We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Super 8 Buena Vista(Buena Vista)(Great Value!)
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Vista Inn(Buena Vista)(Great Value!)
$170
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Liars' Lodge(Buena Vista)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rivers Mountain Motel(Buena Vista)(Great Value!)
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Buffalo Peaks Bed and Breakfast(Buena Vista)(Great Value!)
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Chateau(Buena Vista)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$37
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pinon Court Cabins(Buena Vista)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
113
1
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubwillow suiteeggs benedictfantastic hostscolorful flowersus feel at homecouple nightswonderful roombreakfast was deliciousthese folkshost and hostessrock formationsbuffalo peaksroad tripcollegiate peaksonly stayed one nighta great stay
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 115 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Sept 7, 2009- Sept 19, 2009. I came to Buena Vista, Co for a little rest and relaxation and received so much more. I actually came out here by myself - may sound a little selfish, but how often does a mom have a chance to get away....Anyway while there are many wonderful accommodations and B&B's here in BV, I chose to stay at the Room @ the River. This B&B is literally on the Arkansas River. The Innkeepers, Barb and Frank, treat each guest as they are the most important. Barb is a phenomenal chef. The breakfasts she creates are Exquisite! After eating, I feel inclined to assist her in cleaning up as a symbol of my gratitude for the delectable nourishment she has provided. This meal actually can keep me full until 5pm!!! (I wonder what she will make tomorrow!!) There are three rooms, each has its own private entrance and restroom. Also, each room has its own private sitting area on the balcony overlooking the river. While this is a review on BV - obviously it is also a review on the B&B!!
There are so many things to do in BV: fly fishing, kayaking, road biking, mountain biking, hiking, panning for gold, camping, rafting, soaking @ hot springs, rock climbing. While you are gasping for air due to the elevation, the endless views of the Collegiate Peaks will also take your breath away :) It is a centralized location that one can take a few day trips and make it back to dinner @ Quincy's on Main St., where they only serve filet mignon, baked potato, and salad- your only decision is if you want 6, 9, 12 or 15 oz.
Aspen, Breckenridge, Canon City, Colorado Springs, Denver, Frisco, Silverthorne, Vail - are all within a 2 hour drive. However, the people in BV are so genuinely polite and eager to welcome you - you may not want to travel beyond the Chaffee County line. I met Keith and Evelyn Baker - they own the Trailhead outfitters store on 24- Keith took me for my first road bike trip - man was I nervous - those bikes have such itty bitty tires. I saw areas of BV that I wouldn't have - I definitely recommend stopping in their store and going for a ride. (I think I will do that again next week!) Anyway - This is the most peaceful and serene vacation I have ever had. While I miss the kids, I am so fortunate I get to stay another week! I can't wait to plan the next trip!! Treat yourself, take a little time for yourself, your family will appreciate you more when you return! You deserve it, come to BV and stay @ this B&B!!!

Thank silva413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

The October 2005 review gives a full description of the general environment.The "new"rooms are attractively furnished and also comfortable from the practical aspect.At night the large sliding door onto the riverside balcony canbe left open(it is well screened) to hear the river,which has a beatiful red rock backdrop illuminated at sunrise.As a place for a restful night ,it is perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2005

We stayed in the two new rooms (one with a king, one with a queen) at the Room at the River (used to be called Meister House), which is just down the road from Liar's Lodge. This inn is literally right on the Arkansas River, away from town and the main road. Very quiet. A deck faces along the river, furnished with tables and chairs outside each room. We were served breakfast outside; three courses plus juice, coffee and tea. Delicious. The new rooms are very nice, good beds, every convenience: robes, frig, micro, no TV, cards, magazines, coffee maker and coffee, a bowl of candy, shampoo and conditioner. The king room has a claw-foot tub as well as a shower. I believe there was a TV in the common room, but who needed it? We didn't use the hot tub, but we roasted marshmallows in the firepit, and swung on the swing down by the river. One of our party fished and caught several trout. This is one of the most beautiful parts of Colorado, and a great inn.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 364santafeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountainRiverInn, Owner at Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer sind top
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountainRiverInn, Owner at Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews