We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible food.”
Review of The Asian Palate

The Asian Palate
Ranked #5 of 41 Restaurants in Buena Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Our Thai & Sushi restaurant is located in downtown Buena Vista, CO, surrounded by the beautiful Collegiate Peaks and the active Arkansas River.
Eastchester, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible food.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

For reference: I used to live in Thailand, so I know what good Thai food is. I did not expect The Asian Palate to be at that level, but I figured they would at least be decent. To be on the safe side, I ordered Pad Thai - thinking that this was a dish that is pretty hard to mess up. It was the worst Thai food I have ever eaten (even if just compared to Thai food in the US). I sent it back with specific requests for changes, and it returned just as terrible. In addition, my girlfriend ordered a Panang curry that had barely any actual curry.

I know this is Buena Vista and not New York, but still... The Asian Palate did not even meet my minimum expectations. What a disappointment. My only positive note is to state that the waitress did her best to take care of us and treat us well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CPXJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    64
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Huge Portions”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We ate here for our last meal in Buena Vista and I wish would would have eaten there first b/c we definitely would have gone back. The portion sizes are huge, the sushi is fresh and delicious and the service was great! I would say this is the best place to eat in Buena Vista.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank maryanne2575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
148 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good, Quality Food”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The service was a little slow but friendly. The menu was eclectic, understandable and well chosen. The food itself was attractive and tasty. My husband ordered chicken pad thai, which I found to be made out of egg noodles instead of the traditional rice noodles - still delicious but a little skimpy on the protein and vegetables, in my opinion. I ordered two kinds of sushi rolls and a salad, all were fresh, hearty and well prepared. It's worth it to make reservations before coming here as they were turning people away when we got there, and it was only 6 pm, but we had made reservations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunshineCheyenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Level Contributor
403 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Fine Asian in wilds of Colorado”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We often vacation in this area and although I love staaks I reallly enjoy different cuisines.We actually found The Asian Palate on Trip Advisor.
It was great. We started with seaweed salad and squid salad. Equal to any we've ever had.
My wife had a yellow curry that while not hot was complexly seasoned and fine.
I had a spicy tuna roll that was also very fine.
The rpices were a great value.
We will return...soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DOCBABE_SCOUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and great food”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a tremendous restaurant in a town with limited choices. The food is excellent and the service is friendly and efficient. The prices are very reasonable and they are gluten-friendly.
Easily the best place to eat in Buena Vista and great Asian fare.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BobSt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Asian Palate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing