We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous rooms, great for a romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2012

It was a long, hard drive to get to this place, but we really liked it, although a couple of things can be improved. This is a perfect place for a romantic getaway -- the rooms are huge and beautiful and the outdoor showers are gorgeous. (Too bad they didn't think to set the rooms off a bit from each other, because some of the showers are right next to the walking path and close to other rooms, but still it they are gorgeous.) It rained like crazy most of the time, so it was good to have a nice room. We were able to go on the trail near the hotel to see the blue river, but we were not able to go on the hike to the waterfall as the rain was torrential. The dining room is beautiful, but I have to say that the food was OK at best and downright awful at lunch time. Salads were good. I would recommend that they improve the food since there isn't much to do in the area and people will likely spend a lot of time in the hotel. The service was great -- everyone we came into contact with was very helpful and kind. The drinks at the bar were excellent!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank travelingyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGtravel, Public Relations Manager at Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Thank you for your kind feedback. Despite the weather, which unfortunately is sometimes quite common in the rainforest, we are glad to hear you were still able to enjoy the property and appreciate the spacious casitas. I will share your comments and concerns regarding the food with the staff and chef immediately and take steps to improve both lunch and dinner. Thank you again and we hope you find a reason to return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 813 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2012

After traveling all day, including 45 minutes off the main road on a rocky & dirt road we really didn't know what to expect upon reaching the hotel but "WOW" was all we thought when we turned onto the hotel property!! It is a beautiful hotel! Individual casistas, private outdoor showers, robes, friendly staff, great tours offered, private shuttles between the airport & other hotels...a dream vacation!

Our favorite tour we did was the 5-hour hike into the Tennorio Volcano area to the Rio Celeste waterfall & river. Words can't describe the beauty! It was a somewhat challenging hike considering it was muddy & the path undefined, but worth the effort!

Highly recommend this hotel to travelers who want to get out of the tourist trap hotels! Challening location but so worth it! We will visit again!

Room Tip: Choose a casita facing the rainforest. You will have monkeys waking you, but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 320Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Date of stay: Feb 6-9th
Daily Weather: very cloudy/foggy with scattered showers plus an hour of sun

Overall, I give the resort a 4 out of 5 due to the okay and cons below.
Pros: casitas(very spacious with a great outdoor rain shower), food(quantity, quality, and prices), pool plus 3 hot tubs(different temps), serene landscaping and views, and cleaning staff

Tolerable: some dining and front desk staff - there were communications issues since I did not speak Spanish. They were very friendly!

Cons: The resort has no adequate signs to find them. Our direction was turn right at the blue bus stop, seriously? Can't they put a sign at the bus stop so we are completely sure this is the correct blue bus stop - frustrating!

The river/waterfall hike can be very challenging if it is raining - steep incline and decline through inches of mud. The hotel staff should have warned us prior to the hike. One of the couples decided to turn back and not risk it. Elias our guide was underwhelming - no information and very fast pace. Only good thing he did was make sure we did not get lost.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilfletch11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at the Rio Celeste Hideaway Resort for 3 nights this January and had a great stay. We had arranged to be transfered to the hotel by a local tour driver (Danny Jimenez- see review) as I had read that it can be difficult to get to the hotel as the roads are not paved and it can be difficult to find. We made it to the hotel without any issues. Our check in went quickly and I had pre-booked some tours, so they were able to confirm details regarding such (Rio Celeste river hike- great hike, the river was a magnificent bright blue, and horseback riding with our guide Wilson, was also a lot of fun). Our casita was very nice and as other travelers have mentioned, the room does stay quite damp as you are in the rainforest! The sheets and bedding, etc. will feel damp and it's hard for anything to dry. I found it was helpful to just keep the A/C on a pretty cool setting, which helped a lot. There is a "dry setting", which I tried at first thinking that would help with the moisture, but that didn't help at all. There are many reviews indicating that the food is not very good; however, on our stay, we found that the food wasn't bad at all! In fact, the staff is very conscious of this and has taken past comments regarding the food seriously and they have been working to improve on it. On some nights they brought us out soup to try (complimentary) and were always eager for our feedback regarding our meal. Also, if you can speak a little spanish that will help a lot as I think some of the issues people may have had with the food and overall dining experience might just be related to miscommunication due to language. My husband can speak some Spanish, so that helped tremendously and the staff really enjoyed talking to him and helping him with his Spanish. We had dinner one night with some others that we had just met on our stay and I did notice that if you had booked using a Groupon (as they had) then you were given a slightly different menu then the regular menu. I don't think the Groupon menu was that different though. The prices were not bad for an entree and the wine list has some good wines, which were priced well (the same bottles at other places were almost double in price!). Also, for lunch, you can order off of the bar menu, which has some food options on it, if you want to try something different from the regular menu (you can order off of the bar menu at the pool as well where they'll come take your order). Overall, the staff was fabulous- especially Wilson and Alexandria in the restuarant and bar. We had great weather while there- no rain, so the hike to the Rio Celeste river and waterfall were great (it can be slippery and muddy, so be sure to wear proper shoes and keep a light rain jacket just in case). Also, given the rainforest location of the hotel, be sure to bring bug spray and spary yourself down- even at night before bed (actually we had to do the same everywhere in CR). Also, there are 3 hot tubs and some are hotter than others, but we just asked the staff if they could turn the temp. up on the one we were using, which they did. Overall, if you're looking for a place that's a little off the beaten path then give Rio Celeste Hideaway a try!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We arrived and stayed at this location for three nights. We decided to set up our ride through the hotel, they arrived 30 minutes early to the arrival of our flight and found us within minutes of walking outside San Jose airport. We had our driver/tour guide in our shuttle and we got explanations about Costa Rica during the drive. We stopped for a light snack along the way home, as well as stopped to view the blue water that can be seen at Rio De Celeste. The road right before the hotel is more than a little bumpy. In the future perhaps it could be repaved. Regardless we were given fair warning from our driver and were prepared for it. Having traveled to other places in Costa Rica there's bumpy, dusty, unpaved roads, you name it.

We did the Rio De Celeste tour and our guide was fantastic. He had no problem stopping to take our pictures, would come and hold my hand on muddy or difficult steps, and overall was very educated about the area.

The hotel: The hotel has I think 26 individual villas. One of the owners was there during our stay and asked us several times how are stay was and if we needed anything. We were even given a complimentary glass of wine. (bonus points!!) The room was beautiful and ours was not musty at all (last review stated this). The outdoor shower is a gem, I think my favorite thing about our room as well. Over the three day stay the staff learned our names and it seems like the other guests names as well. We were greeted with a good morning Jacob & Emily. Which was very nice, it made us feel more welcome. We did not have difficulty with bottles of wine selling out as the last review stated. They were always well stocked. The food prepared by their chef was fantastic and we loved eating our meals there. We had a couples hot stone massage that we both truly enjoyed. Lounging by the pool/hot tubs while sipping on cocktails is always fun.

Rain: There were a few drops of rain at one point during one day, which did not last long at all. Been to Florida? Florida gets rain showers too. The climate is humid though and you could truly tell when any papers you brought begin to sweat, we found this more amusing than anything and just found a way to flatten our passports.

Overall: We loved this place. It is a bit pricey, but we felt well worth it. We were given excellent customer service and felt like a person that the entire staff knew of. The owner even gave us information about where to visit at our next stop in another area of Costa Rica. I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: We were in Villa 17 which we truly loved. It's towards the back and very quiet (not sure if othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Rio Celeste Hideaway Resort is certainly a hideaway located in the middle of the Costa Rican rain forest. As mentioned frequently, it is a real challenge to get to the property. We arrived after dark and our local driver who had been to the property previously still had some trouble finding the place. Having been to Costa Rica several times, my husband was confident that he did not want to do the driving. We did not regret this decision.

The property, individual casitas and surrounding rain forest are enchanting and well done. The outdoor shower was my absolute favorite feature. We spent most of our stay hiking the trails near the property or relaxing by the pool or in the hot tubs. It was a wonderful place to escape the stresses of everyday life.

While we greatly enjoyed our stay, the customer service and management could use some small improvements. For example, when arriving in our casita, it was obvious it had not been occupied for some time as it was extremely damp and very musty. The musty smell was overwhelming the first night and I woke up several times from it. I started to panic thinking that I would have to endure 5 more nights of the intense smell. Fortunately after the first night and as our stay continued the smell dissipated to the point of being unnoticeable. This issue could have easily been mitigated had the casita been aired-out and the air conditioning turned on one day prior to our arrival. Also, the restaurant sold out of most mid-priced bottles of red wine and most beer options a couple days into our stay. Several days later the wine and beer still had not been restocked. At one point, our server tried to serve us a $65 bottle of wine when we were looking for something in the $20 - $30 range. Another small issue was cronic calls from the front desk staff with one request or another. Many of these calls were unnecessary and mildly annoying.

While each of these issues are small they did start to add up by the end of our stay. These little issues coupled with the price of the stay and the significant commitment it takes to get to the property, cause me to question returning to the property.

Finally, several people we talked to during our stay were disappointed by the frequent rain. Remember that this property is located in the middle of the rain forest. It will rain at some point every day (even during the non-rainy season). Chances are the sun will also shine at some point every day but if you are turned off by a sudden rain shower, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca_K_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGtravel, Public Relations Manager at Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2012

Thank you so much for your detailed feedback. Firstly, we are thrilled that you were able to discover what makes Rio Celeste Hideaway a special experience. Your comments with regard to the staff, the room and the wine are disconcerting and I assure you will all be addressed with all of the staff. The guest experience is of utmost importance to us and sometimes the staff get a bit over-excited in trying to deliver that level of attention. Sometimes because of the hotel's location, getting our deliveries on time is challenging so I apologize you caught us in between our wine restocking. I hope on your next visit to Costa Rica you do decide to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We went on our honeymoon at the end of June, and while it rained a little bit, it was absolutely spectacular. We loved how quiet it was. We took a day trip to Arenal to zipline and the frantic chaos of Arenal made us so happy that we were back in our secluded paradise. It was the perfect place to honeymoon.

The Staff - AMAZING. They were the friendliest and most helpful staff we'd ever met. It was like leaving family after we left. They truly care about you.

The rooms - Our room was beautiful and comfortable. The bed was divine, and the outdoor shower just topped off the amazing casita. It was humid, but it's humid everywhere and you have to remember you are in a rain forest, not on the beach.

Activities - We did some day trips and we hiked to the park and saw the amazing Rio Celeste waterfall. We also swam in the rapids and the hots springs and it was amazing. How lucky to have that in your back yard? We did the trip on foot by ourselves. Most of the time we wanted to relax after the craziness that is a wedding. It was perfect for that.

The food was very good. They switched chefs part way through our stay and I found it not as good the second time, but they were in the middle of the change over, so that probably effected it. However, in terms of hotel food, it was amazing. If that restaurant were local to us, we'd be return customers.

To sum it up, it is highly recommended by us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaitlyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenorio Volcano National Park
3.2 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
697 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,428 reviews
24.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
323 reviews
24.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,482 reviews
24.4 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel

Address: La Paz de Rio Celeste | 1 kilometer southeast of the Tenorio Volcano National Park., Tenorio Volcano National Park 21304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tenorio Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tenorio Volcano National Park
Price Range: $82 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Celeste Hideaway is a boutique, gourmet and ecologically orientated hotel. It provides a world of comfort and style surrounded by an untouched natural paradise. This hidden hotel is located in the middle of the Rainforest adjacent to the Tenorio Volcano National Park where the amazing Rio Celeste lies. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of its 26 spacious casitas (bungalows) provides an exclusive retreat in which guests can relax amidst the breathtaking rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel Costa Rica/Tenorio Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing