We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is great but the price is high...”
Review of The Route Steakhouse - CLOSED

The Route Steakhouse
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Vidalia, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Food is great but the price is high...”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The pros: The atmosphere is nice. The food was really good. I ordered the petit filet with aspargus, cream sauce and crab meat. The steak was cooked perfectly and the sauce with crab meat was a perfect compliment. Overall, a really nice meal. The cons: The servers have to be prompted to refill drinks. The price for my meal was quite steep considering the location of the restaurant. Management might wish to reconsider the pricing. However, the parking lot always appears to be full so...they must be doing something right!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank liane69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    10
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee On Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“They lie about hours”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I chose to stay in Burlington, Colorado on Sunday night because it seemed like the one town near the Kansas border that has a good restaurant. So I went to The Route website and confirmed they were open seven days a week until 9:00PM. I checked into my motel and went to The Route for dinner only to find "Closed Sundays" pasted on the door. A restaurant that can't even be accurate on its own web site has usually got lots of other problems.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertitoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

large portions, good value and great chef and service is friendly and fast. The food is really good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis, mo area
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise.”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Although it was a little pricey, the food was cooked to perfection. We both had steaks and they were excellent. The sides were OK, but the meat was the highlight.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sueinil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Pleased”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were staying in a local motel for the night and were very pleased that we didn't have to eat in a fast food restaurant. I had checked with Tripadvisor before arriving and was glad I did. My husband had a hamburger and sweet potto fries and both were done to perfection. I had shrimp 3 ways (sautéed, grilled and fried) which was a lovely presentation of about 18 shrimp, all delicious. It was a Thursday night so it wasn't crowded. We were seated immediately and the server was pleasant and attentive. I would return.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cobri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Route Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing