We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated horrible and sadly disappointed”

Arkansas River Rim Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buena Vista
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arkansas River Rim Campground
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights there and because there a few sites we hadn't seen, we decided to camp two more nights. My husband went to pay and Jeff accused us of having more than our registered guests. However, we did not. My husband assured him there was no one else. Jeff, the owner, proceeded to say that we had more than our vehicle as well. Again, we did not. He then accused us of wrecking the showers. Again, we did not. He swore at my husband and a heated argument ensued. We have never been so disrespected. The girl who cleaned did her best but the owners seriously need to invest in a more sanitary shower situation. They ask their guests to pick up the rugs they have deemed a shower mat and hang them to dry. Very unsanitary and very disgusting.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank crowem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

After getting shut out on Walk-In sites in the Mt. Princeton area, I was startting to stress about my 4 day Hot Spring, Arkansas River getaway weekend. We drove by 3 or 4 parks on Hwy 24, then doubled back to Ark. River Rim based on the proximity to the river. Jeff told us he had plenty of tent spots and reccommended site D, we settled up, got ice and firewood (both very reasonable $2 and $5) and went to set up camp. Our site was right along the woods that border the Arkansas River (as are all of the tent sites), the view and ambient noise of the stream were both excellent, as was the nature trail down to the river where we spent plenty of time. We had a little Pinon Pine to pitch our tent under, there was a nice sized fire pit w/ grate and a picnic table, plenty of room for our car, EZ-Up and more. We didn't plan on restrooms, a dish washing area or showers, but they were nice to have. The highway noise wasn't great but it wasn't bad, proximity to town is good and overall it was just a great place to spend 4 days and 3 nights along the Arkansas.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We picked this RV park without knowing anything about it and we really lucked out. The location was so convenient. We parked the RV there and went riding ATV trails in the area everyday- it worked out perfectly. The Huffs made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. We had room for a nice fire and seating next to the RV. I was sorry when we had to move on to a different park after three nights- the next campground was not nearly as nice. Arkansas River Rim Campground was clean, convenient, and comfortable and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelsoMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Arkansas River Rim Campground recently for two nights. Our main event was a rafting trip on the Arkansas River.

All in all not a bad place. This is more of an RV park and while it does have accomodations for campers, the actual camping "section" is right next to RV row. Their website may talk about the views and it does have views, but the RVs are blocking your view of the neighboring Collegiate Peaks from the tent sites.

We had campsite D, which we were told was one of the best. It is not. If you camp here, make sure you ask for A-C. Otheriwise, you will feel very crammed. Campsites A-C appear to have much more room to breathe and you're not sleeping next to your neighbor. Campsites D and E are perfect if all you have is a small tent and no screenhouse.

I also want to point out that this is not a quiet campground by any means. The tent sites are literally 150 feet from Highway 24 and even though it is a 2-lane highway, it still sees a good amount of traffic at night.

There are *free* showers onsite which are really not that bad as far as cleanliness goes! Reason I emphasize free is because the campground about 5 miles south of Buena Vista charges to take a shower. Arkansas River Rim has the free showers thing going for them. Plus, the restrooms are fully cleaned daily. Only complaint is there was no hand soap available for hand washing.

Jeff and Margo, the owners, are very nice people and very approachable (if you can get past the cigarette smoke smell that welcomes you as you walk into their office). But if you need anything, they are always there for you. Jeff hooked me up with tent pegs after ours went mysteriously missing after we arrived. It would be nice if they would sell more stuff at the office. There are always those campers who either forget something or run out of propane or something.

Also they advertise views of the river. There are no views of the river from the campground. You can definitely hear it, and see pieces of it if you're looking in the right place, but it's definitely not an obvious view of the river.

All in all, it's not a bad place to camp if you can get past the RVs looking over your shoulder and the highway noise and hope you don't get stuck with a very tiny campsite.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mkdenver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buena Vista hotels
4.9 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
213 reviews
4 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
507 reviews
4.2 mi away
Super 8 Buena Vista
Super 8 Buena Vista
#2 of 3 in Buena Vista
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Buffalo Peaks Bed and Breakfast
4.4 mi away
Pinon Court Cabins
Pinon Court Cabins
#3 of 3 in Buena Vista
163 reviews
4.7 mi away
No photo provided
Rivers Mountain Motel
#5 of 18 in Buena Vista
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkansas River Rim Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkansas River Rim Campground

Address: 33198 Highway 24 North, Buena Vista, CO 81211
Location: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Buena Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing