We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and service, hard to get to but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Dearborn, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place and service, hard to get to but worth it”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We just got back from our honeymoon here (Aug 27-31), and it was an awesome place. The grounds are completely manicured so it seems like you are walking around in the rain forest anywhere in the resort. The casitas are beautiful and large, outside shower is a plus. The rainforest view was worth it, the casitas are worth relaxing in. It was low season but the staffing was adequate, the only thing not open was the swim up bar. Service for us was was quick and excellent at the restaurant, and the maid staff practiced oragami with the towels everytime they made our room. Dinners were excellent, breakfast was good, we never ate lunch at the restaurant. We did the horsebackriding tour and hiked in the National Park, which has the bluest river and a great waterfall.

The drive is longer than advertised, but was totally worth it. It's about 100miles (170km), but speed limits are 35-45mph (60-80kph). All highways we saw in the country are 1 lane each way and shared with lots of trucks which go slow. The last 15 or so km of the trip is on a very rough road, we couldn't go more than 5-10 mph on there it was so bumpy. Highway 1 was shut down for an accident so in the end it took us about 5-6 hours to get there from San Jose Airport. I would suggest either flying into Liberia (which is more expensive), or taking a route to the west of Tenorio National Park. You can get on the same rough road from highway 6 (pickup the directions from Liberia airport on their website). We went that we when we left the resort and it was much quicker/less climbing through mountain towns.

Room Tip: Get the rainforest casita.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    169
    43
    10
    3
See reviews for
171
482
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beacon, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The space was clean, luxurious and the people very friendly. I highly recommend going off the resort to La Amistad for lunch! There are lots of things to do around this area, and behind the hotel is the most beautiful river.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDibs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our recent visit to the Rio Celeste hideaway was August 31-September 1, 2013. The hotel website states that the hotel is a 3.5 hour drive from the San Jose airport. We drove this route to and from the hotel. It took us a minimum of 5 to 5 1/2 hours each time. When speaking with other guests, they too drove for more than 5 hours to arrive at the hotel from San Jose. It may take 3.5 hours with no cars on the road...but this is Costa Rica. There are always cars on the road. When we arrived, we were attended by a young man who meant well but had no training. In fact, it was his first day at the hotel. At our evening meal, service took almost 20 minutes to bring the drinks and nearly 40 minutes to bring the meal. It was clear that the hotel was understaffed with only 2-3 wait staff for the entire dining room. The good news was that the food was quite good. The hotel is lovely, and the river scenery is breathtaking. However the service during our visit was severely lacking, a reflection of poor management. I encourage the hotel to properly state the accurate amount of time it takes to reach the hotel from the SJO airport. We would never have driven for one day had we known it would have taken 10 hours in transit alone. This set us off to a bad start. The poor service was what caused me to write this review. I hope that the hotel decides to prioritize service as a critical element of a quality hotel/resort experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoodnessCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel was my favourite stop in Costa Rica. Even if you don't take the short route to get to the hotel (which is only for 4WD vehicles) you still need to travel on a few km's of unpaved dirt road from the main road to get to the hotel. In my mind, the journey is half the fun, and I loved driving through the jungle to get to the hotel. Which is amazing - each room is completly private and surrounded by rainforest. The rooms are lovely and romantic, and the outdoor shower is fun. The staff are incredibly nice, and the food is so good. So very very good. We ate each meal at the restaurant (2 breakfasts, 2 dinners, 2 lunch) and each was delicious.

We did a horse back riding for a few hours, that I strongely recommend. $35 per person and we went through the jungle to the river and swam in the rapids. There is also a very pretty river at the hotel, and the pool is lovely.

I strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a standard room and it was lovely. It had its own deck overlooking the rainforeast and the ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TodayIWoreRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

One of the best hotels in the area, consider you will be staying in a National Park area and the roads are terrible (which add to the adventure feeling). It has its own track to the Celeste River and the staff is very attentive.
If visiting the Celeste River its the place to stay. If you like rapids ask for the tour at the front desk. Remember to use mosquito repellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masterega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

4x4 and GPS highly recommended to get to this hideaway, and take the Upala route! Love that it feels like the blue river is in your backyard and you can swim in it (at your own risk). The staff was super friendly and service was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I went to this place with a couple of friends; we paid for a ‘Casita’ since it has two double beds where we were all comfortable.

I would try to express the great experience we had on a couple of concrete words:
1- Service (Personnel), I have never being treated best than in this Hotel, not only by the marvelous Bartender Oscar Delgado but also by the receptionist. They definitely were always on top of every single request we had, helping and guiding when needed and we all believe that the biggest pleasure by staying there was due to these two amazing employees. They assure everything was beyond our expectations. Two thumps up for them!

2- Room amenities: The casita was a beautiful replicate of a little house, it had our own little freezer, outside shower, Jacuzzi and a nice deck for staying in front of it that give us the opportunity to stayed a couple of hours there feeling the marvelous nature that we were surrounded.

Since the National Park is really close, we could have our walk there and met the Rio Celeste with all their wonderful details such an incredible experience, even though It was a hard path due to the day before rained and tons of mud (Wear your boots if you are thinking to go there!).

I would definitely will visit this hotel again, even if I can’t go to the Rio Celeste National Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenorio Volcano National Park
3.2 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
670 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,406 reviews
24.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
24.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,436 reviews
24.4 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel

Property: Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Address: La Paz de Rio Celeste | 1 kilometer southeast of the Tenorio Volcano National Park., Tenorio Volcano National Park 21304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tenorio Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tenorio Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Celeste Hideaway is a boutique, gourmet and ecologically orientated hotel. It provides a world of comfort and style surrounded by an untouched natural paradise. This hidden hotel is located in the middle of the Rainforest adjacent to the Tenorio Volcano National Park where the amazing Rio Celeste lies. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of its 26 spacious casitas (bungalows) provides an exclusive retreat in which guests can relax amidst the breathtaking rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel Costa Rica/Tenorio Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing