We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Skiway Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Skiway Lodge
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My friend and I had a wonderful experience at Skiway Lodge in Breck. It is a 5 minute walk to Main St. (where all the action is). Do note, coming home it is an uphill walk. Take your time as you adjust to the altitude in Breck! We attended a wedding and our shuttle to the ceremony site left Main St. Station which was about a 15 minute walk from the lodge. Breck is a very walker-biker friendly town. We checked in late and our information was left for us on site. Our room was Suite 9 which is the only room on the first/split level. It has 2 twin beds and a pull out couch, as well as a walk-in closet. The bathroom was full size and the room worked well for two traveling friends. The closet provided fluffy robes and athletic slides for use when going to the hot tubs. The hot tubs were easy to operate and very relaxing. Housekeeping gave us fresh towels and changed our garbage daily. The upstairs lounge/kitchen had silverware, glasses, and plates, as well as teas, coffee, oatmeal and hot chocolate. A hair dryer with attachments is provided in the bathroom. The room also had a tv, dvd player (I think), mini fridge, and microwave. The staff is very friendly and although not always on-site, easy to reach if there was an emergency. This is a great place to stay if you don't want to be in the busy area of Main St. I would most definitely stay here again. If you want a quiet, homey, atmosphere you should stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiWayFrontDesk, Manager at Skiway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 139 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Skiway Lodge is located about 5 minutes (walking distance) to Main Street, which is where most shops and restaurants are located (busiest part of town). The lodge is a 15 minute walk to the Breckenridge Brewery, which is the farthest point of interest on South Main. I stayed in Suite 9, which was very accommodating for two people. The lodge was quiet (except for the construction trucks driving by, which started early morning) with very little interaction with other guests. The hot tub was very clean and easy to operate. The rooms come equipped with robes, towels and slip on shoes specifically for use when enjoying the hot tub. The lodge also provides utensils, plates, wine glasses and regular drinking glasses as well as coffee, sugar, creamer, hot chocolate, oatmeal and various snacks. Kylee is very helpful and is able to provide information on local attractions. Housekeeping was very thorough and provided fresh towels daily. Don't count on the staff being in-house too often, mostly just mornings to afternoon.

Room Tip: Suite 9 is for friends or non-couples. Two single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiWayFrontDesk, Manager at Skiway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Skiway Lodge at the end of the ski season. On the first night we stayed in suite #9 because it was the only room available that night. This suite fits perfectly for two friends traveling together. This room is very private since it is the only suite that is located on the first floor. It has two single beds, a sofa, a big closet and very clean bathroom. Since I traveled with my husband, next day we moved (as we previously arranged) to suite #5. This suite is located on the third floor and faces the street. It was very nice and comfy: the bed was excellent, bathroom super clean, nice furniture and balcony. It has cable TV and Wi-Fi is great. Overall, the lodge is very nice and very well maintained. Like has been commented in previous posts, staff is very friendly and although is not seen around very often, this is not a problem whatsoever. Their organization is great and they have everything under control. Also, we liked the little details, like the teas, hot cocoa, and oatmeal that we were free to take anytime. They have dishes and glasses for the guests’ convenience. The location is great, less than 5 minute walk to Main St and 10 minute walk to Village Ski base Area. Also, the bus stop is just one block away. Finally, we enjoyed very much our stay at the Lodge: very nice & cozy, excellent location, great rates. Definitely is a must next time in Breckenridge.

Room Tip: Suite # 9 is good for two friends travelling together. Suite # 5 perfect for a couple. Both suites f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabiG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiWayFrontDesk, Manager at Skiway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thanks for the great review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed a night at the Skiway Lodge and loved it! It's a small ski lodge, reminiscent of a b&b. We stayed in Suite 5, which had a balcony, fireplace, and very comfy bed. We both agreed it was one of the best rooms we've ever stayed in. Fantastic location in Breck; we could walk to main street and the slopes are right there. We would highly recommend Skiway Lodge to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiWayFrontDesk, Manager at Skiway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. We truly appreciate you taking the time to let other people know what our property has to offer. Hope to see you again for your future visits!

Kylee Sklanka
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Thanks to tripadvisor we discovered the Skiway lodge. It really is a great place to stay at a great price. Our room was comfy and cozy- we took full advantage of the fireplace! Even though there is no front desk staff, the room was cleaned daily. The common area also had plenty of ammenities, like dishes, silverware, and cork screws, for the nights that we ordered in because were too tired after a day of snowboarding to go out to dinner. On the nights that we did go out, it was just a short walk into town to plenty of great restaurants.
We regret not making time to try out the hot tubs- maybe on our next visit!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherie4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiWayFrontDesk, Manager at Skiway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for the great review! We are glad you got to utilize the amenities we offer in our lounge area. You also might be happy to hear that we now have a full time manger on duty. This means there will be someone here to greet all our guests upon check in, and answer any questions they may have about the local area or restaurant recommendations. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you next time so you can enjoy the hot tubs!

Thank You,

Kylee Sklanka
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Wife and I stayed there for two nights. This is a very good value. Ski in was really cool. Ski out down to tunnell and walk over to gondola. Down the hill from the shuttle and 1.5 blocks from Main Street… This place is very self directed and staff is rarely there. Everyone else we talked to enjoyed their stay as well. You can't beat it for the price.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Binwinut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiWayFrontDesk, Manager at Skiway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for the feedback! We love hearing our guests opinions of the property. We do appreciate you letting everyone know that we do offer a great place to stay without breaking the bank. You may also be happy to know that we now have a full time manager on duty so you will be able to experience a more personalized welcome upon check in. Hope to see you again soon!

Thank You,
Kylee Sklanka
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Read about this on Trip Advisor....was very satisfied....beds were comfy....BUT communication w/the front desk by phone is hard to get! So make sure you book on line. Also there is an elevator for the first and second floor only! My room was on the 3rd floor and with such a high elevation I would recommend to pack lightly! My husband had to lay down after hauling up my heavy luggage...THANK YOU HUSBAND!

Room Tip: We had room #4..although it is on the cozy side it was located in the back and was quiet....blocked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sk1gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiWayFrontDesk, Manager at Skiway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for the helpful review! I consider this the perfect opportunity to let you know that we now have a full-time manager on duty. This will ensure easy communication between lodge staff and guests prior to check in, and throughout the length of their stay. We hope to see your and your husband again in the future and we will be sure to note a suite on the second floor would be best :)

Thank You,

Kylee Sklanka
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
694 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#17 of 23 in Breckenridge
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skiway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skiway Lodge

Address: 275 Ski Hill Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range: $142 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Skiway Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SkiWay Lodge is an elegant ten suite mountain retreat located 2 blocks from Main Street in the historic gold-mining town of Breckenridge, Colorado. The lodge has ski-in and ski-out access, an ideal location for dining, nightlife, shopping, hiking, biking, and sightseeing any month of the year. You'll love the privacy of SkiWay Lodge while still staying downtown! General Information: Two Outdoor Hot Tubs, Ski to the back door on 'SkyWay SkiWay' off 'Four O'Clock Run' from Peak 8 - Easy, Free Ride Bus Stop less than a block away, Close to Main Street and Park Ave shops, restaurants, activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Skiway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skiway Hotel Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing