We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Ski-in Ski-out location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beaver Run Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Convenient Ski-in Ski-out location”
Reviewed January 28, 2009

We stayied here for four nights for a ski vacation. My husband and myself along with my 16 year old son, his friend and my 13 year old daughter and her friend went on this trip. We rented a Premium Corporate Suite which was a three bedroom/three bath condo. It rented for about $493.00 per night. It was so worth the price! It was very roomy for all of us and it included a balcony over looking the Beaver Run Chair. We were on the second floor with an elevator pretty much right outside the door which took you down to a locker room where you can keep your skiis. This was really nice so you didn't have to lug them up to your condo. Each unit in Beaver Run is individually decorated and we got lucky. Ours was beuatifully decorated. We went with some friends, who brought four 16 year old girls, and their exact unit, one floor below, was very dated.

Beaver Run is a huge resort made up of four buildings. Our unit was in building four. I would reccommend staying in building four since it is the closest to the ski slope. If you were staying in building one it would be a really, really long walk to the slopes in your ski boots.

The resort had two pools and several hot tubs. The main pool and HT's are located int the middle in Building three. Building four also has a pool and hot tub. We liked the facilities in Builing four much more than the main pool, but all the kids we were with loved hanging out at the main pool since there was a lot more "action" going on there.

There are several places to eat and have a drink at the resort. They even offer a free shuttle back and forth to town, which is only minutes away. This was great!. We didn't need our car at all. The kids loved it too. They would just go into town at night by themselves and we felt they would all be very safe.

I loved the location of the resort since all the kids could just go out the door to the slopes. We would meet them for lunch and back at the condo at the end of the day.

Some areas of the resort are a little dated, but nothing that would make me not go there. The resort is also very clean and the people who worked there are very helpful.

The only thing I would say that I didn't like is that it is so big that you had to walk a long way to get anywhere, but it wasn't that bad.

I would reccommend this resort to anyone! We had a great time and the skiing at Breckenridge was pretty good too.

Breckenridge serves all levels of skiers. At first I really didn't want to go there, I have been there before and remember that it was always crowded. But now that i have been there again i've decided it was pretty good. There was no lines and they have some nice bowls and tree skiing as well as some fun long runs that you can just cruise at the end of the day.

I think it is a great family place, but would also go there with out kids.

  • Liked — Location and condo
  • Disliked — Huge resort, had to walk a lot to get anywhere.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RMLL1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    511
    250
    92
    51
See reviews for
623
343
40
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vallejo, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2009

This resort is huge & it took a couple days to get down navigating the maze from our room to the conference center each morning. I was there for 5 days for a conference. The resort has a ton of amenities: pools, hot tubs, restaurants, and even a mini miniature golf course inside along with an arcade. The location was perfect for skiers and those who skied during the conference were beaming about the experience. We had a 1br suite, which was dated, but fairly large and comfortable, although not very quiet - occasionally we could hear a washing machine very loudly over our heads. Also, on the coldest days the room smelled heavily of wood smoke even though we didn't have a fire going of our own. It was quite nice having a full kitchen, including a dishwasher and I was very happy to find a humidifier in the closet which we kept running all day, the air is very dry in Breckenridge. There were nice toiletries in the bathroom: body soap, face soap, lotion, shampoo & conditioner and the shower had good water pressure. We ate at Spencer's the first day for lunch & I would not recommend it - I was served moldy fruit and a salmon sandwich that left quite a bit to be desired. After that we mainly visited the market and bought paninis and salads which were quite nice and quick, although a little pricey ($9 per sandwich). Probably the most disappointing feature was the wireless internet - we had a free code to use it in the lobby but it was extremely slow, to forever to connect and would promptly kick you off only minutes later - not a big deal if you're there for vacation, but for a conference this was a major flaw. The altitude was definitely a bit of an adjustment and even on the last day I was out of breath going up half a flight of stairs and I had frequent headaches and felt not quite right despite drinking water like mad (luckily the local tap water is quite good). The scenery was beautiful and the town was quaint but if you don't ski it's not quite worth the journey & the altitude. We did enjoy the spa though, small, but reasonably priced and good practitioners.

  • Liked — Havign access to everything on site - not having to go outside on snowy days to access food, the conference, etc. Good spa.
  • Disliked — Terrible wifi. Spencer's restaurant (the food was not fresh - moldy fruit).
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gradtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

We stayed in a queen studio over the holiday week. This was located in building 4 which has its own ski locker and outdoor pool/hot tub area. Our room had a small kitchenette and a strange tub/shower combo. The water temperature was erratic. This resort is ski-in ski-out with immediate access to the mountain and Peak 9. The resort is similar to other ski lodging with dated furnishings and décor. Each unit is individually owner and has the owner’s touches. This location offers on site dining, market, and complimentary shuttle to Main Street. However, the walk to Main Street is short even after a long day of skiing. On the first night of our stay, the adjacent building had a water main break. My friend and her family were evacuated at 4am and then moved to another room later in the day. There was no compensation given to them for their inconvenience. I would recommend this property for avid skiers who would like the convenience of being on the mountain. If you are looking for modern accommodations, choose elsewhere.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dated furnishings
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagoTRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
2 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2008

Just spent 4 days skiing at Beaver Run. Our room was a one bedroom suite in Bldg.3 which was clean and well appointed. The location was perfect as we were very near the main lifts and the ski school for our daughter. It's a short drive or about 1/2 mile to mile walk to town. Ski storage is handy and convenient. However, this complex is extremely dated and somewhat tired looking. A bit depressing. Parking could be a problem as spaces are not assigned. Front desk/ housekeeping services were good. Overall a good experience for the price but will probably look for something more updated next time.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dated amenities/ appearance
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

We stayed at the Beaver Run in March '08. We rented a Deluxe Studio in Building 4 for 2 weeks.

The hotel is huge, and most of the rooms are privately owned, so you take pot luck on the décor etc. We were lucky and our room was excellent in every way, although we did talk to some guests who said their rooms were a little dated, but overall most people we spoke to to were very happy indeed.

The resort is excellent, with every conceivable amenity, including outdoor hot tubs and two pools. The deli and Spencers are excellent - we ate at Spencers twice and the food and prices were fantastic.

The best thing about this place is the location!. There is a ski room in the basement that opens directly onto the slopes about 50 yards above the Beaver Run chair loading station, so it is one of very few true ski in ski out locations in Breck.

It is about a 10 minute walk to Main St, but they have several shuttles that will drop you off and pick you up anywhere in town if you are too lazy (or tired from skiing) to walk.

Overall, we loved the Beaver Run, and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a nice hotel and a wonderful location

  • Liked — The location and teh friendliness of all the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing - it is a really nic eplace to stay!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary7766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2008

My wife and I traveled to Breckenridge and Beaver Run Resort as our first time away from the kids (they're 1 and 3). We booked our stay through my parents' time share (RCI). We stayed for a week (Sat - Fri) and had a great time exploring the town and the mountains. We love to hike and there was plenty of that to do!! The resort was great, plenty of pools, hot tubs, restaurants. The concierge was very helpful in finding places to eat, hike, shop, etc. We were unable to book a room with a balcony, which would have been ideal, but the availability through RCI just wasn't there. Our studio suite was amply furnished with a kitchenette (fully equiped except an oven) living room, bed and bathroom. Bonus... spa type tub in its own separate room. The only complaint we have about the room is the lack of ventilation. There is only one window to open, which allows for no cross ventilation, and there is no HVAC or vent fan. (the fan in the water closet was of the recirculating type) This lack of ventilation leads inevitably to mold and mildew which, while not readily visible in the room, was certainly detectable by smell. Hits you like a brick wall when you walk into the room. Unfortunately for us, my wife is allergic to mold. Made for many headaches and time spent out of the room rather than relaxing together in private. The resort had plenty of other places to hang out though. We were unable to change rooms as we had booked through RCI, the staff tried to help by sending up an ionizer (we had to leave the room for an hour) but to no avail. No air purifiers or filters. RCI would not change our room without a $120 fee. So instread we sent $20 on carpet odor spray and Tylenol. Over all, great trip. Just could have done without the mold.

  • Liked — Views and location
  • Disliked — Moldy room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Allens4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

I stayed here for a conference and thought the rooms were outdated and set up in a very strange and uncomfortable way. The bed is right by the door, the tub is in a separate area from the rest of the bathroom and the t.v. is in a back room with an outdated, uncomfortable sleeper sofa. They don't have a valet and parking is complicated. There are much nicer places in the mountains so only stay here if you are getting a cheap deal.

  • Liked — It is close to the ski lift
  • Disliked — it is a bit of a walk from the main strip of shops and restaurants
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melaniealison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.7 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#8 of 23 in Breckenridge
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1.1 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.4 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#16 of 23 in Breckenridge
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaver Run Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaver Run Resort and Conference Center

Property: Beaver Run Resort and Conference Center
Address: 620 Village Road, PO Box 2115, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Spa Hotel in Breckenridge
#8 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beaver Run Resort and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaver Run Resort and Conference Center is located at the Base of Peak 9 in Breckenridge, Colorado. It is a ski in ski out property and it is a Homeowners Association. Each unit is individually owned. Our 4 Building structure was built over several years, with Building One opening in 1979, with the completion of Building 4 in 1984. Owners are required to maintain an above minimum Quality score to participate in the Rental Program and no two Units are identical. We encourage our guests to request a room change if they are not completely satisfied with the room they are assigned. We have limited number of pet friendly rooms and we do charge a Pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beaver Run Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaver Run Hotel Breckenridge
Beaver Run Resort Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing