We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elk Mountain Ranch
Nearby Hotels
Surf Hotel & Chateau(Buena Vista)(Great Value!)
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Liars' Lodge(Buena Vista)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Vista Inn(Buena Vista)(Great Value!)
$170
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham Buena Vista(Buena Vista)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Pinon Court Cabins(Buena Vista)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
184
3
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
184
3
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstom and suesquare dancingtrap shootingwhite water raftingfamily vacationriding experiencenew friendspetting zooother guestskids programhome cookednever a dull momenthay ridesbucket listrifle shootingthe entire stafffamily style
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 189 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our family has been to Elk Mountain Ranch 13 separate weeks since 1993 and 2012. We have visited four other dude ranches in Colorado and Wyoming and there are none that compare in our opinion. The guest size is just large enough to enjoy many different people, yet small enough to get to know everyone and gain new friendships. The staff has been great year in and year out. Tom and Sue, the owners, truly care about your experience. We have gone to the Ranch with both older and younger children and there is something to do for each age group. We even took our daughter as a six month old and it was great! The cabins are comfortable and the food is great. We like to ride, and the horses and riding is enjoyable, but there are also many other things to do. It is a great experience for even novice riders!

Room Tip: All the cabins are comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Yep, Elk Mountain is a Ranch. Rustic, yet very comfortable. It is not a resort with a riding appendage. It is a ranch that lets a few (~35 at full tilt) lucky guests stay there. Owners Tom & Sue have imbued the staff with a helpful, cheery attitude. Together, they couldn't do more to make your stay more pleasant. Always thoughtful, looking for ways to take the burden off you and let you enjoy the day, the ride, the song, the hot tub, your book. I'd give it 5 stars, but, hey, you're sleeping in summer log cabins (not the Ritz Carleton) and it is rustic. The electric generator and hence the lights go off at ~11PM, back on at ~6AM - no problem. Lousy cell phone coverage - perfect! It is exactly what my daughter and I hoped for. The food was delicious and plentiful. No one could be hungry or thirsty. New friends, a love for riding high up in the mountains, and a new appreciation for what it means to be a wrangler. The location is spectacular with views of the Collegiate Peaks everywhere. The extra-curricular stuff was there if you wanted it - skeet/trap, fishing, rafting, hiking - but my daughter and I became fans of riding and watching the scenery roll by from the back of a nice horse, so we took advantage of *every* opportunity to ride. Never pass up a chance to ride! Can't wait to be able to share this place with the rest of my family someday soon. Can you tell, I'm a big fan of this place now?

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was our first experience at any ranch and I don't know how any other could compare. We were part of a family reunion and drove to the ranch. My wife, 15 month old daughter and I were made to feel like we were part of a bigger family by Sue, Tom, the staff and all the guests. Every activity was flexible, fun and memorable. The food was outstanding, the horses were perfect, the rafting was wet, and the skeets were flying. Thank you so much EMR for making our trip so memorable and perfect. (Our daughter misses the sitters and the petting zoo!)

Room Tip: We stayed at the Beaver Cabin, and it was right next to the hot tub and dining area.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My first experience at EMR was in 1988 when Tom & Sue were wranglers. We have been on quite a few vacations, but I have to say this was the most memorable. Tom & Sue care about each and every guest and that is evident in their staff. The personal attention goes above and beyond. You will not regret spending your vacation at EMR. If you want to go on every ride offered (like my daughter), you can. If you want to spend the day reading on the porch, walking up to the corral to visit the horses, white-water rafting, trying your hand at target practice, archery, fishing or trap-shooting, you can. Tom told us this was our vacation to do as much or as little as we wanted. The food is wonderful, whether cooked in the kitchen or over an open fire on a trail ride. One of my favorite things about the ranch is no tv or phone in our cabins! Who has time to watch tv when you can chat around a fire with new friends or watch the kids play a rousing game of spoons with some of the staff? You meet at the beginning of the week as strangers, but you leave as friends & family.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I highly recommend this ranch as a wonderful family vacation. It far exceeded our expectations. Sue and Tom and their staff took wonderful care of our group of 10. The food was excellent, the accommodations rustic and comfortable, and the activities kept us so busy we were exhausted every night! There were many fun, family oriented activities for everyone. The horses are well trained and Tom and the wranglers work hard to make sure everyone is safe and comfortable with the trail riding (the hot tub is quite an asset at the end of the day!) We had a chance to white water raft, try archery, fishing, trap-shooting - in the evening we tried square dancing and had a fun-filled hayride into the country to cook s'mores around a campfire. As a result, our family had a wonderful bonding experience. Not to mention that the breathtaking mountains and sunsets. Thank-you to Sue and Tom!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews