We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, secluded home away from home”
Review of Liars' Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Liars' Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Buena Vista B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in the cabin, Little House on the Arkansas, for two nights of our four in Buena Vista. If we could have stayed all four nights, we would have happily stayed there, but it wasn't available for all four nights. The cabin was absolutely beautiful! Our family of 6 fit comfortably. The Master BR had a king and 1 twin, so we put our 3 girls there. My husband and I took the other BR, which, though smaller than the master, also had its window directly facing the river. We kept our window wide open all night, and loved the sound of the rushing river as we drifted off to sleep and woke up in the morning. Our son took the living room which had a very comfortable futon. The cabin was well-equipped with quilts and blankets and towels. The kitchen was also well-equipped, though we never cooked. There was a gas grill outside, and a spacious deck with table and chairs. The stove in the kitchen was also gas which would have made me very happy if we were cooking. The surroundings are beautiful. The cabin is situated so that you cannot see any other houses at all. I spent much time outside by the river, sitting on a rock, and never saw another person, except for a few kayakers passing by. The solitude was wonderful. And yet, the cabin is only about a mile from town. One morning, we opted to have breakfast in the B&B (not included in the cabin rate). It was delicious, served buffet style. They served breakfast from 8-8:30 and we enjoyed chatting with the other guests during this time. The owners, Carl and Connie, were gracious and helpful. If I had the time and money, I would gladly rent out the cabin for a week for a quiet getaway. It is a perfect retreat, and yet, so very close to plenty of outdoor activities and restaurants. Loved it!! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 69 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were left "out in the cold" by another resort in the area after they lost our reservation. These guys worked out what we needed and we stayed in the Cabin (Little house on the Arkansas) for the night. OMG it's so nice. completely re-furbished, right on the river and had the most spectacular views. I didn't want to leave. How blessed are they to live in a place like that. THANK YOU for everything, and if you book the cabin you will NOT be sorry. All the comforts of home and then some. We'll be back....and we'll bring lots of friends ;)

Room Tip: The cabin was GREAT for 4+ people or more even - for fishing trips, hunting, rafting - anything you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nik_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in December 2012 for a little weekend getaway for her birthday, and couldn't have been happier. The location is great - right on the river and really close to main street Buena Vista. We stayed in the Raft Ripper room, and it was way bigger than we needed. Yes - there is no fridge in your room or TV - but if this is what you are looking for, you should probably stay at a Holiday Inn. We found it very 'homey', and it had great character. The woman that worked there (can't remember her name) was very nice and friendly, and cooked a great breakfast casserole. It had a nice community feel - we ended up sitting for a while after breakfast and just chatting with the other people that were staying there. It is a 'true' B&B and is a great relaxing place to stay while in Buena Vista.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmcillini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Carl and Connie make you feel that you are visiting family that you actually like. My wife and I stayed 5 nights at Liar's Lodge and plan to spend another 3 nights in September. It was that comfortable. You will enjoy staying riverside and listening to the Arkansas. It is also very convenient to the BV area. We agree with the outstanding rating of this lodge.

Room Tip: If you enjoy hot shower be sure to request it. Some rooms only have a jacuzzi tub.Very
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 505Taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Spent three days at the lodge and enjoyed every minute. Owners are helpful, friendly and accommodating. A great place to stay with the added amenity of delicious breakfasts and great coffee. Lodge is close to town and restaurants and looks down on the Arkansas River.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyflyercolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Liar's Lodge is fantastic. This beautiful lodge sits on the bank of the Arkansas River with many windows overlooking it as well as looking out at the mountains. There are balconys, a large patio and a huge great room where guests can relax by themselves or join others. Artwork is displayed throughout with special touches everywhere. Our room was comfortable and unique in that the king size bed could be turned into two singles which was perfect for my friend and myself. Nice bath too, cool shower.

The hosts, Connie and Carl are friendly, gracious and very willing to offer suggestions on where to eat, things to do and see. We were late for check in and they were very understanding.

Breakfasts were tasty and generous; no going hungry here. There was also a snack every afternoon with a glass of wine should one be interested.

I've stayed at many B & B's and this one is my favorite; it's very special and I greatly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cattoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Clean, great breakfast, right on the Arkansas. We give the shower in our room a 10! Fun! Very friendly accomidating hosts. My husband had good luck fly fishing. We will always try to stay there. Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buena Vista
0.6 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
504 reviews
23.9 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
1.2 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Buffalo Peaks Bed and Breakfast
20.8 mi away
Mountain Goat Lodge
Mountain Goat Lodge
#1 of 6 in Salida
329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liars' Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liars' Lodge

Address: 30000 County Road 371, Buena Vista, CO 81211-9705
Location: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Buena Vista
Price Range: $130 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Liars' Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liars' Lodge is a modern log lodge built just before the turn of the century (the last one, of course). With 23 pinion covered acres, you're less than a mile from town, but you'll think you're miles from nowhere. The lodge sits right on the banks of the Arkansas River with over one-third mile of virtually exclusive river frontage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Liars' Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing