We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not a summer hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a summer hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We just spent a few day at this property last week (July 2014). This hotel does not have air conditioning. I understand that the weather is usually quite nice in summer and its not necessary 99% of the time. It was unseasonably hot during our stay and the room was muggy and over 80 degrees during the day. Our friends were staying at a hotel down the street for 1/2 the price which included air conditioning, so you can understand my frustration. Overall the location is really good and the view of the mountains is spectacular. Our parking was a bit of a nuisance as well. They had us park in a garage not on the property. This was very unacceptable at the prices they charge for a non air conditioned and remote parking hotel. We had to lug all of our gear from the room to the car which was basically in the underground parking garage for the hotel next door. I hate to give anyone a 2 rating, because they people were great and location was good, but due to the lack of AC and Parking I had to take it down 2 points. With good parking and AC this would be a 4 star facility.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauljoseph75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, Paul! We appreciate your feedback on the air conditioning and parking garage and are sorry to hear this impacted your visit. We will share your feedback with the resort leadership team and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope you will visit us again at Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    204
    59
    26
    13
See reviews for
184
208
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Decided to stay in Breck for the night to get away, so I booked a room at the Marriott because I figured it's going to be a great stay. Probably the only thing enjoyable was the high floor with the gorgeous view of the mountains, nice. Other than that the room was old and outdated, very tiny bathrooms with no vent. They don't provide robes like most hotels do, how unfortunate. Of course there's a curfew for the pool, and sure wish the pool was open all night. Why would you call it the Marriott Vacation Club if it wasn't close to a vacation feeling when the security guard is kicking you out of the pool at 9:45 pm? I would stay again ONLY if the price was $50-70 dollars less, other than that, they need major adjustments to just about everything....

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Samsonite_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge. We appreciate your feedback on your stay with us and apologize for your disappointment with the pricing. Be sure to check Marriott.com for specials and promotions available throughout the year. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers as we continually evaluate our pricing strategy. Thank you again for visiting and providing your TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We spent the weekend and the staff were universally friendly and went out of their way to be gracious. Shortly after check-in the front desk staff called to ask if everything was OK. They offered to change a burned out light bulb right away. We chose not to be bothered and they followed up the next morning.

One staff member (Ben) greeted me while I was sitting in the lounge. Upon discovering I was waiting for my husband who returned to our room for an umbrella, Ben quickly went to the front desk for me and got a loaner umbrella that was much more adequate to the two of us walking to dinner.

The units have been upgraded recently. The granite countertops in the kitchen, new cookware and nice appliances were delightful. The bathroom was best of all. It is extremely large with very nice tile and a huge jetted bathroom more than adequate for two.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevS056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

(We stayed in summer.) Great location, right on Maggie Pond. Friendly staff, fun activities, free ice cream one night! My kids loved it. Try the waffle breakfast, for $5 per person it's a great and yummy deal.

Rooms were superb, w/USB charging stations/outlets next to master bed. We traveled in a larger family group, and had both a 1 bedroom and a studio. There was a massive difference between the two, though both were nice. Studio only had shower, no tub. 1 bedroom sleeps 6, master bedroom and 2 pull out couches (quite nice ones) in living room. Whirlpool tub was a wonderful bonus!

The parking lot is a huge drawback. Very challenging to fit our minivan into most of the spaces. Lots of maneuvering required to get in and out, many multi point turns and holding of breath...

Room Tip: higher floors in Eagle bldg have a much better view. Try to request bighorn bldg to have pondside vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, Samantha! We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear your family enjoyed their summer vacation in Breckenridge. We hope to see you again at Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

what a wonderful stay - Rachel/Kateland - the whole team made us feel welcome from the moment we signed in - beautiful 1 bedroom rooms with 2 fold out sofas + separate bedroom. And every single hike nicely listed in a book downstairs. Parent's night out on Thursdays 6pm-9pm, less than 2 minutes to town, and an amazing housekeeping staff. We will be back for sure and will be staying here. What a wonderful staff from the front desk to reception to housekeeping.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bizman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is located in a great spot toward the far end of town. It has a great game room for the kids, and the back of the hotel has fantastic mountain views. There are very limited concessions, etc., on site, and parking can be an effort. We stayed here the week of June 23, 2014, just for a night, but the main hotel was full with owners so we needed to park next door. Not a huge hassle, but not overly convenient. Great location if you want to walk to town and shopping, though you'll likely want a car if you are going toward the beginning of town down the main street. Nice outdoor pool, with a swim under into the indoor pool and several hot tubs from which you can enjoy mountain views. Overall, a decent Marriott, though not as well appointed as some, but a great location. Room itself was pretty spacious and at night the mountain breezes do cool the room pretty well in summer. They have to, as there is no air conditioning to speak of, just fans set up in each room and instructions to open the window. A nice enough hotel, but great location.

Room Tip: Ask for the lakeside if its available, a great view of the little lake abutting the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here the last week of May 2014 in the Eagle building. Spacious, clean unit, two spacious baths, king bed, amazing views of mountains from unit bedroom and balcony windows, very comfortable for a week's stay. Well-equiped kitchen. Love that they have a recycling program. Convenient location--can walk anywhere in town in minutes. Staff is helpful, courteous and enthusiastic. A perfect place to spend a week relaxing and unwinding. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_World_Is_Big
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge! Our team is happy you were able to unwind on your weekend getaway with us. We hope to host you again soon on your next vacation in Breckenridge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.6 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#4 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
0.4 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#7 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Main Street Station
Main Street Station
#15 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge

Property: Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Address: 655 Columbine Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Spa Hotel in Breckenridge
#7 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Mountain Valley Lodge At Breckenridge Hotel Breckenridge
Marriott Vacation Club Breckenridge
Marriott Breckenridge
Marriotts Mountain Valley Hotel Breckenridge
Breckenridge Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing