We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serenity Springs Wildlife Center

Serenity Springs Wildlife Center
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Calhan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opened in 1993, Serenity Springs Wildlife Center is home to over 120 big cats, including lions, tigers, cougars, leopards, genets, servals, caracals, coatimundi, bears and even Ligers! We are the largest federal and state licensed placement facility in Colorado.Over the years, with dedication and determination we've become Colorado's premiere big cat facility. We are proud to be the only facility in the state, including government funded zoological parks, to qualify for and be granted, a State of Colorado Zoological License.It is with joy that we provide care and love to the exotic cats in our care. See all of the opportunities you have to spend time with these majestic animals.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I have been visitng this place for years and have taken many friends and family members out there. It is always a pleasent experience. A $10.00 donation to see these beautiful cats and other animals is a small price to pay for the up close and personsl experience that you would never get at an actual zoo. I highly reccomend visiting this place if you have never been and if you have been I reccomend going back!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank firemandave1821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    10
    0
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver CO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretty amazing!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

What a wonderful place! It is a must see for all animal lovers. This lovely little sanctuary houses so many beautiful animals. They appear to be very well cared for and the tour is very interesting. We even had our picture taken with a 12 day old tiger cub kitten. These folks are doing amazing rescue work. It is worth the trip!

Helpful?
6 Thank Stapleton_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peyton, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Family Fun Day”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

I found the big cats interesting, and the fun time somewhat worthwhile. However, on the 10:30 tour, the woman who led it was rude, and complained a lot about my grandchildren touching the fence. The tour tape was right on the fence in one place, so it was not clear to my grandchild not to touch. She could have pointed out not to touch, but she went on complaining about it. Everyone else was very friendly.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AT799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nedabreak, Manager at Serenity Springs Wildlife Center, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Family Fun Day was an extremely busy day for us with over 500 people visiting. As you know we do not have the big barriers like most zoo's and this allows you to get much closer to see the animals. However, with that many people visiting our tour guides have to be very vigilant and insure that every visitor is safe. I am sure our guides concern was for your children as they can be very fast and we want to be sure they are safe at all times. Please come back and visit at another regularly scheduled tour and I am sure your experience will be much different. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

We loved being able to get so close to these beautiful cats. Its a very nice, long tour with tons of information given about different wild cats. It was a very fun time and only cost us $10 each, which is well worth it.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Megrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Up close and personal tour with TONS of beautiful cats!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

Off a country road, lies this gem of a place! Cannot believe I've lived here all these years and just found it today... Everywhere you look, there are tigers and other large cats; within only a few feet of you! The circumstances of their arrival at the sanctuary is sad, but the people who run the facility love them so much. If you are a big cat lover, you MUST visit this place. Its non-profit so the $10 a person fee to get in will absolutely benefit the animals. Very educational, personal tour. Our kids cannot stop talking about the cats; we cannot wait to return!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank cjmeck23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serenity Springs Wildlife Center also viewed

 
Calhan, El Paso County

Been to Serenity Springs Wildlife Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing