We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They really need to upgrade.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilltop Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Broomfield B&B and Inns
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“They really need to upgrade.”
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Right off the bat, two things went wrong. We arrived on a Wednesday and were told that they almost canceled our reservation, even though they had acknowledged on the phone that we had changed our arrival date. Then we were given the wrong room -- two double beds instead of a king. We had to stay one night until the room could be changed. The room was adequate, but old and dated.

The next day we were changed to a king room. The big problem was that the main air conditioning unit on the wall was permanently broken and a tiny window air conditioner was trying to cool a giant room with an outdoor temperature of about 90 degrees. Again a dated room with a big stain on the seat of one of the cloth chairs. I don't know how the stain got there, but I wouldn't sit in it. When I pointed it out to management, the reply was “Oh, you mean this water stain?”

So management upgraded us to the two-room suite. The problems there were threefold. First one of the two air conditioners was broken, so one room was too warm. Second a smoker had been in the room, so it reeked of smoke, even though it was a non-smoking suite. Third, we were told the room was already reserved for Sunday night, so we could only stay for two nights and then would have to change rooms again.

The "fitness room" is a joke -- a closet sized room with three machines, no kidding. The wifi signal was weak and worked poorly in some areas of the hotel. The laundry room was free -- a nice touch.

We checked out of the hotel and stayed at the magnificent Omni Interlocken, about a mile away.

The two gentlemen in the office (I assume the owners) seem like good people. They need to bite the bullet and spend serious money to completely upgrade their facilities. The location is very nice, the outdoor area is nice. It could become a charming, wonderful place. As it now stands, I cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    24
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
18
33
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

The Inn is located near Broomfiled Airport, convenient and quiet, with great view.
It's a family-owned British style inn, very nice place to stay. Rooms are large, beds are large.
Complimentary breakfast. The staff can even cook anything you want - omelettes, scrambled eggs, bacon, hotdogs etc - just like mama's kitchen.
We had a good sleep and went to the Rocky Mountains the next day, really enjoyed the trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjingaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We rolled the dice with hotwire and were sent to what we thought would be a big box business hotel, given its location next to a small airport and the nature of Broomfield. Instead we found a charming British-themed hotel with enthusiastically welcoming owners and staff. The on-site restaurant is amazing, as others have pointed out, with a cooked-to-order complementary breakfast, tea in the afternoon (not complementary.) The rooms were not modern, but large and comfortable. Important to us, the hotel was very quiet, despite its location.

We go out to Colorado at least once a year and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digitalican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJGUK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Big room, which was not modern but was very well equipped. Great service. Very good restaurant which served you anything you wanted for breakfast each morning.

Well positioned to travel to Denver, Boulder and the Rocky Mountains.

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AJGUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
332 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Finding a place to stay online near family in suburban Boulder was not easy, except for the standard, ubiquitous motels/hotels. I found the Hilltop Inn online and thought we'd give it a try. Frankly, my expectations sank as we neared the inn - all that was nearby were interstates, office parks and shopping centers.
What a surprise, then, to find that this was a hidden gem.
A half dozen baby bunnies (wild but unafraid) greeted us when we pulled in. There's a great outdoor bar/restaurant. The owner and staff couldn't be more helpful or try to please more.
Probably the best part of our three-day stay were the breakfasts in the very English dining room (the owner is a Brit). Typical buffet fare (albeit with homemade pastries and homemade jam), along with hot food. There was no menu -- tell the staff what you want and they'll make it! Eggs any style, French toast, sausage, bacon etc. It was fabulous -- my partner is a great cook and he said the pancakes were the best he's ever had.
The dinner menu is mostly English, and very good, with fish and chips etc.
If you're looking for an upscale room with 600-count sheets and large bathrooms, this isn't the place. I'd get rid of the outdated bedspread in a nano-second. But there are fireplaces in every room (alas, it was 97 degrees in Boulder during our stay) and a kitchenette.
The Hilltop Inn is sandwiched between a small airport (a bonus was an airshow during our stay) and Bell labs. The inn is not open for dinner on Sunday nights and it seemed like there was nothing but one chain restaurant after another along the nearby highway. We lucked out with what looked like a family restaurant - sure enough, it was and Amici's was great!
We'll definitely stay at the Hilltop again on a return visit. After leaving the Boulder area, we went to Estes Park and stayed at the Stanley. It was awful. I'd take the Hilltop anytime.
The owner and staff there can't do enough for their guests.
The Hilltop is an oasis - a hidden gem with friendly folks, good food and a pretty flowered courtyard in the middle of nowhere!
Given its location, I assume its guests tend to be business travelers.
We were delighted with our stay and will return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2009

I had been in Denver for 4 days before staying here and was booked this on Priceline and got a great price. It was definitely a breath of fresh air after staying where we had to pay for parking and internet. Seems like the bigger and fancier the hotel, the more extras you have to pay for. We loved our room with a refrigerator and microwave,(microwave popcorn available in the lobby) sink and dishes. A small desk and yes free Wi-fi! We found the room clean and spacious and when we had an extra friend stay with us, they brought a blowup mattress that was apparently very comfortable. The free breakfast was unexpected and really wonderful with fresh scones coming out of the oven just when we sat down. Thank you to the chef and I'm sorry I didn't get her name. It did feel like we were back in Europe being taken care of at an Inn.
Thanks to all of you! Also, the baby bunnies were great fun to watch.


The deal:
* Lowest price for same-rated hotels in the Broomfield area including lower than unsuccessful bid on Priceline. I got upgraded to a suite “as a Hotwire customer.”

The unexpectedly pleasant:
* Unusual location. Combines being very close to central Broomfield with being kind of isolated in a big field on a hill by the local airport. The result: you are 5-10 minutes from anywhere you need to be in Broomfield, but the “neighborhood” is quieter, more peaceful (and darker at night) than usual. My second-floor room had a great mountain view and I think many of the rooms probably have good views.

* A complimentary breakfast at the on-site restaurant. The decor is kitschy but comfortable, and they offer a buffet with basic cereal, yogurt, toast, juice/coffee options, PLUS they will cook any breakfast dish you would like (I had an egg white omelet with veggies, for example).

* Complimentary soft drinks, bottled water, cookies, etc. in the lobby.

* Super friendly place. I was greeted by name each morning at breakfast. Some guests seemed to be regulars. Definitely has a homey, not-a-big-chain vibe, and better-than-average attention to the little touches, while being fully functional on essentials for the business traveler.

* Free wireless. I’m not sure they make this clear on the website.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HISQuality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2009

Stayed 4 nights during the week in the Breckenridge room. Room: comfortable, dated, spacious, clean, nice amenities, ordinary view. Service: Exceptional; the owner has a delightful demeanor and English accent. The other staff is also very friendly. Breakfast consists of an expansive continental spread AND cooked to order eggs/veggies/potatoes/meat. The dining room doubles as a restaurant and English tea room. Also a cozy looking cabana outside which I did not take advantage off... Other nice touches: fridge, microwave, and utensils...chocolates on the counter, quality toiletries, a nice shower. Overall, a very nice, off the beaten path, unique, and hospitable establishment.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmlones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broomfield
2.5 mi away
HYATT house Boulder/Broomfield
0.6 mi away
aloft Broomfield Denver
aloft Broomfield Denver
#5 of 7 in Broomfield
364 reviews
2.0 mi away
Renaissance Boulder Flatiron Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Denver Tech
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Denve...
#2 of 14 in Greenwood Village
912 reviews
2.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Boulder Broomfield
2.2 mi away
The Westin Westminster
The Westin Westminster
#5 of 19 in Westminster
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn & Suites

Property: Hilltop Inn & Suites
Address: 9009 Metro Airport Ave, Broomfield, CO 80021-2516
Location: United States > Colorado > Broomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Broomfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilltop Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the Charm of a Olde Country Inn with new world amenities. Scottish style Pub with over 250 Whisk(e)ys and Full Restaurant on site. Spacious Rooms, Fireplaces in every room, High Speed Wireless, Kitchenettes, Complimentary cooked to order Breakfast. Perfect for a business trip or a vacation destination. Close to Interlocken businesses and amenities, First Bank Center, Golf courses, Breweries, Restaurants, Shopping and more. Minutes to Boulder, Denver, Westminster, and Arvada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilltop Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Hotel Broomfield
Hilltop Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing