We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice deal for the money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bivvi Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bivvi Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice deal for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed in a private room here and enjoyed it, but a few minor things would have elevated the experience to exceptional. 1.Better lighting in the rooms--ours was really dark and it was hard to read or get ready to go out. 2. Being able to turn the ceiling fan on would have been nice. The room was warm in late June. 3. The corner of the bed is sharp and jutting out--both of us bruised our shins badly on the wood. 4. Maybe a chair to put our things on or sit down on would be a nice touch.

The breakfast was great and the daily beer/wine each afternoon was a welcome touch. We loved the log construction, the close-to-town location, the interaction with other guests and the down to earth service. Overall this place is an outstanding value even if you stay in the private rooms and we'd likely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WheelsUp589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    15
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
34
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Bivvi far exceeded our expectations. Everything was lovely, especially the common areas. Our private room was very cozy and clean, with a lovely lofted bed. We loved the hot tub and the fire pit. We will definitely stay again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank amanda_hayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Whether you ski or enjoy the summer sun, the Bivvi is a perfect place to stay in Colorado. From the amazing décor to the comfort of the rooms, the excellent breakfast to the awesome view from the hot tub, the Bivvi reflects the extra care and attention to detail that its owners took to ensure a wonderful guest experience.The common areas take the mountain lodge décor to a level suitable for the 21st century. The whole place was spotless and the owners and staff are friendly and helpful. Watching the sun set over Breckenridge from the hot tub and fire pit and making new friends with the other guests was the highlight of a trip that was full of highlights. Our private room was comfortable, clean and well-appointed. We would have stayed another night but word of a good thing gets around quickly and the place was full. We'll be back!

Room Tip: There are both hostel rooms and private rooms - be sure to make the choice that fits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoTravelers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This place is like the Hotel California...you can check out anytime you like, but you won't want to leave. Super friendly staff, the best breakfast, interesting guests, beautiful setting. I am sharing a 6 person room and the priorities are right...small room and bathroom, big, comfy common spaces.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Bivvi is a place unlike anything I have experienced before. We stayed in a private room. Everything was log cabin themed, even the bed and furniture in our room. The way I explained my experience to people is that we basically stayed in a log cabin but we have our own private hotel room within the cabin. The main room was neat with a large fireplace. Breakfast was also good. The hot tub/fireplace area was awesome, with great views of the mountains! My one complaint was that our room did not have a fridge, I thought that was odd.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

This place was awesome. The Bivvi lodge was clean, homey, and a perfect place to relax/party/hot tub it after an awesome day on the mountain. We stayed in the private room and it was really cool with the lofted bed. Overall great experience and I would highly recommend the Bivvi!

Room Tip: Stay in the dorm to meet new friends or stay in the private for a cool lofted lodge feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skylark27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Don't call it a hostel, because it is way too nice. Its got the energy and price of a hostel, the amenities of a premium hotel. and the friendly vibe of a lodge.

The main room has a huge fireplace and stunning view of the mountain. After a long day of skiing you can grab a pitcher of beer and hop in the hot tub. Breakfast will please lumberjacks and vegans alike. The setup allows you to socialize with other guests or have some privacy in the loft/library. The hosts are super friendly guys who enjoy the outdoors and manage the place well.

Location: The location is a 15 min walk or short drive into town. The shuttle stop is very close and is easier than driving. Parking is free.

The rooms: The rooms are great, but you shouldn't be spending much time in there anyway! Each room has a porch and bathroom. The custom built bunks are sturdy and have new mattresses. And unlike hostels overseas, you get proper bedclothes. No dirty duvets, missing top sheets, or renting towels. The room was very warm, which is not always the case with mountain rentals. The place was renovated recently and it shows.

We stayed at The Bivvi in April 2014 for 3 nights with a group of 7 guys.

Room Tip: The suites have their own outdoor hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.9 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#6 of 22 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.4 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
0.7 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 22 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#7 of 22 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bivvi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bivvi Hostel

Property: The Bivvi Hostel
Address: 9511 Colorado 9, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bivvi Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mountain hostel in Breckenridge crafted as a base camp for adventurers, mountain gurus, ramblers, and those with a genuine love for the outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Bivvi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allaire Timbers Hotel Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing