We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best B&B experinces”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Buena Vista B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Wonderful riverside location. The owners have obviously put a lot of time and effort into their business and property. Personal touches abound. Everything is neat and clean. Breakfasts are wonderful.

Barb is very personable and down to earth.

You won't find better B&B.

Room Tip: We expect they are all very good / excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidphoto574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 114 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

I honestly cannot express how wonderful this place was. My husband and I stopped here for a short stay on our honeymoon. We have never been to a B&B so we were not sure exactly what to expect. Had we known we would have stayed alot longer!! The place was absolutely fabulous! The room was cozy and spotless. Barb, Frank and Otto were so great to us! They made us feel so welcome and made delicious, unique breakfasts! The location was superb. We could go down and sit on the swing at the river, or sit in the hot tub that overlooked the river. I cannot say enough about the place. You cannot appreciate it until you go, then you do not want to leave! We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outdoorsgirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is one of the most relaxing, beautiful, tranquil, did I mention beautiful, a wonderful blend of privacy when you want, or opportunity to socialize when you like. Close to excellent restaurants, entertainment, and scads of outdoor activities that will challenge the athletic, or entertain the rest of us. The host and hostess make this look easy, as it's definitely not their first rodeo! The sound of the "Arkansas" flowing just outside your patio door is proof enough that Heaven's not that far off, at only 8000 feet, I feel I'm already there.
Breakfast on the deck is just another feature that you will cherish. Served outside (even the restaurants don’t bother with windows, some have glass garage doors in place of windows and open them because there are no bugs!) is truly 5 star hotel quality in setting, quality, and service.
An easy walk down the winding path takes you to the water’s edge where you can relax on a log swing or really comfortable Adirondack chairs and be mesmerized by the river as it makes it way to the Mississippi. I’m definitely coming back!

Room Tip: The Fisherman's suite is huge, private, and just gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed with Barb and Frank for a couple nights on our recent rafting trip and they really made us feel at home. Otto the dog was a real treat, my wife really liked playing with him. Sleeping with the sounds of the river going by was very relaxing and soothing the sore muscles in the hot tub after a day of rafting was a great way to unwind. Breakfast was delicious as well. Would recommend staying here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qa2152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We were in need of a little "getting away from it all" time and at the advice of some friends, we chose to spend our time at Room at the River. We knew immediately upon arrival that we had made the right choice!!

Barb & Frank are stellar hosts!! No request or need went unmet! The rooms were extremely comfortable, clean and the grounds a welcome sanctuary. There was always something interesting to see when sitting outside!

If you go, you absolutely must spend a little "swing time" down on the bank of the Arkansas River. I believe this was the most relaxing and enjoyable part of my time there, along with leaving the sliding door to our room open at night (screen door closed) and being lulled to sleep by the rolling river.

Breakfasts were exceptional, something new and different every morning and beautiful table settings, whether in doors on raining mornings or out on the deck overlooking the river. Breakfast was so bountiful that many days we were able to skip lunch completely.

Rooms also come with a fridge and microwave and there is a grocery store within a 5 min. drive that carries a good selection of products.

There are several lodging options in Buena Vista and now that we've discovered this hidden gem I doubt we will ever stay anywhere else! We would not hesitate to recommend Room at the River to anyone passing through for a night or staying longer. This is a perfect little town for getting off the treadmill and taking time to slow down!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ttoopel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We were very comfortable here, really felt taken-care-of by Barb. The scenery from our room and the dining room was fantastic. Excellent rooms, beautifully appointed, with every thing you'd want, including fridge and microwave. Barb upgraded us to the large suite without extra charge, and was really thoughtful about helping my disabled husband. Even though the weather was cold and snowy while we were here, we really enjoyed just hanging out in our room. There is a lot to do and explore in the area, and we did a lot while here. It was a little walk from the car to our room, so carrying luggage and all was a bit of a trip, but totally worth it. I will definitely come back here at future visits if I can.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We had a great stay at this B&B. Barb is a great hostess, we had a lot of fun chatting with her. We hung out on the swing by the river and enjoyed some wine and fished in the river.

The property has a nice hot tub overlooking the river as well.

Breakfast was different and delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kganger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buena Vista
1.2 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
512 reviews
1.9 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Liars' Lodge
Liars' Lodge
#2 of 8 in Buena Vista
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Buffalo Peaks Bed and Breakfast
9.3 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
1.5 mi away
Pinon Court Cabins
Pinon Court Cabins
#3 of 3 in Buena Vista
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 30670 County Road 371, Buena Vista, CO 81211-9113 (Formerly Room at the River Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Buena Vista
Price Range: $201 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mountain River Inn is a Bed & Breakfast that rests on the banks of the famous Arkansas River, at the foot of the Collegiate Mountain Range in central Colorado, U.S.A. This quiet country setting with mountain & river views in all directions, is located 1.5 miles north of the historic downtown district of Buena Vista, Colorado. Your choice of accommodations includes three large lodging rooms, all with private baths, private riverbank deck entrance, and furnished in either willow, pine, or aspen wood furniture. See individual Room Descriptions for more details. Outside your private entrance is a deck with a patio table and chairs, wild flowers in season, and a path to the outdoor hot tub and down to the river's edge. A full and hearty breakfast is served in our dining room when the weather is cooler, or on the deck when things warm up. On the river's edge is an outdoor kiva fire-pit for evening bonfires and storytelling about the day's adventures of hiking, biking, whitewater rafting, kayaking, fly fishin', horseback riding, jeepin', 4-wheeling the Four Mile Creek Area, and sightseeing in the Rocky Mountain high country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing