We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Evergreen Cafe

Evergreen Cafe
Ranked #10 of 40 Restaurants in Buena Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Small place but a choice for breakfast. No idea about lunch and not even sure if they serve dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iwrbcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    74
    30
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ocean, NJ
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A welcome respite and great value after a long drive, great for vegetarians”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

Huge burgers (beggie or otherwise) on whole grain buns, plus diner fare. Feels like a family operation, and the prices are great. Can have fried tofu as option on almost anything. Buy 75-cent dishes of vanilla ice cream for everyone and share one homemade brownie.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natty64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey shore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Such a pleasure after so many chain restaurants . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

We've been on the road for 3 weeks and have eaten at a lot of chains. We were so happy to spot the Evergreen Cafe and it was just what we were looking for. The food was delicious with interesting flavors and ingredients. There was original art work on the walls. We had a sense that the restaurant decor and the food represented the owner, rather than a franchise. Everything was reasonably priced, but the lunch special rules!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lindanat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX (live here, not from here!)
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Decent food - decent prices - diner charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Evergreen Cafe has become one of our favorites for homey food, although I must admit it is easy to drive right by (the exterior is old and forgettable). But after years of great food, I am now able to lure my teenagers away from their Electronic Delights by proposing a chicken-fried steak at Evergreen. They never hesitate.

Be warned this place closes at 2 p.m., so it's good for breakfast and lunch only. Early risers are in luck, because there are great breakfast specials (just $4.95) for food served 6:30-8:30 a.m. Lunch specials (one each day) are just $5.00.

The menu delivers just what you'd expect from a diner-style restaurant, with small touches like green chile and bread pudding. Small groups of 2-3 may sit in front of the restaurant on a narrow patio (sun in the morning). Inside, you can choose between the counter or one of several small rooms (it's almost as if you're in an old house). Expect to see a variety of tables and chairs (our table had four different chair styles, and so did the surrounding tables). Regulars get greeted and waved-out as they leave, which feels nice to those of us who are just summer guests. We feel like we belong, too, just by association....

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MountHolyokeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, CO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff, home cookin'!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

Arrived at closing time, but they let us in and fed us with no complaints. Home made french fries and a tuna melt for me, wife had a cheese burger - good stuff, just what we wanted.

Have done breakfast here before and will be back again.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gsellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evergreen Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Evergreen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing