We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River Mountain Lodge
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed in a E302 at River Mountain Lodge. It is a studio so we knew it would be cozy. Had 2 bathrooms & sleeping for 6, although I don't think I would have 6 adults stay there. We had 2 adults & 2 teenagers & it was just fine. One bed was a murphy bed, which was amazingly comfy, but when it is down, there is not a lot of sitting room. The best part was the location--at the end of 4 O'clock run, so everyone could ski down at the end of the day, walk across the road & check their skis. The gondola to peak 7 & peak 8 is only a block away--an easy walk. Then for food & shopping, you walk a block down the street to Main street. You never have to drive anywhere--which is good because the parking garage spots are very close, so better to not have to come & go if you don't have to. Also booking through ResortQuest we got one of our ski rentals free. Used their ski rental place that is on site & that too was very convenient. Everyone was very nice & helpful. I wasn't skiing & I got tips on where to watch basketball & they even called me when the room was ready before 4:00. Front desk was awesome!

Room Tip: would pick one on the east side since don't have the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 3nsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 190 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

We just returned from Breckenridge and our 5th stay at the River Mountain Lodge. Initially we were placed in room E 319. When we first entered the room we were less than impressed. The room appeared to not have been updated since the building was built. The furniture was worn out and uncomfortable to sit on. The cielings had water damaged and not repaired. The kitchen was illequiped to cook, the dryer did not work properly and the beds and pillows were as worn out as everything else. We complained to the manager and on our 3rd day when another room was available they did move us to a unit that had been recently updated and was very nice. I do have a problem in that they rented us E 319 in the first place. The 3 people I spoke with including the manager were aware of the condition of the unit and even told me that most people complained about this unit. The Location of the building is very good. The bus stops right outside the building and the 4 o'clock run comes down from the mountain right across the street. I will stay here again but I will insist on a unit that has been updated and taken care of before I book. Bob from Ohio

Room Tip: Room E 323 was fantastic. Just refinished and refurnished in the past year. Ask the staff about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed in room 312 during spring break March 2012. Our room was clean and neat, but outdated. It was clear that nothing has been done to this condo since it was built...much like the common areas of the building. The condos are in a great location, just a few blocks from the gondola and you can ski down to the condo on the 4 o'clock run. The condos are around the corner from main street and great resturants. There is no A/C; so as it gets warm you may want to avoid a west facing unit. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dgordon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Great place, from the moment I booked the weekend I knew our room would be great!
Clean, roomy, full kitchen, great location and and the staff were super! Free ski rental, discounts at local restuarants, right across the street from the 4 O'Clock ski run. What more could you ask for?
Bubba was great, He ran the pub right off the lobby with cheap beer in a frosted mug and a bite to eat for weary travelers. He had a knack for customer service.......abeit a little rough.... in a good way...... but I liked his style.

Would stay again, good value. Never used the pool or hot tub, maybe next time when I stay there. Don't need a car, we took CME to resort. I drove to Breck in December, it can be scary driving in a snowstorm so leave it to professionals. We went to Keystone via the Swan Mountain Flyer; Summit County's free transportation system is great.

We travel, I liked it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

If traffic noise and pedestrians talking waiting for the shuttle at 5am in the morning right outside your window doesn't bother you, then no need to worry. Otherwise, expect a sleepless night. Room is updated and comfortable and the location of the Lodge is close to Main Street and Four O'clock run. The ski/snowboard concierge is a nice service, but don't expect consistent or knowledgeable service from the front desk.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side are quieter. The Lodge was willing to give you parking pass on the day of ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bernadette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed here as part of the "resort quest" deal where they want you to sign up for their time share at another resort. This was supposed to be an "upgrade" HAHAHAHAHA. The bed comes out of the wall, the decor is worse than any motel 6 or other dinky motel I have ever seen. This place is a dump. Their "newly remodeled" bar area is a joke, its a hole in the wall with just a couple of chairs by the entry way. The elevators never worked and we were only one floor up. The managment is horrible. Someone was parked illegally blocking all of the other guests from getting through the tiny parking garage, we went to complain and the manager, Heather Gard, didn't seem to care at all, The manager was rude. The girl relaying the message to the manager had no idea what she was talking about. I would NEVER stay here again and I would NEVER recommed this place or staying here to anyone!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank downsdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The River Mtn Lodge is a great place to stay in town. It is condos so each unit is different. We stayed in E309 which is a 2 bed room condo facing the pool and hot tubs. We were there the week before Uller Fest which happened to be the last full week college students were out for winter break. This made the building full and the hot tubs were hard to use because all the rude kids were using them drinking and partying. Several times the tubs were so full that the water was emptied. But, that does not mean anything for the property. It is a good place to stay. The 4 oclock run is very close so we skied out everyday. The building is very close to diwn town so its a easy walk to shop and eat. The Market basket is a local grocery that is near by where the food prices are a little high but not too bad. Overall great pleace to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sq4willy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#18 of 23 in Breckenridge
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Main Street Station
Main Street Station
#16 of 23 in Breckenridge
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#11 of 23 in Breckenridge
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Mountain Lodge

Address: 100 South Park Avenue, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Breckenridge
Price Range: $154 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy access to shopping, dining and skiing, along with affordable lodging prices makes this one of the most desirable locations in Breckenridge! This charming mountain lodge in the heart of Breckenridge sits directly across the street from the Four O'Clock ski run and mere steps from historic Main Street. To travel farther afield, Breckenridge offers a free public transport system that will pick you up right across the street and take you to the gondola that's only three blocks away. Choose a hotel room, studio, or 1-, 2-, 3- or 4-bedroom condominium with the option of a loft, private hot tub, fireplace or private balcony. Guest rooms offer DVD players, gas fireplaces and climate control. Televisions come equipped with premium cable channels. Complimentary wireless Internet access is provided (bring your laptop!), as are free local calls. Kitchens include a refrigerator, oven, dishwasher, microwave, coffee/tea maker and extensive cookware/dishes/utensils. Each bathroom has a hair dryer and complimentary travel toiletries. Daily housekeeping services are available upon request. Most rooms include private laundry facilities (see individual unit descriptions). Resort Amenities: Cozy and congenial, River Mountain Lodge offers all the luxury and convenience of a condominium with the added benefit of a warm, friendly staff. Enjoy 24-hour bell and front desk service, an outdoor heated pool, hot tubs and a fitness center. You will also find an on-site a ski, snowboard and bike rental shop, Peak Ski & Bike. Let our experienced staff at Peak Ski & Bike take care of all your rental needs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your River Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Mountain Hotel Breckenridge
River Mountain Lodge Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing