging out at the resort. We have already decided to come back in September for their Halloween weekend.

I will definitely be recommended this spot to all my friends with kids!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vnagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thanks so much for your positive words about our campground. We look forward to having you come back to stay!
-PRVR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Prospectors RV Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 123 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Scout friendly a big plus but hardly a resort. Did have a pool that looked clean. Sites were bare patches of dirt but was a value! Easy reservations and folks were friendly enough on the phone. Did not get to see them as we arrived late and departed early. Game room was good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

We are happy to see that your time at Prospectors was well spent, and would like to let you know that we are now under new management. If you are ever looking for a scout friendly place to pitch a tent, that is getting better by the day, please keep us in mind.
Thank You,
Prospectors RV Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Read the reviews and thought we'd give it a try even though there were a few bad ones.
Well folks, stick with the bad ones. I agree with the comment regarding pictures ... The place is NOTHING, like the photos.
I'm not sure when the grass had been cut last.
Hard to tell the defined area of the sites.
Very few campers, those that were there were not recent pull ins.
Told the hubby, lets keep going...way to creepy!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Texanontheroad2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Hello, and thanks for taking the time to review the campground. We would like you to know that we are under new ownership, as of May 22nd, 2014. The issue of being creepy, weedy, and undefined are things that we are proactively working to correct, and we hope that you will try Prospectors RV Resort again, in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My stay at this resort was very disappointing. The lady at the desk was rude at all times of the day, and talked badly about other guests. The owner was walking around and seemed to be drunk and very violent with people, and used strong profanity. The campground was however clean, just not the type of place I would take my family again. I will never recommend this place too anyone. There are plenty of other places near by

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank 495Kelly83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prospectormike56, Owner at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Wow!!! This person was very unhappy with me. This person is a raft guide that is friends with 6 other raft guides that I had to evict for disrespecting our property. Being raft guides they should know how to act in public. Their eviction took place on July 26 this review was done on Monday the 29th. On July 24th these guides were smoking pot by our public pool. They were informed that it was illegal to smoke pot at a public facility, after a brief argument they left our property-good. The next day they returned and put their dog in the pool. Dogs are not allowed in a public pool. I told them to get the dog out of the pool and they left. Later that night after hours they brought non guests after hours to use the hot tub. I evicted them the next day. They can write all the fraudulent reviews that they want and I will reply with the truth and their dirt. I believe that any and all of these disrespectful actions should be grounds for eviction. I work very hard to offer a fun and good experience to our family orientated guest. Mike the owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Plenty of activity between adventures at Prospectors RV Resort at Canon City, CO. Nice clean place. Stayed in cabin and well worth it if no RV in trail. Everything available here. mike and Family are great hosts to your camping needs. The Royal Gorge Bridge is just across the front office clearly in good sight with a great view of the Colorado MOuntains.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulStaquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thanks for your positive review of our campground. We are under new ownership, as of May 22nd, 2014, and would like to let you know that we intend to continue to operate as a family run business. Our hope is that next time you come to Prospectors RV Resort, we can go above and beyond your last experience here. Thank you, again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed three nights in cabin #7 and found it to be exactly as described on the website. We're not "campers" (but thought we'd try it!) so we were pleased it was clean and maintained. Our arrival was a bit stressful since there isn't good cell service in the area (for our GPS) and we were arriving after 10 pm (dark mountain roads!), but once we got there, everything was in place exactly as Renee said it would be. The kids LOVED the jumping pillow....definitely a highlight! The owners were helpful and friendly, the campground was very quiet (we felt bad unpacking at 10 pm since it was so quiet!), and it's a beautiful area. Wish the splash pad would have been running, but we were too busy doing other things to need it (and maybe they would have turned it on if we'd said something). Overall a pleasant experience. :)

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

We are so pleased that your visit to Prospectors RV Resort was a great one. Sorry to hear that you were unable to enjoy the splash pad. :( I would like to inform you that it is working, and we have even rebuilt it this season, to make it better, safer, and more fun for your next visit.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the "resort" on July 8th and 9th. It was a very disappointing experience. We were tent camping. Thankfully, the campsite was almost empty other wise we would have been camping right on top of other people-the sites were so close together. When we checked in I was barely greeted by a less than enthusiastic young lady. The campground did not match the photos shown on their website - things are not nearly as nice as pictured. My husband said the men's bathroom was nasty. Someone had cut their hair one morning, the next day in the afternoon the hair was still covering everything. We needed change for the laundry room and even though it was early in the evening the office was locked and no one was to be found. The game room was locked, the pool was freezing cold even though the temps were close to 100. We so wanted to love our Colorado camping adventure. This was not the place to do that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ibsaved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

We, at Prospectors RV Resort, are so disappointed to read about your experience in our park. I would like to inform you that the park is under new ownership, as of May 22nd, 2014, and we are well underway making major improvements. We have set office hours, and are ALWAYS available after hours for your camping needs. The bathrooms are maintained twice daily. The sites are getting spruced up, and more clearly defined boundaries. Those are just a few of the things we are up to. I understand that you may not be regular visitors to the Royal Gorge area, but hope that if you ever are in the area, you come out to try us again. We would be happy to discount your stay for your efforts. Thanks for your time.
-PRVR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canon City hotels
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Canon City
Hampton Inn Canon City
#4 of 13 in Canon City
557 reviews
6.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 13 in Canon City
136 reviews
8.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Canon City
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#7 of 13 in Canon City
90 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western Canon City
Best Western Canon City
#3 of 13 in Canon City
501 reviews
7.4 mi away
Super 8 Canon City
Super 8 Canon City
#1 of 13 in Canon City
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospectors RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospectors RV Resort

Address: 43959 W US Highway 50, Canon City, CO 81212-9742
Location: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Canon City
Price Range: $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prospectors RV Resort is a full service campground in the heart of the Royal Gorge Area. We offer 126 Tent/RV spots, 13 cabins, and are open year round. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing