We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great fall get away”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canon City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prospectors RV Resort
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Canon City
Canon City, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great fall get away”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in a cabin. It was very clean and well stocked, Everything you would need for a get away with out all the hasel of packing it all with you. Very cozy We enjoyed the hot tube in the crips evening and when back and enjoyed a camp fire. The next day we went down to the club house and enjoyed watching the football game. Everyone we ran into was enjoyable.and the staff went out of there way to make sure you had a great stay., They have a great little store for the things you forgot. They have a great play area for the kids and plant of room to go for a great walk. We had a great week and left wishing we didnt have to.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marylynn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    28
    11
    9
    9
See reviews for
84
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver City, New Mexico, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

October 14, 2012 - Don’t stay here! We often stay in NM State Parks and there is no comparison for twice the price. The bathrooms are not filthy, but they are not clean. The camping locations are loaded with goat head stickers, the tables and benches are hazardous with splinters and chipped paint. The camping cabins are being rented long-term to what appear to be mostly young locals looking for cheap accommodations. Walking your dogs on a leash puts them at risk of attack by the cabin dogs not on a leash. My two small dogs were attacked. The resident explained that his dog lives here and he needs to let him out – off leash - to take care of business. He apologized, but that didn’t save my dogs from being frightened, or me from ending up on the ground with scrapes and bruises as a result of the mêlée. We found several large pieces of broken plate glass in our family’s campsite next to ours. On the other hand, the staff was at least friendly when we came in contact with them.

Room Tip: We stayed in sites 69, 70, & 71. Pleasant sites if they were maintained to a reasonable standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We are sorry to hear that your last stay at Prospectors was unpleasant, and would like to let you know that we are now under new ownership/management, as of May 22nd , 2014.
The issues that you have brought to light in your review, are definite concerns of ours, and are being addressed right now. Dogs are leashed, bathrooms are cleaned twice daily, and broken glass is picked up!
If you are ever in the Royal Gorge area, please give us a try again. We would be happy to offer you a stay at a discounted rate.
Thank You,
-Prospectors RV Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Best park around the Royal Gorge area. They let us use the club house to watch their satellite tv. We had the place to ourselves. Very friendly staff. Recent new owners. Would stay there again. Bathhouse very clean. Large gravel sites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondie1949x61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodward ok
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

very nice people, nice park, nice cabins.... kinda confusing park layout but not bad, no restaurants or fitness center. The air-conditioners are not true ac's but they are swamp coolers, but they worked well, even in august. the kitchen in our cabin was AMAZING. no tv but we brought our own to watch movies... nice park

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craiglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Urban/Suburban Family Alert! Put the video games, remotes, and other day-to-day mind-mushers and take a few days to reconnect with your family in one of their clean, cozy cabins. And know that you will be taken care of by some of the nicest hosts we've seen in our many travels. We of course kept busy during the day at Royal Gorge and other surrounding attractions, but evenings were spent with the kids having fun with the many resort property amenities (see website and You Tube promo), followed by a campfire right outside of our Cabin #4 door. Weaving this "faux camping" experience into our hotel-to-hotel Griswoldian tour of Colorado was a welcome respite. Thanks to the Johnstons and their warm hospitality!

Room Tip: There are several different cabin layouts and elements. Take the time to review each cabin on their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnybdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

I was recently out at this place for a large family reunion and was happy with the amenities. We were able to take advantage of the onsite 'club house' cabin for our large family dinners and social events. In the daytime we were able to utilize their game room, pool, hot tub, and splash area. They even had a very unique "bounce pad" which was fun for both the kids and adults! The store/office had a great selection of food, snacks and drinks as well as souvenirs, toys and toiletries. They even had beer for sale for those who ran out!

The staff was helpful and were able to get answers or responses to almost everything we tossed at them - from addressing issues with our cabins or campsite, finding activities (non-tourist-y things to do) to getting a recommendation on the best place to get a bicycle tube in Cañon City!

I would highly recommend this facility; especially one with a family and kids.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank benducklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in a cabin at Prospector's.

The cabin was larger than I though it would be for the price. It was fully stocked with an A/C, bathroom, futon, bedroom, kitchen, and a loft. Talk about roughing it.

The people at the front desk were extremely helpful and friendly.

It was also quite and peaceful around our cabin which made the stay very relaxing.

The campgrounds are in an excellent location being right next to river rafting, zip lining, and the Royal Gorge. Not to mention that it is only a 10 min drive into Canon City for any supplies or restaurants you might want.

The campgrounds have a great view of the mountains and the Royal Gorge.

The pool and game room are a little outdated and need some TLC, but that is really my only knock on the camp grounds.

I would highly recommend these campgrounds, especially the cabins, to other people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phildeanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canon City hotels
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Canon City
Hampton Inn Canon City
#4 of 13 in Canon City
527 reviews
6.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 13 in Canon City
131 reviews
8.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Canon City
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#8 of 13 in Canon City
90 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western Canon City
Best Western Canon City
#3 of 13 in Canon City
464 reviews
7.4 mi away
Super 8 Canon City
Super 8 Canon City
#1 of 13 in Canon City
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospectors RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospectors RV Resort

Property: Prospectors RV Resort
Address: 43959 W US Highway 50, Canon City, CO 81212-9742
Location: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Canon City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prospectors RV Resort is a full service campground in the heart of the Royal Gorge Area. We offer 126 Tent/RV spots, 13 cabins, and are open year round. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing