We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet sounds of nature”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cottonwood Lake

Cottonwood Lake
Ranked #12 of 28 things to do in Buena Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quiet sounds of nature”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Cottonwood lake is in the middle of the collegiate mountains. Surrounded by nature and all the beauty that comes with it. great place to fish, picnic, or hike.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jjglamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    22
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cottonwood Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We were just randomly driving and happened upon this little lake...crystal clear water and plenty of fish...the surroundings were beautiful and there were several picnic areas and camp sites available...this would be the perfect place to kayak or canoe...I can't wait to visit again!

Helpful?
2 Thank lazyctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to camp and ski near”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have been here during all 4 seasons and have always had a good time.

I've fished, hiked, skiied, sledded - you name it, around this area...and have enjoyed all of it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ORourkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A getaway for the summertime”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Only a 3 mile off road drive up a very pretty narrow canyon. Lots of color in the fall. Looks like good fishing. Many cabins surround the lake which makes it more like a second home place for big city dwellers. Campsites are available.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
242 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Neat little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We're on our annual aspen viewing trip and are in Buena Vista for the first two days. We went to Cottonwood Lake, which is only a short drive west of town and 3 miles from the main road. The 3-miles long dirt road was well graded and posed no difficulty for our family sedan. And what a beautiful area it is--with many beautiful views going to the lake, at the lake, and just beyond as well. Some of the leaves were turning color, which added to the beauty. We took a lot of pictures, including a short video, and they really came out nice. If you're in the Buena Vista area and can spare as little as 90 minutes or so, you should drive to the lake, even if you don't intend to spend a lot of time there. You won't be disappointed in your effort.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottonwood Lake also viewed

 

Been to Cottonwood Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing