We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel hidden from the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel hidden from the world”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

It took us 45 minutes to drive the last 9 km to the hotel, and the extremely rough road rattled every body part, we used the 4 WD often. Several times I wasn't sure we would make it up some of the hills. The drive from T is not for the weak of heart. The guard at the gate greeted us by name and when we walked into the reception area we were greeted with cold towels and a fruit drink. The checking process was painless. I'm not sure what I expected, but my expectations were exceeded. This is really an amazing and beautiful hotel. The staff is fantastic. Although there sometimes was a language barrier The common areas are all open and inviting. From our room we could hear the Rio Celeste, we had a huge private balcony that faced the jungle. Our room also had a huge outdoor shower complete with gorgeous flowering plants and shrubs. Our meals were very tasty. The hotel had a trail where you could walk down to see the Rio Celeste. The 700m walk is fairly easy and well marked. The gardens around the hotels are lovely and well kept while maintaining a jungle/rain forest. My husband and I got massages in the SPA. I can't say enough good things about this hotel and the staff. Free WiFi was available.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shumbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    169
    43
    10
    3
See reviews for
171
482
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the romantic Rio Celeste Hideaway Resort.
This all villa resort was perfect for relaxation or to get involved with every kind of out door adventure. The staff was amazing. The walk to the river --right on the Hotel grounds was just a beautiful memorable time. We are from Las Vegas and have been to all the 6 star restaurants there. That said, the chef at Rio Celeste beats them all. In taste, quality, presentation and service. We had TWO couples massages! The massage therapists are top notch.

Room Tip: Go with a 4 wheel drive vehicle--it is worth the effort to get there. Look on the web for direction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlistairMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I've lived in Costa Rica for 10 years and only just found out about this hidden jewel. The hotel and staff are wonderful, friendly and very attentive. The service was impeccable. And how delicious to be met with a cool towel and a tropical drink upon our arrival! Our suite was gorgeous with a private garden and sounds of a waterfall nearby...very soothing to the soul and for a good night's sleep.

The dirt road leading to it is part of the adventure and not that bad. But don't, I repeat don't, let it deter you from seeing Rio Celeste. This turquoise river is just a 700 meters from the hotel along a beautiful trail through the forest. There were a few but not many mosquitos, so bring some repellant if they like you. I'll be back with family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

If you are travelling to the Tenorio area - stay at this Hotel. Be aware that getting there is an adventure and a four by four is probably a good idea ! But once you get there this is a hidden gem. We had a great suite where the deck is almost in the rain forest and there is an outdoor shower (as well a a beautiful full modern bathroom inside) !
The staff were all GREAT -especially Grevin and Janette (not sure of the spelling) - Rio Celeste Hideaway - please thank them !.
The food was very good.
We took the hike down to the Rio Celeste river and they even have fresh towels there in case you decide to cool off in the river!

The only minor point - was that the bed was O.K. - but could have been more comfortable!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul-Carolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

A treasure in the middle of the forest is the best way to describe this enchanting hotel and spa. As soon as i entered the reception area i was greeted with a huge smile and welcoming words from the staff . The room we stayed in was absolutly magnificent, everything i expected and more. Our time there was spent talking long walks along the property, enjoying excelent food and coktails all served with lots of care and dedication from the staff. Defenetly an expirience that can be repeated again, since pampering is something you can never get enough of in life, and here in Rio Celeste they truly know how to make it happen

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katherine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is a long way from anywhere, its a long trip along a gravel road and I am so pleased we arranged private transport to get here. Once we arrived, we were greeted by staff, personally shown around the hotel by 'golf cart' and taken to our room. The room was large, with a king sized bed & a patio, outdoor shower (as well as indoor bath / shower), a large bathroom - what else could someone wish for. Meals were very nice, staff were very nice. I must make mention of one of the gentlemen (perhaps the bar manager) who was so very nice. Nothing was too much trouble, he happily spent time chatting with me about his glorious non alcoholic cocktails. There is a very nice pool - with 3 jacuzzi's - these are just glorious after a long walk in the National Park.
Without a vehicle, we walked up to the National Park entrance and spent several hours (5) wandering thru the park. From the hotel to the park it was about 3km. The river is glorious, we never swam in it however there was a track that lead to a part of the river where guests could swim.
The staff arranged a trip caving for us, we were collected and dropped back to the hotel at the end of the day. Another great experience.
On a negative, was the lost power: but what else can one expect in the wet season of Costa Rica: it is going to rain, there will be thunder & lightning and power going out is something we are accustomed to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

First of all I live in Costa Rica and travel all over the country. Rio Celeste Hideaway is just that. It is found on an isolated lastre 4x4 road that is hard to get too in the rainy season. The road to the hotel was un driveable and very dangerous to drive on at dusk into the
evenings in the rain. We got 5 kilo in and the bridge was washed out. Tried calling the hotel and got very little help. Elizabeth sent us on a 1 -2 hour round about when Oscar had just told us there was another entrance 5 kilo. down the road. The receptionist Elizabeth was extenely rude when we got to the hotel tired after such a long long drive. That was so dissapointing to be greeted in that manner with an attitude of that kind. The total trip was around 5-6 hours from Alajuela not 3.5 hours like they claim. The hotel should have better awareness for clients driving there about road conditions to get to the hotel. If we were tourists feom another country qith no cell phone and came across the river that formed over the bridge we would have been in big trouble. The fact that the hotel personel had no idea about thw road conditions to get there is dangerous for anyone driving to that hotel in the rain. One day some one qill try to cross thesw overgrown rivers and get seriously hurt.
The food is not good. The menu sounds good but once served it is very disapointing and expensive. Becuase the hotel is so out there it's your only option.
The river on the property is very nice . The hike to it is very pretty and easy. Unless you just want to stay in your room and walk to a river I would not reccomend this hotel for the prices they charge and the service they give.
I have always wanted to visit
this hotel but found it
disapointing once I got there. The attitude of the receptionist is just not acceptable and when talking with other guests they had the same problem. We stayed only one night and that was enough for us.


  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naturalrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia de Rio... ., Gerente at Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience; we appreciate your comments as they help us better understand where improvements may be necessary in order to meet the expectations of our guests, and maintain consistency in our standards.

We would like to address the specific issues you may have encountered in a detailed manner; it is important to note that despite being in a rainforest area, the amount of rain you experienced during your arrival at the hotel is not the usual at all and neither the overflowed rivers, that afternoon, we all were facing weather conditions beyond our control.
Also we regret that you found the quality of our food not up to our regular standards. However, please be certain that your comments will be handled in a Management Level and will seek improvements and training with our staff.

We appreciate your feedback and always take the opportunity to use guest comments on this important site as a way to improve both our service delivery and product. Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to serve you once more in the future.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenorio Volcano National Park
3.2 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
670 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,406 reviews
24.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
24.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,436 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heliconias Lodge
Heliconias Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel

Property: Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Address: La Paz de Rio Celeste | 1 kilometer southeast of the Tenorio Volcano National Park., Tenorio Volcano National Park 21304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tenorio Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tenorio Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Celeste Hideaway is a boutique, gourmet and ecologically orientated hotel. It provides a world of comfort and style surrounded by an untouched natural paradise. This hidden hotel is located in the middle of the Rainforest adjacent to the Tenorio Volcano National Park where the amazing Rio Celeste lies. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of its 26 spacious casitas (bungalows) provides an exclusive retreat in which guests can relax amidst the breathtaking rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel Costa Rica/Tenorio Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing