We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canon City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prospectors RV Resort
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Canon City
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Plenty of activity between adventures at Prospectors RV Resort at Canon City, CO. Nice clean place. Stayed in cabin and well worth it if no RV in trail. Everything available here. mike and Family are great hosts to your camping needs. The Royal Gorge Bridge is just across the front office clearly in good sight with a great view of the Colorado MOuntains.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulStaquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thanks for your positive review of our campground. We are under new ownership, as of May 22nd, 2014, and would like to let you know that we intend to continue to operate as a family run business. Our hope is that next time you come to Prospectors RV Resort, we can go above and beyond your last experience here. Thank you, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    28
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
81
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed three nights in cabin #7 and found it to be exactly as described on the website. We're not "campers" (but thought we'd try it!) so we were pleased it was clean and maintained. Our arrival was a bit stressful since there isn't good cell service in the area (for our GPS) and we were arriving after 10 pm (dark mountain roads!), but once we got there, everything was in place exactly as Renee said it would be. The kids LOVED the jumping pillow....definitely a highlight! The owners were helpful and friendly, the campground was very quiet (we felt bad unpacking at 10 pm since it was so quiet!), and it's a beautiful area. Wish the splash pad would have been running, but we were too busy doing other things to need it (and maybe they would have turned it on if we'd said something). Overall a pleasant experience. :)

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We are so pleased that your visit to Prospectors RV Resort was a great one. Sorry to hear that you were unable to enjoy the splash pad. :( I would like to inform you that it is working, and we have even rebuilt it this season, to make it better, safer, and more fun for your next visit.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the "resort" on July 8th and 9th. It was a very disappointing experience. We were tent camping. Thankfully, the campsite was almost empty other wise we would have been camping right on top of other people-the sites were so close together. When we checked in I was barely greeted by a less than enthusiastic young lady. The campground did not match the photos shown on their website - things are not nearly as nice as pictured. My husband said the men's bathroom was nasty. Someone had cut their hair one morning, the next day in the afternoon the hair was still covering everything. We needed change for the laundry room and even though it was early in the evening the office was locked and no one was to be found. The game room was locked, the pool was freezing cold even though the temps were close to 100. We so wanted to love our Colorado camping adventure. This was not the place to do that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibsaved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We, at Prospectors RV Resort, are so disappointed to read about your experience in our park. I would like to inform you that the park is under new ownership, as of May 22nd, 2014, and we are well underway making major improvements. We have set office hours, and are ALWAYS available after hours for your camping needs. The bathrooms are maintained twice daily. The sites are getting spruced up, and more clearly defined boundaries. Those are just a few of the things we are up to. I understand that you may not be regular visitors to the Royal Gorge area, but hope that if you ever are in the area, you come out to try us again. We would be happy to discount your stay for your efforts. Thanks for your time.
-PRVR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family along with some friends spent just over a week at this resort. They have just a few cabins but lots of space for RVs and tent camping. The owners were very good to us by providing us with directions, setting up and driving us on a tubing excursion, making sure we had some free movies for our daughter to watch at our cabin. The grounds have a nice play area for kids and kids at heart! We would definitely go back if traveling back to this area of Colorado.

Room Tip: Cabin #10 is the only cabin that has a TV, just FYI!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkwannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We rented cabin #2. It was nice and very comfortable! Mike & Renee also made my husbands trip by getting the UFC fight at the club house! Thanks again. While my husband watched the fight we enjoyed the game room. We played music on the jukebox and played ping pong, pool, and a bowling game! They also had several activities planned for the families but the rain didn't make it possible. They remind me of the Yogi Bear parks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie-Travill... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

NO FIRES, NO SMOKE, NO MUD, & NO CRAZY CROWDS! The evening showers are greening things up nicely now! We loved it here and had a great, quiet space for our RV #18. We walked the entire RV & Campmgrounds and realized Prospectors had some great RV & Camp sites. They even have cabins! The owners are very friendly & helpful... The small store & gift shop is stocked with everything you might need. We also visited the Winery & the Prison Museum. Enjoyed them both. We relaxed at our camp site but also took in a relaxing lunch at 8 Mile Bar & Grill. Very clean, great food, very friendly service & great prices.
If you do bring the kids, this place has a great pool, hot tub, water park, arcade, and a giant jumping pillow!
Get down there now and support the businesses that have suffered from the fires earlier in the summer. There are plenty of fun things to do besided walking on the Royal Gorge Bridge!

Ron & Heather

Room Tip: Plenty of Full Service RV Sites here! Some amazing Tent sites too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We camped at Prospectors RV resort after reading several reviews on trip advisor. The place has everything you need in a good campground. The jump pillow, pool and splash zone were quite fun. The camp store was very convenient and the owners were quite friendly. On the down side, the wireless access in the sites themselves was a bit dodgy. There was also a sporadic odor of sewer near our site, although a steady wind kept it at bay most of the time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canon City hotels
6.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 13 in Canon City
130 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Canon City
Hampton Inn Canon City
#4 of 13 in Canon City
520 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#9 of 13 in Canon City
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Parkview Inn Motel
Parkview Inn Motel
#2 of 13 in Canon City
217 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western Canon City
Best Western Canon City
#3 of 13 in Canon City
440 reviews
7.4 mi away
Super 8 Canon City
Super 8 Canon City
#1 of 13 in Canon City
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospectors RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospectors RV Resort

Property: Prospectors RV Resort
Address: 43959 W US Highway 50, Canon City, CO 81212-9742
Location: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Canon City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prospectors RV Resort is a full service campground in the heart of the Royal Gorge Area. We offer 126 Tent/RV spots, 13 cabins, and are open year round. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing