We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great service”
Review of Los Girasoles

Los Girasoles
Ranked #18 of 42 Restaurants in Buena Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We shared the t-bone steak dinner. While the cook (or perhaps the server) didn't understand the definition of "medium rare" and the steak was done more than we normally prefer, the food was very good and plenty for two to share. We asked for and got corn tortillas as we limit gluten, and when we asked about the ingredients of the salsa and the marinade for the steak, our server was happy to ask for us. The salsa is made fresh each day, and has no sugar or vinegar, and the marinade for the steak is garlic, pepper, and salt.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    34
    20
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
1 review
“How are they still in business? ”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Decided to try Los Girasoles for a late lunch. We stood at the front of the restaurant for almost ten minutes while the server rang up three individual patrons, and once he was finished he said to sit anywhere we wanted. Out of the 15 or so tables available.. we picked out one of the two clean ones and sat down. We ordered margaritas which tasted like straight sweet and sour and were not asked if we wanted salt on the rim or whether we'd like them frozen or on the rocks. We ordered a chicken quesadilla for $8 and it literally consisted of a tortilla, cheese and boiled chicken. No seasoning of any kind. I can make a better quesadilla in the microwave. Asked if they had spicy salsa and the waiter responded in Spanish and looked confused. I then pointed to the empty bowl of salsa and said caliente... He brought back three bottles of tabasco.. I highly suggest NOT eating at this place.

Helpful?
Thank MakenzieMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Average food, poor service”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I had a cheese enchilada and a shredded beef taco. Both were good, but not exceptional It took a long time to get service- long delays between being seated, menus, drink orders, meal orders. Had to chase a waiter down to get a check. Not my idea of a good time, although I didn't have concerns with the food or cleanliness.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Road_Bear57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

The service was excellent. The lady was very friendly and helpful. We had a good meal. The salsa was very tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Lilbabynothing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food Around”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Los Girasoles has the best Mexican food around at a good price. The Fajitas are the best we have had anywhere. The 2 for 1 magaritas as soooooo tasty. The go great with their home made salsa and chips. Highly recommend this restaurant of any other!! :o)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MommaGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Girasoles also viewed

 
Buena Vista, CO
 

Been to Los Girasoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing