We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Times at the Bivvi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bivvi Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Bivvi Hostel to your Saves list
The Bivvi Hostel
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   9511 Colorado 9, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$29 Bunk Bed
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Times at the Bivvi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This place was awesome. The Bivvi lodge was clean, homey, and a perfect place to relax/party/hot tub it after an awesome day on the mountain. We stayed in the private room and it was really cool with the lofted bed. Overall great experience and I would highly recommend the Bivvi!

Room Tip: Stay in the dorm to meet new friends or stay in the private for a cool lofted lodge feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skylark27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    15
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
30
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Don't call it a hostel, because it is way too nice. Its got the energy and price of a hostel, the amenities of a premium hotel. and the friendly vibe of a lodge.

The main room has a huge fireplace and stunning view of the mountain. After a long day of skiing you can grab a pitcher of beer and hop in the hot tub. Breakfast will please lumberjacks and vegans alike. The setup allows you to socialize with other guests or have some privacy in the loft/library. The hosts are super friendly guys who enjoy the outdoors and manage the place well.

Location: The location is a 15 min walk or short drive into town. The shuttle stop is very close and is easier than driving. Parking is free.

The rooms: The rooms are great, but you shouldn't be spending much time in there anyway! Each room has a porch and bathroom. The custom built bunks are sturdy and have new mattresses. And unlike hostels overseas, you get proper bedclothes. No dirty duvets, missing top sheets, or renting towels. The room was very warm, which is not always the case with mountain rentals. The place was renovated recently and it shows.

We stayed at The Bivvi in April 2014 for 3 nights with a group of 7 guys.

Room Tip: The suites have their own outdoor hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My dad and I stayed here for a weekend on a ski trip to Breck. The staff was exceptional, the accommodations were impeccable, and the price was very fair. This is a fantastic place to stay and just a short walk from town (or there is a bus stop right outside the lodge). Also the hot tub and craft beer on tap were a good touch!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights as part of a special anniversary trip. We wanted somewhere that was casual but with attitude and style, we found it at the Bivvi. The owners and staff were welcoming but not in your face, their passion and knowledge of the area was awesome. They love this place in winter and summer and that shows in the attention to detail they have paid to the accommodation. The quality of the accommodation in terms of comfort, style and cleanliness was first class. We're already planning to come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Before I was booking for hotels for my snowboarding trip, I found this place with so high ratings and low cost. I was wondering why it's rated so high. Now I've came back from Colorado and I'm able to say that it is a great place if you want to save money on other winter activities in the Breck area.

The Bivvi was located not far from the main street in the Historic District. There is also a bus stop nearby that takes you to other major transfer stops. The breakfast was really good. The Wifi speed is very stable, as opposed to that of many other hotels/hostels that I've stayed in. The cost was $45 for a bed in a four-people bedroom. Higher in rooms shared by few people.

If there was anything that I wish the Bivvi could improve? I'm a girl but I was assigned to a room that all my roommates are males. I wish the Bivvi could assign people with same gender into the same room or rooms shared by 2 males and 2 females. Also there doesn't seem to have people change your towels (I'm not sure if you're to ask them for clean towels). But still, overall good place for amazing prices!

Room Tip: If you want more private space, try to book early and book a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed at the Bivvi for a last minute five night ski trip in mid March. Normally I would have opted for a condo, or hotel, however a good friend from Denver stayed here and highly recommended it. Having never stayed in a hostile type environment I was a little worried as to the type of accommodations and people I would run into, but those fears were quickly dismissed. I found the rooms to be clean, the bedding comfortable and the people to be friendly and interesting. The common area that includes the great room and tv room are decorated to fit right in with the Breckenridge environment and made you feel like you were staying in a five star mountain lodge. I didn't use the hot tub, but it looked inviting and plenty of guests were making use of it and having a blast. It was great to congregate around the bar area in the evening and listen to everyone share their days experiences. The breakfast was outstanding, fresh cut fruit, hot items such as eggs, french toast, pancakes and the normal stables such as oatmeal, bagels, granola ect. It was everything you needed to start your day of right. You couldn't beat the location, a short walk right out of the front door to the free town bus or if you wanted to walk, it was only 7 minutes to town. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, they were great at just sort of blending in with the guests and not making it feel like a hotel environment. The only suggestion I could make is that they should post no smoking signs on the doors leading to the balconies. I understood from an inquiry that I made prior to coming out that the policy was no smoking with in 50 feet of the Bivvi. Unfortunately there were guys smoking weed on the balcony of the room with the window open the first two days. I get it, weed is legal in Colorado but there are still plenty of us that don't like the smell and don't want to breath it. The room smelled like marijuana for the first two days, somewhat off putting to say the least. I never said anything to the staff, so thats on me, just a recommendation that might keep it from happening in the future. Given that, I still think this place five stars and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Thanks Bivvi for a great time!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This very clean, comfortable, and well appointed lodge will not disappoint. Our queen size room was big, the mattress and frame were perfect, and the room was well insulated and climate controlled. The separate balcony was an excellent amenity. Breakfast was substantial and good quality, could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pagol0284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
0.9 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#3 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#7 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 stars 648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
1.4 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bivvi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bivvi Hostel

Property: The Bivvi Hostel
Address: 9511 Colorado 9, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bivvi Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Bivvi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allaire Timbers Hotel Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing