We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick, comfort food and sometimes puddin!”

Jan's Family Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #8 of 42 Restaurants in Buena Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Breckinridge, Co
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quick, comfort food and sometimes puddin!”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Yummy lunch before getting in the hot springs! Many locals here. Very well cared for. Served many things my mom would make. We had tacos, quesadillas and hot dog for kiddo. I wish I got pudding with my meal some lucky folks did!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mtnmama820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    113
    28
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Kansas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Breakfast at Jan's!”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Just a friendly, clean place to eat! Recommend it highly! Great service, as well!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Family comfort food”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Dinner was OK, although the pork was a bit over cooked for our taste. Breakfast is probably a better meal than dinner at this family friendly restaurant favored by locals.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank hamgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We visited here based on the reviews here. We waited a long time after ordering to get our food. When it came the burger I had ordered was burned and tough. It looked like the basic burger you'd get out of the freezer 10 pack at the grocery store. The waitress apologized and had it re-cooked immediately. The second was cooked better, however had no flavor. My husband's fish and chips also looked to be out of a frozen box, his mixed vegetables were obviously out of a can. We found out after the fact that the cook of several years had left to start his own place and they were training a new cook. Nothing fresh or note-worthy . Won't be back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LittletonLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“You're family when you walk through Jan's door!”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Excellent home-cooked meals. No frills just excellent food and service, portions that we could never finish, always a smile, always engaging. Breakfast till noon (and they'll squeeze it in later if you ask nicely), great daily menu and a fantastic selection of home-cooked meals. The patrons are friendly in this friendly town of Buena Vista. A must for a good, hearty meal that will defintely leave you wanting to come back from more. Very local and very friendly to non-locals!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jan's Family Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Jan's Family Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing