We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not very friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

This place is expensive by the time you add in all the hidden extras. Booking fee $10 and Cable fee $2. It's just not worth it. We'll be staying elsewhere next time. There are several other places much better. Check out Snowy Peaks RV park if you are in the BV area.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowheadP, Owner at Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us valuable feedback to your concerns with your visit and experience at Arrowhead Point Campground. In making an online reservation through our booking service you may have overlooked when accepting the terms that the cost to make an online reservation through our booking service is a $10 fee. You are given an opportunity to accept the terms of the agreement before finalizing your reservation. Unfortunately you overlooked this. Regarding the cable charge, when staying with Arrowhead Point you do not have to take advantage of cable tv if you do not choose. We offer sites without cable tv for those that have their own satellite tv or do not desire to have tv reception at all.

We hope to see you back for another visit sometime. We appreciate your business.

Best Wishes,
Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    30
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
67
31
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, CO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

My family and I have a 35' travel trailer and I made our reservations on line. The reservation process was easy and convenient. When we got there we were greeted warmly by very friendly and attentive staff. We were then personally guided by another staff member to our exact sight and was helped by him to back in our trailer. The campground was very clean, well maintained and there was always a smiling staff member to help us. Seeing as how I have a trailer with a full bathroom, I can't comment on the bathroom/water situation that other reviewers have mentioned, but I do know my family and I didn't have any problems with any of our full hook-ups (water included). The campground is close to the highway, but it's not a terribly busy highway so road noise is not that big of a deal. Arrowhead Point is close enough to attractions and the city of Buena Vista that there is plenty to see and do, but far enough away that you can really enjoy the Colorado night sky and the incredible mountain views. Their prices are a bit expensive (we've only stayed at state/federal campgrounds prior to this) but it was well worth the cost to be able to use my trailer to it's fullest capabilities. My only suggestion would be that if your using this campground only as a place to sleep at night and plan to do activities during the day, drive to the company you are using for those activities instead of using the office personnel at Arrowhead because they are focused on keeping up with the needs of the campground and are not specialists in being a travel agent. Also, if you are coming from out of state PLEASE remember that Buena Vista is at over 10,000 feet altitude and you will be breathing heavier, faster and be tired. Your vehicle will also not get as good gas mileage because of the altitude so bring plenty of money for fill ups because you'll need it.
Overall, my family and I had a great experience and look forward to going back as often as we can.
Thank you Arrowhead Point staff for making our first private campground experience so wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tmlaali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowheadP, Owner at Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Arrowhead and in the area. Our team works hard at customer service and it's nice to know you noticed our efforts. Hope you have another opportunity to visit Arrowhead in the future and hope you enjoy the rest of your summer travels!

Best Wishes,
Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I don't usually write reviews, but felt I had to for this place. The owners live on site and treat you like family. We told them we would be arriving MUCH later than we originally expected. They stayed up late specifically to help us park in the dark.

Here are some things to note regarding the campground:

They make fresh cookies every morning at about 7:30 AM.
My wife said the bathrooms are quite clean (I didn't see them).
They have free Wi-Fi,
They have cable on a number of the sites -- something my wife surely appreciates.
They have an espresso bar -- something I appreciate.

Arrowhead is in a great location: near fun activities (like white water rafting), but not too close to the busy-ness of town.
We look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratboy55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowheadP, Owner at Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your positive review! We are happy to hear your experience was enjoyable. Yummy Otis Spunkmyer cookies will get you everytime:)! We do remember chatting with you at the espresso bar as well. Thank you for your business and can't wait to see you back for another visit sometime in the future.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I arrived with my 2 kids during the week and had reserved a rustic cabin. I was offered an upgrade at no extra cost to a more centrally located cabin with more room and closer to the bathrooms. The cabin was super clean and comfortable. We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed having our own fire pit and loved playing on the playground and on the basketball court after our days of adventure in Buena Vista! The entire campground was very clean and well cared for. Thanks for a great stay, we will be back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 12LeahS73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowheadP, Owner at Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with family here at Arrowhead Point. The cabins are a great way to get family together to create lon-lasting memories. We hope you will be able to repeat your experience with your loved ones at Arrowhead Point Campground again!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have tried all the others and this is the best RV park in the Arkansas River valley. We come back several times every summer because the park is super clean and well organized. The owners live on site and treat you like family. Our kids have joined us tent camping and in the cabins and all remark on the cleanliness and hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowheadP, Owner at Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We love rolling out the RED CARPET treatment so thank you for your sweet comments of loving our park and US! Kind words such as yours mean so much especially when coming from someone who seems to be such an experienced traveler! Looking forward to your next stay here at Arrowhead Point. We appreciate each and every guest.

Best Wishes,
Owners of Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed in a full hook-up site at Arrowhead Point for the first time over Memorial Weekend and had a wonderful time. The hosts/owners of this campground are AMAZING! They made us feel very welcome and had fun activities planned throughout the weekend. The site we stayed at was level, combed and clean; somewhat narrow, but it's only because we had a unit too large for the space which was not the fault of the campground. They were able to help us fit and it ended up working out perfectly. I would highly recommend this place to anyone! Can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowheadP, Owner at Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Happy Guest:) -- Thank you for your wonderful comments. It sure was a blast of a weekend for all! The energy throughout the campground was amazing for sure. We are so happy that you had an enjoyable time. This is what we love to hear. Hope to see you again for some more fun in the mountains!

Best Wishes,
Owners of Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

we came to Buena Vista for our memorial day weekend getaway for fly fishing and camping. Were a young 30's couple and were initially worried that Arrowhead would be a little too family and children oriented for us. We were totally wrong! they had activities for us to enjoy and lots of privacy from the more family oriented areas. The owners, Joe and Cathy, made sure we had great info on where to fish, hot springs to visit, and lots of other suggestions. They remembered our names and kept the trip feeling very personalized. The coffee bar was an awesome feature and the bathrooms were spotless.

Overall it was an awesome place for us to enjoy each others company, kick back with a fire and enjoy the awesome scenery.

Room Tip: try the yurt! awesome experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowheadP, Manager at Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest! Thank you for your feedback. We sure love what we do with owning and operating our family owned campground. Happy to hear it folks like you notice and enjoy our campground. We love to share the beauty of the mountains and room to roam on our country campground! Yes, the yurts are yurtalicious for sure:). Hope you can return soon to enjoy the mountains again.

Thank you once again
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buena Vista
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
12.3 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
5.3 mi away
Pinon Court Cabins
Pinon Court Cabins
#3 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
5.0 mi away
Super 8 Buena Vista
Super 8 Buena Vista
#2 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
5.1 mi away
Buffalo Peaks Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins

Property: Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins
Address: 33975 US Highway 24 N, Buena Vista, CO 81211-9696
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Buena Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 89
Also Known As:
Arrowhead Point Camping Hotel Buena Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing