We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, cost-effective hostel”
Review of The Bivvi Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bivvi Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, cost-effective hostel”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I had a chance to ski for a week in Breckenridge on short notice so no usual ski pals could come. Bivvi provided a great place for a solo skier to stay at a reasonable price and hang out with other ski-mad travelers from all over the world.

Pleasant, clean facility, friendly folks, short bus ride to ski lifts, easy to meet with other skiers/boarders for the day.

Mostly 20-30 somethings, but they welcomed an older guy like me in his 50's, and there were a few other surviving older guys like me to ski with as well. Great experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    17
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
36
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I live in South Florida and try to get a snowboard session in every year. Breckenridge, CO was my destination this year. I stayed at the Bivvi and was blown away for $45 for a sixer (bunk beds) with a killer warm and cold breakfast spread. I stay in hostels, bed and breakfast all over the world. Been to 56 countries and all 7 continents and this is by far one of the nicer places. Felt like a warm, cozy, big house. Great staff. Super helpful to someone not familiar with the area. Hot tub and firepit outside set for some real nice relaxation and convo with stranger about the day on the hill. Probably fell asleep at the Fireplace inside with some hot cocoa a couple times too. Say hi to Worthy. Super friendly.

Safe travels,
Jerry Ascione

Room Tip: The "sixer" is your best bang for your buck, but if you want something more private they h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryAscione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Bivi is by far the best place to stay in Breckenridge. The rooms are beautiful. the service is great & the atmosphere is warm and inviting. Also the price is right and the views are awesome. Thanks Guys I had a very enjoyable stay. I'll be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scragg-gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Hell yeah, this is the place to stay in Breck. Stylish furnishings and best breakfast in town. The guys there are super friendly and there's beer on tab, what else can a dude ask for?? Nuttin mo to say!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BreckAndWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anonyme Island, Seychelles
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

One of the best hostels I’ve stayed in after 10+ years of hostel experiences all over the world. This hostel has everything you could wish for! You can tell from the outset that the very friendly and helpful staff have extensively travelled themselves and set their hostel up with great attention to detail. It is easily accessible on the free local bus route, provides an amazing free breakfast, the dorms provide shower gel, shampoo and conditioner as well as a blow dryer. The mattresses are big, super comfortable and come with a big warm duvet. Each bed has its own reading light and power outlet (privacy curtains to be arriving soon). They also give you free earplugs. We mostly stayed in the 6-bed dorm, but also spent a night in the 4-bed one, which (in addition) has big lockers underneath the beds that can be set with a personal code. There are chargers for all sorts of devices in the lobby, free water, hot chocolate, coffee and tea all day. A fridge and microwave can also be used. Free and fast wifi all over the place. Everything is very clean and extremely cozy. You can gather on the couch in front of the fireplace, meet people in the hot tub or relax in front of the TV upstairs. Would come back any day!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 915Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We came to Breckenridge for our son's wedding and stayed at the Bivvi. What a great place! The king suite was very nice. Their breakfast is wonderful. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Would highly recommend the Bivvi.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ljkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great location (almost walking distance to downtown and if you're lazy the shuttle bus just stops outside), lovely common areas with fireplace and funky, comfy furniture, breakfast included... and all for an affordable price (considering where you are). The 4-bed dorm room was decent size. What I liked most, was the attention to details everywhere, from the little miners lamps in the bunk beds, to the free earplugs in the dorms, to the antler-chandelier. Would def stay again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olsson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
742 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#10 of 23 in Breckenridge
678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
567 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#15 of 23 in Breckenridge
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bivvi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bivvi Hostel

Property: The Bivvi Hostel
Address: 9511 Colorado 9, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bivvi Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mountain hostel in Breckenridge crafted as a base camp for adventurers, mountain gurus, ramblers, and those with a genuine love for the outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bivvi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allaire Timbers Hotel Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing