We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liars' Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buena Vista
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Liars' Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Buena Vista B&B and Inns
appleton, wi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2006

Visited the lodge in May and we enjoyed it very much. The accomodations are nice log home style rooms and furnishings. Lodge looks newly constructed. All the rooms have a nice view of the river and steep rock walls about 200 feet away. Great breakfast provided, home cooked eggs and pancakes. Loved the offer of "beer and wine are in the lobby fridge, just leave a little something if you feel like it". While I don't fish, the fly fisherman were pretty happy. A welcomming, comfortable lodge, with a million dollar view in all directions.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fatuncle61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ROCKY MTN HIGH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2006

I am going to write a straight to the point review on this lodge. The lodge is Beautiful- right on the river with Million dollar view all around. Especially out back. There are Gigantic mountains right out the back door that look close enough to cross the river and start climbing. BUT-- We were greeted by Connie who seemed put out by having to open the door and show us to our room. These people are ok- but not the friendliest-Connie seems to be bothered by any extra requests, and Carl is quiet, sits way low behind the desk so you can't see him, we wondered how long he had been sitting there without saying a word to us. Kinda weird. The food was not very good or hardy as some other reviews have said, It was just average, could of had a better breakfast in town. The main thing here, no TV- and No internet, I called before hand and Carl told me they did have wireless, but, we fopund out, it is only in certain parts of the lodge, not in the rooms. If you travel the great room, you may find some service, but not the rooms or upstairs. Our room was nice enough,large, but no chairs to sit in for reading.There is no TV, I guess they expect you to sit on the bed the whole time. They should add a few little comfy chars and make the room nicer. We never saw the river in the evening as there is no porch light and it is pitch dark outside. It would have been nice to see out. The shower floor was cracked and sticky with glue- so your feet stick to the floor. There is Boxed wine and beer, 1 per day, then you are supposed to pay the kitty if you have more. We had one each day. The jacuzzies up stairs are loud, and we had some bath essentials that were obviously already used by the previous guest. I think they just got lazy dealing with people (maybe we are too picky). We will not stay here again, for the cost, we did not get what we expected.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank trainfreak45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Liars' Lodge, responded to this review, June 7, 2006
Our lodge has high speed wireless internet in all the rooms. It is compatible with most laptops and if not, we have a program card and antenna available if one ASKS. Our river deck has 3 lights with 3 light switches, one in each of the 2 rooms adjoining the deck and one by the lodge door going out onto the deck. The switch in Pine Creek Room is located just above the TABLE and CHAIR.
Our rooms do not have TVs in them and our rooms DO have places to sit (limited, yes, but something). We have a 1500 sq. ft. Great Room with 25' ceilings, very comfortable living room seating, a glass table with 4 chairs in the Solarium, and a well-lit table and chairs on the deck. We designed the lodge for people to come out and enjoy the common areas. Those who would rather sit in their room and watch TV might better enjoy another establishment.
The shower floor in Pine Creek Room is cracked with a temporary epoxy patch (not glue and not sticky). The replacement STEAM shower is quite literally on the slow boat from China and will be installed by mid June. It is possible that the housekeeper can forget to change the bath essentials, but we NEVER intentionally put out used essentials such as soap and shampoo.
We try to make ourselves available for information, conversation and whatever the guests wish, but we do not force ourselves on our guests. Many couples come here to spend time with each other and do not wish to be entertained by the innkeepers (see the review "Like home but better!")
We get more compliments on our meals than just about anything (OK the river and views beat out our cooking, but hey, you can't be perfect, eh?). We mesquite smoke our own ham for 2 hours on the grill, bring in sausage and brats from a German community 3 hours away, and the fresh casserols, homemade bread, unlimited, never-frozen juice, and locally roasted coffee make for a great breakfast (all you can eat, by the way). But if you prefer 2 over easy with processed hash browns and white toast, or canned gravy on frozen bisquits, you might be happier at the truck stop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2005

My fiance and I took a road trip around Colorado in July 2005 and stayed at Liar's Lodge for 2 nights, which turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip. We had only stayed in one bed and breakfast before (a victorian which was not our style), so this was a nice surprise. The lodge is warm and inviting with rustic "fishing lodge" touches throughout. It is located right on the bank of the Arkansas River. We stayed in the Zoom Flume room, which has a 2 person jacuzzi complete with bubble bath mix which is perfect for relaxing in after rafting. There is a big window in the room which you can open and look out on the river, and you can hear the sounds of the river from your room at night before going to sleep. The owners of the lodge were friendly and offered to help us set up activities. They also cooked an amazing hot breakfast in the morning and we were able to chat with other guests before going out for the day. We tend to like our privacy on vacation so we were a little nervous that others would intrude on our space constantly, but we found that people were friendly while still giving us our own space. One of our favorite aspects of the inn was that the owners keep two dogs on the property. They are friendly and were great substitutes for our own dogs, who we'd been missing while we were away.

As far as activities, I would recommend the princeton hot springs and white water rafting. The town itself was fairly small, so if you want a relaxing vacation you could happily stay there for a week or more reading on the porch by the river. If you're looking for a lot of activiites, it's probably best to stay a few nights. Overall, we had a great time and will definitely visit again if we return to Colorado.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carogator26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2003

A delightful place, right on the river. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, couldn't have been happier. I don't know where the person from Concord CA (who wrote the bad review) is coming from, but we would certainly recommend Liar's Lodge. We were on our 2nd anniversary and although the main bed was great, we spent our 2nd night in the loft (and the mattresses there were reasonably comfortable). You can see the stars and the mountains and a family of mule deer came by in the morning. You do need to be smarter than the thermostat since the heat is apparently in the floor and very slow to respond, but our room was comfortable...in fact we left the window open to hear the river...what a soothing sound! In the morning, we had great coffee (locally roasted I was told) while owner Carl (who goes by Chef Bubba) smoked sausage outside on the grill! What a treat that was. Connie's Apple French Toast was amazing...we had to get the receipe. The town is small with a slow pace, just what we were looking for. If you are looking for a resort/tourist atmosphere, this town is not it. If you are looking for a frilly Victorian Inn with a granny size souffle' for breakfast, don't stay here. But If you want a small town surrounded by BIG mountains and a beautiful log B&B on a river (with a man-size breakfast) this place is for you.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buena Vista
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
23.9 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
24.2 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.7 mi away
Buffalo Peaks Bed and Breakfast
8.7 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liars' Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liars' Lodge

Property: Liars' Lodge
Address: 30000 County Road 371, Buena Vista, CO 81211-9705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Buena Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liars' Lodge is a modern log lodge built just before the turn of the century (the last one, of course). With 23 pinion covered acres, you're less than a mile from town, but you'll think you're miles from nowhere. The lodge sits right on the banks of the Arkansas River with over one-third mile of virtually exclusive river frontage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing