We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The little, bigoted couple that own/operate the motel are crazy...and not in a good way!”
Review of Lakeside Motel

Lakeside Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buena Vista
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeside Motel
Ranked #6 of 8 Buena Vista B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We checked in late one afternoon because it seemed clean and close to town. When checking in we saw that there was a no-smoking policy. Posted on their door it said Welcome, clean, smoke free environment. Our "hostess" asked us if anyone smoked and we replied no. I do smoke but we assumed the question was meant as will you smoke here. I am a courteous smoker and have no issue with a business not permitting smoking in their rooms or on their premises so I didn't give it another thought as I had no intention of smoking in the room or on the grounds. So I was ACROSS THE STREET smoking and the "hostess" comes out and asks me if I'm staying at the hotel. I reply that I am. She gets very agitated and screams "didn't you read our rules"? I said that I didn't and she screams "we do not rent to smokers"! I say "I'm not smoking on your property or in your room so I'm a little confused". At this point her husband comes out of the office and yells "we don't rent to smokers"! "Why don't you finish your cigarette and come in to read our rules"! I was very angry at this point so I said that we would just check out. Our "hostess" replied that's fine but we will have to pay the extra cleaning fee"! I said that I would send in my boyfriend. My boyfriend goes in to sort this out and our "hostess" tells him that he's a liar and that when people smoke it gets in their clothes and they bring it back to the room. She says that this always happens, implying that we are not the first to misunderstand their policy. Also that smokers are the reason they do not ever go to Kansas or Missouri; she was under the impression that restaurants allow smoking, not true. Anyway, we checked out at 9PM under the threat of getting charged $300 cleaning fee although we never even peeled back the comforter in the time we were there. I think their door should read SMOKERS NOT WELCOME! That would be an honest representation of the policy and we wouldn't have stopped there even if we were non-smokers! Horrible experience!

Room Tip: Don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank HarrieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 72 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2011

We love Buena Vista and try to come up every year or so. Since we discovered Lakeside Motel and it's owners Patty and Steve, we have been staying there over the last 10 years. Clean, clean, tasteful rooms with the most comfortable beds and ample plump piilows. The room we usually stay in has a refrigerator and microwave. We just came back from a five day stay over Memorial Weekend and it was like coming home. Had a blast with all the outdoor activites. Thanks, BV and Lakeside Motel.
Cathy and Steve Hill

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

This motel was recommended by the owners of the Thunder Lodge and we were sure glad we took their advice. The place is seriously one of the cleanest places I've ever stayed and I travel a lot. It's not a fancy motel, but nicely appointed, everything works, the beds are comfortable, with nice sheets, blankets, and pillows. You're not going to get big, fluffy, body sheets for towels, but the towels are clean and soft enough. Great price - $127 for 4 people. Steve at the front desk was helpful in all ways, especially helping us find a great breakfast spot - The Evergreen Cafe. We'd come back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelesAvary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

This motel is a great homebase in Buena Vista. The yard is charming and welcoming with its flower baskets and green, green grass. It is centrally located in town, which is great logistically, but it is a bit noisy. You won't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildfloweroftheWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

This motel does not allow smoking or pets anywhere on their property. For those of us who are offended by the smell, it is great. The rooms are large enough, and VERY VERY clean. There was a table and a couple of chairs, an easy chair, king size bed and dresser in the sleeping area. A sink with firdge and microwave was separate from the bathroom, which made an easier task of sharing in the morning. The grounds of this motel are immaculate, and the linens smelled fresh. The bed was good quality, with enough blankets and pillows. The high speed internet was blazing fast - I needed to download a book, and it really flew. We found nothing to complain about, though it is not a large chain, and the managers were out of the office from 12 to 2 the day we arrived. Would definitely recommend for travelers who want a peaceful, quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwoOnAMission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CANTALICE1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Franz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buena Vista hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
512 reviews
0.8 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Buena Vista
Super 8 Buena Vista
#2 of 3 in Buena Vista
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Buffalo Peaks Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Pinon Court Cabins
Pinon Court Cabins
#3 of 3 in Buena Vista
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Rivers Mountain Motel
#5 of 18 in Buena Vista
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Motel

Address: 112 W Lake St, PO Box 953, Buena Vista, CO 81211
Location: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Buena Vista
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing