We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 1/2 Rafting Trip on the Arkansas - Brown's Canyon”

Arkansas Valley Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
and up
Idaho Springs Cliffside Zipline and Freefall
Ranked #7 of 17 Tours in Buena Vista
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: World-class Colorado rafting trips on 8 rivers for all ages and abilities, zipline tours and rock climbing on our 44-acre mountain property. Plus free wetsuits and splash jackets on AVA-run trips. Colorado rafting trips only 30 minutes from Denver and 1 hour from Breckenridge, Keystone, Vail, Aspen, Winter Park, Steamboat. Also join us for cabins, camping, horseback riding, fly fishing and more.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Booked a trip with AVA to raft down the Arkansas in Brown's Canyon and it was great!
Everything from booking the trip, pre river safety instructions and the guide who was assigned to our raft were exceptional! Will come back again next year.

Thank Wazzjazz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

479 - 483 of 666 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

A very fun physically demanding family vacation. We all felt we acomplished something on this vacation. 3 days of rafting and an evening of rock climbing. Our guide Mikey was so cool (and could grill a mean steak).Our guide was also clearly experienced enough to be layed back and fun on this trip. We spent our first evening in Brown's canyon. Talk about beautiful. The staff was all professional. AVA is THE place to go for Rafting they aren't overly commercialized and we really liked that aspect.

1  Thank Kayla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Do not book through AVA Colorado Rafting in Buena Vista,CO. We booked a rafting/zipline trip for August 7 on July 30. On August 1, my Dad passed away. I called before noon their time to cancel. They refunded 1/2 of our $764.13. Even though this is the cancellation policy, it's still heartless. I received full refunds from every other place in Colorado: lodging, bike tours, etc. But, not AVA. Hope you feel good about that $382.06, AVA.

4  Thank Suzanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVARafting, Manager at Arkansas Valley Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks for your review. We understand your displeasure and are sympathetic to your situation. Our cancellation policy is very common for the rafting industry and we must abide by this rule under all circumstances. Rafting trips require quite a bit of time and effort to prepare for and the policy must be put in place in order for our business to run efficiently. If there is anything else we can do for you or if you would like to discuss this matter in more detail, please do not hesitate call our sales office.

Ryan Santilli
Sales Manager
AVA’s Colorado Rafting and Mountaintop Ziplining

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a great time! This was the highlight of our trip to Colorado! Our 7 year old son wasn't sure he would like rafting, but he LOVED it! My 15 year old son and 13, 11 & 9 year old daughters also had a blast! Our guides (Sara & Liz) were super nice and fun! They did all the work packing the raft, making lunch & cleaning up as well as the bulk of the paddling. The lunch was really good & they even had PB&J for my kids that are picky eaters. The kids can't stop talking about what a great time it was and can't wait to go back! We might try an overnight next time. We had trouble finding the location. I recommend printing out directions before you go, our GPS and phones weren't reliable in the mountains. We ended up calling from Buena Vista for directions. The good news was that everyone at AVA was very helpful and understanding when we arrived late.

1  Thank prseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wow what a trip this was our first time rafting . loved every minute of it cannot wait to do it again had amazing guide Matt? red helmet he was awesome . Only thing did not like was no lockers for your stuff had to store it in your car

1  Thank knitefxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arkansas Valley Adventures also viewed


Been to Arkansas Valley Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing