We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the same Dairy Delight”
Review of K's

K's
Ranked #13 of 41 Restaurants in Buena Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Waco, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not the same Dairy Delight”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have been going to Dairy Delight for over 30 years and it was always a "must do" during summer visits to BV. I even have the old bumper sticker that says "D's Dairy Delight - serving the world from one location". The quality and service is not anywhere close to what it used to be. They are using cheaper ingredients and not the high quality of soft serve they used to have. I believe that if the Young Life campers quit going they would either go out of business or improve their quality but the lines remain. I was glad to see that the old gas station next door was providing some competition with Blue Bell. I have probably had my last Peanut Cluster Parfait at D's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigGuns0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    88
    35
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good burgers, ice cream, atmosphere”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Took the family there after going to Mt Princeton Hot Springs. Good burgers, chicken sandwich, fries and onion rings. Got ice cream afterwards and headed over to the park behind it so the kids could play. It's a great place for that.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank todd e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“We Love K's!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We go to the in-laws' cabin in BV every 4 months or so and stopping at K's is a must! There is always a wait for the food, but it has become a family tradition to go there for a burger and shake! So glad they are open year round now!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goophygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida
2 reviews
“A Big Letdown”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Hadn't been to K's in several years, so decided it was time to enjoy a good old burger, fries and shake. We asked for the burgers to be 'well done'. They were red in the middle and pink right out to the sides! The shakes were like the 'flavor-bead' ones you'd get at McDonald's. The fries were tough and overcooked. On top of all this, the food was cold! The cost was exhorbitant for such poor quality food. This used to be a great place to go. It looks the same inside and out, but is a completely different place in terms of the food. Will never go there again. We might as well have thrown our money out the car window, as we didn't eat the food, but chucked it. If we hadn't been on a tight schedule (we were eating in the car as we traveled), we'd have gone back to get a refund and complain about the poor quality of the food. We didn't eat more than a few bites when we determined it just wasn't edible. We chucked the food at our next stop and chalked the experience up to different management? Can't imagine what happened, but a heads up for travelers looking for a nice lunch--you won't find it at K's. Don't know if the ice cream is still okay there, but from the poor quality of the shakes, I'd guess probably not. A real shame.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patrickbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Time has not been kind...”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I were out for a ride last weeked and thought it would be fun to stop by K's as neither one of us had been in a couple of years. Very disappointing. Service extremely slow and unorganized (and I do not mind waiting in lines), employees unmotivated, and food was not worth the wait. Burger was dry, seemed to be a pre-made pattie, slim trimmings, had to twist an arm to get some mustard from staff, luke warm fries, and a long hair in my husband's onion rings (does no one in food service wear hair nets anymore?). We lost our appetite after finding the long, blonde hair which most likely belonged to the young lady who was wandering between the front counter and the kitchen, with her hair down, while checking her cell phone. All this with increased prices, too. This is not the place we used to frequent and will not be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnTheGoex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed K's also viewed

 
Buena Vista, CO
 

Been to K's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing