We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
130 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Conflicted”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is by far the worst Marriott Vacation Club we've ever experienced (I only gave it a 2 for the location). But there are a few caveats that may make this a better option in the future:
CONS:
Built in the 70's, and looks like it hasn't been updated since then. Threadbare furniture in nasty oranges and browns. Old carpets. Popcorn 8 ft ceilings feel claustrophobic. Towels are thin and grayish. Odd layout of the rooms with poor use of space including pointless, huge walk-in closets. Very small kitchen. Old appliances - noisy refrigerator. NO in-room washer/dryer. Unresponsive heating system. Sliding doors that don't. Stains on walls of uncertain source. Holes in kitchen cabinets. Parking is tight. No wheelchair for guest transfers (really Marriott? in Breckenridge? with skiers?). Small lobby - large but outdated common area.
PROS: Great location at base of Peak 9 - about a 50 yard walk across a bridge to the slopes. Short walk to downtown. Some rooms can see the base of a run. Charter sports provides rentals and ski check even if you don't rent from them. Front desk folks extremely nice.
FUTURE: Samples of new colors, furniture, and design posted on the wall. IF Marriott spends the money to gut the rooms, replace all of the furniture, fixtures, appliances, etc. - this could be an awesome spot. Based on the fact that Marriott has waited so long to update, the changes might end up only being cosmetic - leaving you to tolerate the hotel to get the slopeside access.

Room Tip: Many rooms only have a view of the other building. But, until the renovations (and potentially even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheaf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    203
    59
    26
    13
See reviews for
183
208
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you're looking for world class accommodations then stay in Vail/Beaver Creek and be prepared to pay accordingly. This is a nice building by Breckenridge standards. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the location is convenient (although not really a "true" ski-in/ski-out)

+Friendly and proficient staff
+Location
+Hot tub views

-Hot tubs are crowded because they share them with the Hyatt next door.
-You have to walk through the parking garage to get to/from the pool area.
-Rooms are okay, but could use updating (I did see they are renovating in April 2013)
-Depending on which building you're in, it's a little bit of a walk to the lift.

Probably not worth the $350 a night rack rate, but I doubt anybody actually pays that much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gladerunner_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here with a buddy recently and I used points to do it. If I had paid $300+/night I would have been pretty unhappy.

Pros:
Close to skiing, you can ski right up to the building though you will have to walk out to the left when starting off for the day
Close to town, walk downtown for shopping or to eat

Cons:
Rooms are small no bigger and maybe smaller than some standard Marriott hotel rooms. The room will only sleep 2 unless you are sharing a bed. There is a queen bed and a pullout sofa. Thats it. I dont really see how this works for anything bigger than a family of 3. When the bed is out the room disappears.
There is no way to get any type of food/drink at the hotel. They will refer you to a couple of restaurants next door that will deliver and you can charge to your room but this is of no help for breakfast as they are Bar/restaurants. We arrived kind of late and didnt have time to get food for the room and the first morning the options for breakfast were non existant. They need some type of mini market where you can at least buy some coffee to make in the room, snacks, milk, heck even beer. You can do this at a residence inn by marriott, do it here and this place goes up a mark. Better yet put in a restaurant.
Parking, unless your in the main parking garage it is a hastle.
Hot Tubs, 2 of the 4 were not working and nobody seeemed to even know about it.

Overall this place was adequate but not much more than that.

Room Tip: Try and get a villa. I didnt see one but I understand they are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacati0n4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Sitting across Maggie Pond from the QuickSilver Super Six lift looking up at Peak 8 I wondered, 'How have I missed his place all these years?'. Nice room fully equiped, convenient facilities, excellent responsive staff, and you can ski to the back door! Short walking distance to a dozen shops and resturants. Charter Sports downstairs or Breckenridge Sports across the bridge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poroikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location by quicksilver lift. Room a good size for the 2 of us.excellent kitchen facilities. Hot tubs nice but crowded at times-especially with small children which was annoying as many were a little out of control. Housekeeping was a let down.really impressed when we stayed last year but came back after a long days skiing the first two days and room had not be tidied by 3.30pm. We were told they had until 4pm so we requested ours to be done earlier if possible which it was but often to a poor standard such as too few towels or pillows simply thrown on the bed.this place is unsure as whether it is a hotel or self contained condos.it tries to be both. We paid hotel prices but didn't get the service you would expect at a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenHenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We only stayed here for one night. We laughed upon arrival, expecting the water view. That's in the back. This is obviously set up for people who are staying for a week or longer. Lots to do. Great view from our room (the pond above). Great amenities, with the pool, rec room, activities. More like being on a cruise ship. But, for one night, it was more than we could have used. We loved Brekenridge and would definitely come back and stay longer - and if we were staying longer - we'd sure stay here. A little dated, but very nice.
We were not offered for help getting luggage to the room, and it was not convenient. No room service, which we could have used the next morning. We weren't prepared to make our own breakfast in the very nice kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venture1to1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loomis ca
Level Contributor
384 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bdr+ alcove with trundle bed and 2 baths. What we liked?
Marriotts always produce a consistent product. Clean, helpful staff with extra towels, cookware, salt and pepper, and an amenity card at the end of our stay so we could ski, then shower and use the hot tub in the pool area. We could also leave our car there at the end of our stay.
What we didn't like? The kitchen was tiny, and virtually no counter space and the dishwasher in a very awkward position. More than one person in the kitchen area made it feel quite crowded.
We liked the ski storage, but the boot warmers did not appear to be working. Many times we kept our boots in our room next to the heater.
While listed as ski in and out, one has to walk over the bridge to get to the lift. But on the return you can ski directly to the ski storage door, providing there is enough snow.
There are 4 hot tubs, welcome after bitter cold days skiiing. Evidently the Marriott shares the hot tubs with a hotel next door. Sometimes they were quite crowded. A little unusual entry to the pool hot tub area walking outside and through the parking garage, but overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.6 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#4 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
0.4 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#7 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Main Street Station
Main Street Station
#15 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge

Property: Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Address: 655 Columbine Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#7 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Mountain Valley Lodge At Breckenridge Hotel Breckenridge
Marriott Vacation Club Breckenridge
Marriott Breckenridge
Marriotts Mountain Valley Hotel Breckenridge
Breckenridge Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing