We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Mexican food!”
Review of Los Girasoles

Los Girasoles
Ranked #18 of 42 Restaurants in Buena Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Buena Vista, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT Mexican food!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The food here is authentic and the service is great! We really enjoy going to this restaurant any time of the year. It is one of the few mexican restaurants that can compare to the ones in Texas!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tracer444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    34
    20
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nathrop, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Oh yes! We have been eating at Los Girasoles in Salida & Buena Vista since they first opened in Poncha Springs! Being from California we are picky about Mexican but this fills the bill! Great enchiladas, burritos, Pork carnitas and more. Have never gotten a bad meal here. The owners are local and Hispanic and know how to cook! Love their special 2 for 1 Margarita deals also! Service is good and fast! Love it! Our GoTo place in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joans8849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in Town!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Los Girasoles has two locations, their original location being on Hwy 50 in Salida. Both are excellent! We used to look forward to eating at their first location in Poncha Springs, before they moved to Salida, and were thrilled when they opened their BV location. My wife judges every Mexican Restaurant by their Chili Relenos and they have the best. The pork green chili is flavorful with the perfect bite. Their salsa is available for sale and most people leave with a jar after devouring a couple of bowls of it with chips before their meal. Try and save room for Sopapillas or fried ice cream for desert but it might not be easy. Oh, and did I mention the Marg's! From the house to the specialty's they Rock! Neither location is fancy so come as you are after your day of playing in the mountains and just be ready to eat drink and chill. The staff is always awesome. We have known them since they opened and they are a real family owned business that works hard to earn your business and they always pleazzz. We took our great friends from Jersey there last night and they hit it out of the park again, as always. We love you guys.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Place to Eat in Salida”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is the most authentic Mexican Restaurant I've eaten at in a long time. The waiters/waitresses and cooks are all from Mexico and have brought there great food with them. Think you know what a Taquito is? Try them here, and see what a real Taquito is. The combo appetizer fills me and my 12 year old daughter up. It's kind of hiddent location just east of the bowling alley, but well worth the time to eat here. If you want an awesome and inexpensive lunch, go before 3 pm and enjoy the lunch specials. Also, they usually have a bogo on margaritas for Friday and Saturday nights.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brandon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“May 2012”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Yummy salsa, chili verde, enchiladas and burritos. Service was very speedy. Lots of reasonably priced lunch and dinner options. Very tasty!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Girasoles also viewed

 
Buena Vista, CO
 

Been to Los Girasoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing