We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the bento boxes!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taigun Japanese Restaurant

Taigun Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 188 Restaurants in Broomfield
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Love the bento boxes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I went here with my husband and my brother in March for a weekday lunch. The dining room was nice, airy and bright. My husband had been here a few times before for business lunches and said it was a good place.
None of us are sushi eaters, so we all had bento boxes with miso soup, which was good. I had katsu chicken and I think my husband had teriyaki chicken. My brother had California rolls. The food was good, light but filling, and tasted fresh.
Service was average. The lady was very friendly but didn't come around very often and it took awhile for us to get our food.
I want to go back but I work in downtown Denver, and Taigun's weekend hours frankly suck. I'm sure I will make it back someday.
Even if you don't eat sushi, you can still get a fresh, filling meal here!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilynn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Superior, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great japanese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

worth a try...never had a bad experience. Very good sushi.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank stewmanchew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best kept secret in the Front range.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

Half the price of Sushi Den and just as good! We moved from wash park in Denver to the northern suburbs and found this amazing place- we have a new baby and go there every chance we get.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank suza71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Probably good sushi but otherwise issues”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

We didn't get the sushi; lots of people appeared to be getting it and loving it. We got tofu and chicken dinner dishes. Neither was very good, their tofu was just thick slabs and barely cooked, which is not how you cook tofu! We then said we were ready to go and it was half an hour before we got our check and got out of there.

Their soup was good and I bet people like the sushi though.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank MsVeggieMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Taigun delivers every time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

We went to dinner at Taigun on November 4, 2010. We've been here MANY times over the last few years and it never fails to deliver the best sushi and sashimi.

Parking in plentiful and free. We were greeted and seated immediately. Table for 2. We were given regular menus and a sushi menu. We usually order exclusively from the sushi menu. We ordered salad with their homemade miso dressing for me, miso soup for my husband. Their miso dressing is the best dressing I've ever had. I always tell them they should bottle it and sell it! We also ordered green mussels for an appetizer. they're a tiny bit spicy but oh so good.

We plan all day for rolls at Taigun by eating very little else so we can really do it up. For dinner we ordered 7 rolls. Tiger roll, California crunch roll, calamari roll, shrimp tempura topped with shrimp roll, spider roll, unagi roll and a spicy tuna roll. Everything was the right temperature, bite size and pretty to look at. Service was fast and very pleasant. They have an extensive regular menu with kids items, if your kids like tempura chicken and edamame.

Special note should be made that every Wednesday for $17.99 they have all you can eat and it includes almost every roll they make. That's a great deal! Our order came to $72 so we would do better to go on Wednesdays!

We love Taigun and always tell everyone to go there.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MileHighGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taigun Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Broomfield, CO
Broomfield, CO
 

Been to Taigun Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing