We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price for Breck!”
Review of Skiway Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Skiway Lodge
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Breckenridge
Reviewed March 17, 2013

A very unusual but smart way to lodge! Like the other reviewers said, there is no true front desk and there is minimal interaction with people. Which is why I gave 3 stars for service, because there really isn't much "service" that you get. However this place was great in that the price was good, the beds were comfy the showers were decent and it's really all we needed for a weekend getaway to go riding on Breck. We did see one guy with a funky mustache around 5:00 PM sitting in the front office he was very friendly and helpful he said that he is only there for a couple hours here & there and the lodge and he works another job at Sevens Restaurant by peak 7. We stayed in room 2 which was not huge, the bed took up most of the room but there are 2 small closets, large, TV, a microwave & fridge. If our other favorite place to stay in Breck is booked, (which is a VRBO rental) we would def. stay here again as well.

Room Tip: Not sure what the other room sizes are like, but room 2 is not very big, but it is cozy and did its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJpancakeeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 139 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in suite 9 at the lodge. We had three of us...one each in the twin beds, and one on the pull out couch. The room was comfortable, but a little small, especially with the couch pulled out. We were able to leave our skis and boots in a separate room upstairs which was nice. Unfortunately there was not a lot of room to dry our wet clothing at the end of the day. Partly, of course, this was because there were three of us in a small room. Some hooks on the walls would have been nice.

The lodge has great amenities, including coffee and tea, dishes, glasses, and utensils to use, and a few large sitting rooms. The bus to the slopes is about 50 feet from the lodge, and you can ski back via 4 o'clock run. The lodge is close to town, but we chose to drive because it was very icy and dark on the road at night.

There was not always someone at the main desk, as has been mentioned before, but we had no problem with this at all. In fact, at any time we did need help, there was always someone there, and they were very friendly and helpful.

I've stayed at other places in Breck, and would definitely choose to return to the Skiway if/when I go back. Overall, its a good value and comfortable lodgings.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank trianne81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here the first week of March and it was absolutely perfect. It's not spelled out anywhere how easy it is to 'ski out' to the gondola. Right outside the back of the lodge, there is a stairway leading up to the tail end of the four o'clock run, which goes all the way down to the Gondola South Parking lot, located across the street from the Gondola that goes up to Peak 7 and Peak 8. It literally takes like 5 minutes to get down to the gondola. Once you're ready to head back to the lodge, hop on the four o'clock run, stay left to head towards the gondola at the split off, and Skiway is on your right. If you would rather take the free bus up to the Peaks, the bus stops right across the street. The room was clean, well decorated, comfortable; there was awesome water pressure in the shower. The place was quiet. The hot tubs were nice; however there was no propane tank for the fireplace outside. The lodge is only a 1 1/2 blocks from Main Street, and these are short blocks; it took less than 5 minutes to walk to Main Street. If you're pretty independent when traveling, this is the place to go. Staff is not there everyday; we saw two staff members towards the end of the week. If you arrive when no one is around, it's basically self check-in and self check-out. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend Skiway Lodge.

Room Tip: Our room 4 faced the back where you can't see the mountains. You see the Four O'clock Run. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a very nice clean hotel in Breckenridge. Jake will take care of you. Our room #3 nice size, with fireplace, very nice style king bed & furniture, with frig, microwave, coffeepot,& a balcony, with view of the mountains. Parking in the front of the hotel. You can walk down the hill to town which is 3 blocks away, which is fine during the day, but in the winter at night could be tricky on the snow/ice on the side walk. With the dry air it is normal that you will have to run your humidifier which is supplied for you in your room. If you read other reviews I will confirm that you will have to carry your luggage up the stairway to your floor. Note that rooms 1 thru 6 are on the 3rd floor ! Some rooms face Ski Hill Road and you will hear traffic noise, due to that this is the main road to Peak # 7 & 8. The shuttle system works great, & you can catch the shuttle 50 yards down the hill which comes 5 times during the hour 7 will take you to Peak 7 & 8. You can ski back on 4 o'clock trail to the hotel. Only one note there should be a desk or table in our room. WE enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Ski Way has a very nice web site to help you select the room style you would like to book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeylonKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I found this place on TripAdvisor when planning a visit to my daughter, who just moved to the area. First, it had free parking, which I'm told is not very common in Breckenridge. Moreover, it was conveniently located, with a free bus stop just about 1/2 block away. Lounge areas for guests were comfortable and spacious. Tea, coffee, and other beverages were provided. Although I did not use it, a hot tub was also available.

Overall, a clean, comfortable, up to date decor. It was very hot and the room did not have a thermostat to adjust the heat; I spoke with the owner, who admitted they had some issues with that during the winter, but he did adjust it to a more comfortable level.

They do not have someone at the front desk 24 hours a day, but that did not cause any problems for me. One complaint...no soap or shampoo in the bath.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PicturesqueTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a weekend in Feb. Nice little place, close to town, ski in but not really ski out. Room was comfortable but heating system is very dry! Bring your own food, but they have cookies, hot chocolate, tea and water on the second floor. Stay in one of the suites away from the road-it's noisy.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liaviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The room we stayed in was excellent. Two sinks, huge bed, fireplace, sofa, and beautiful wood furniture. The hot tubs and hot apple cider were just what I needed after a day of skiing. The mountain was easily accessible and we skied back to the front door. I stumbled upon this place when my friend recommended it to me. I'll be sure to mention it to any friend that I have heading to Breckenridge.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allllllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.5 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#17 of 23 in Breckenridge
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
696 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
0.3 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
630 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skiway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skiway Lodge

Address: 275 Ski Hill Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range: $144 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Skiway Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SkiWay Lodge is an elegant ten suite mountain retreat located 2 blocks from Main Street in the historic gold-mining town of Breckenridge, Colorado. The lodge has ski-in and ski-out access, an ideal location for dining, nightlife, shopping, hiking, biking, and sightseeing any month of the year. You'll love the privacy of SkiWay Lodge while still staying downtown! General Information: Two Outdoor Hot Tubs, Ski to the back door on 'SkyWay SkiWay' off 'Four O'Clock Run' from Peak 8 - Easy, Free Ride Bus Stop less than a block away, Close to Main Street and Park Ave shops, restaurants, activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Skiway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skiway Hotel Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing