We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Better if staying longer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Better if staying longer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We only stayed here for one night. We laughed upon arrival, expecting the water view. That's in the back. This is obviously set up for people who are staying for a week or longer. Lots to do. Great view from our room (the pond above). Great amenities, with the pool, rec room, activities. More like being on a cruise ship. But, for one night, it was more than we could have used. We loved Brekenridge and would definitely come back and stay longer - and if we were staying longer - we'd sure stay here. A little dated, but very nice.
We were not offered for help getting luggage to the room, and it was not convenient. No room service, which we could have used the next morning. We weren't prepared to make our own breakfast in the very nice kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venture1to1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    204
    59
    26
    13
See reviews for
184
208
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
loomis ca
Level Contributor
384 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bdr+ alcove with trundle bed and 2 baths. What we liked?
Marriotts always produce a consistent product. Clean, helpful staff with extra towels, cookware, salt and pepper, and an amenity card at the end of our stay so we could ski, then shower and use the hot tub in the pool area. We could also leave our car there at the end of our stay.
What we didn't like? The kitchen was tiny, and virtually no counter space and the dishwasher in a very awkward position. More than one person in the kitchen area made it feel quite crowded.
We liked the ski storage, but the boot warmers did not appear to be working. Many times we kept our boots in our room next to the heater.
While listed as ski in and out, one has to walk over the bridge to get to the lift. But on the return you can ski directly to the ski storage door, providing there is enough snow.
There are 4 hot tubs, welcome after bitter cold days skiiing. Evidently the Marriott shares the hot tubs with a hotel next door. Sometimes they were quite crowded. A little unusual entry to the pool hot tub area walking outside and through the parking garage, but overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Mountain Valley Lodge in Breckenridge from Feb 6-9. It's a nice location and there is a ski rental places (Charter Sports) in the basement that will store skis and boots for guests. All very convenient.

However, the place needs some work. It's perfectly fine as far as construction (nothing is falling down), but it seems out-dated and it is not as nice as other options in the Marriott Vacation Club network. The garage feels extremely tight especially considering almost everyone during the winter drives and SUV.

However, I commend the staff on being friendly and extremely helpful. We had to move rooms because of an odd smell that crept up and they were very quick to act and rectify the situation. They tried identifying the smell and when they couldn't they didn't hesitate to move us to a new unit. That kind of pro-active behavior goes a long way, in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matthewsinger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We just returned from a first time ski trip to Breckenridge and Marriott Mountain Valley Lodge.

Pros: Ski equipment rental at your hotel, short walk to ski, ski right to the door, clean and well kept, friendly staff, close proximity to ski lift and restaurants, family friendly, spacious suite with a full kitchen was great for quick breakfasts and lunches in the room.

Cons: Pool/hot tub setup has a HORRIBLE setup. It's nice and warm in the pool, and the hot tubs are great. However, to get back to our room we had to walk up 2 flights of stairs and go through the lobby or walk a ways out in the cold and then through the parking garage. I highly recommend that this hotel at least enclose the area. The hotel is very clean, but it is a little run down.

Overall, our stay was great. I would definitely stay again using Marriott miles, but I do not think I would pay the price they are charging for these rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaleiseHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I booked the Marriott Mountain Valley Lodge on an exchange through Interval International without reading any reviews. After booking, I looked on tripadvisor and was concerned. However, our experience was quite positive and we were pleasantly surprised.

We had a studio in the Angler building with easy accessibility to the ski storage and the slopes. The room had been updated in the last few years with tasteful, comfortable furnishings. We had no problems with the appliances, decor, or the temperature control.

I'm not sure why every review seems to mention the tight parking. We had a full size SUV and had no trouble parking it in the parking spaces. It seemed like every other vehicle in the garage was a large SUV and they all fit fine.

My only concern with our stay was the housekeeping. Our room was not ready when we arrived because housekeeping was still working. When we got to the room there were towels hanging behind the bathroom door, obviously left by the previous guests.

I would definitely stay at the Marriott Mountain Lodge in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great for family vacation. Organized activities daily,kids friendly. Walking distance to the lift. The only downside is the parking, you have to walk outside on the cold and snow to get to your car. But over-all, our stay was great.

Room Tip: Pick the rooms on the highest floor at the Eagle Bldg, mountain and ski run view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Dolores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Loved this place! Located at the end of the "main" street of Breckenridge (everything is within walking distance), at the bottom of the mountain and on a nice lake. It was very nice and cozy. Power went out in town (common in the mountains) while we were there and we were supplied with more blankets and a lantern right away. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank embee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.6 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#4 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
0.4 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#7 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Main Street Station
Main Street Station
#15 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge

Property: Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Address: 655 Columbine Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#7 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Mountain Valley Lodge At Breckenridge Hotel Breckenridge
Marriott Vacation Club Breckenridge
Marriott Breckenridge
Marriotts Mountain Valley Hotel Breckenridge
Breckenridge Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing