We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for chillin' out”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gold Point Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gold Point Resort
GreenLeadersSilver level
Floydada, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for chillin' out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Unparalleled view of ski slope situated above Breckenridge. Cozy livingroom with fireplace and dining room has a fully equipped kitchen upstairs and a kitchenette downstairs. Master bedroom has king bed with large jacuzzi tub & separate shower. Downstairs bedroom has 2 beds and bath & includes single car garage. Only minus was the master bed had a trough in the middle that you felt like you to hang on to the edge to keep from rolling into. TVs in each room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearspants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Gold Point Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi Bearspants,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of all the amenities at Gold Point. We strive to great wonderful vacations for our guest and are delighted to know that you had an amazing experience. We hope to see you again in the future and help you enjoy even more of the wonderful sights Breckenridge as to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    37
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
58
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Gold Point was the first timeshare I ever bought. My two boys were growing up and moving to Breck...20 years later, one son now lives in Park County (over the pass) and the other returned to our hometown (upstate New York) and I sold my Gold Point timeshare unit.

These condos were originally built with full ownership in mind but with the growing interest in timeshares and not having all of phase 1 units sold, the owners decided to convert to timeshares and later added the lower level of buildings (phase 2). I owned a 2 bdrm in phase 1 and have traded into a 2 bdrm and a 3 bdrm in phase 2. The buildings and units are comparable but the walls in phase 2 do seem a little thinner (sound seems louder in phase 2 buildings).

I love Gold Point because it is removed from the small town congestion that is getting worse in Breck. There is plenty of room to hike and enjoy the mountains and outdoors. The view is outstanding day or night and there is plenty of space to unpack and feel at home. Cooking and laundry are very convenient but there are lots of stairs and no elevators and with the high altitude, it may be a problem for some.

Room Tip: All condos have great views and balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdaviso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Gold Point Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi Cdaviso2,

We love to hearing from guests/former owners who truly enjoy their stay at Gold Point! Our company passion statement is “Always great vacations!” We are glad we have exceeded this expectation. Thank you for your wonderful review and all your support. We pride ourselves on upholding the highest standard for everything from the customer service we provide to the property itself and couldn't be happier our efforts have not gone unnoticed. We look forward to having you as our guest for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We were happily surprised when we saw the fantastic view out the massive windows and door that led to the outside balcony of our 3 bedroom condo. It is very clean and has a very well appointed kitchen. It is extremely easy to make meals here because you have all the utensils, appliances and cookware that you need. It is quiet and beautiful up here. I thought I wanted to be in town but now am so happy that were are at Gold Point. You can see the town below and it is lovely to see the lights at night.

It nice for mountain bikers because you can pick up the trails from near the resort. When done you can soak in the hot tub (each building has one).

The staff could not have been nicer. We chose not to have housekeeping come in and you can save yourself some money. If you want clean towels you can exchange them at the office.

They are in the process of updating their decor and kitchens. Took a look at one of the units that has been done and although it is not a drastic change, it is very nice and I like the new look of the kitchens.

We will most likely come back here when we visit Breckenridge.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessicat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Gold Point Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi Jessicat57,

Thank you for your recent review! We strive to great wonderful vacations for our guest and are delighted to know that you had an amazing experience. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the rooms, location and the amenities on site.

Thank you so much for your kind words – making a guest feel at home is always a wonderful compliment to receive. It was a pleasure having you stay at our resort and we are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our 3-bedroom condo was very spacious and well-equipped, though definitely dated in its decor (if that matters to you). It was definitely clean and well-maintained. The view of the mountains was beautiful, even in the rain (it poured every afternoon, apparently August is monsoon season). The hot tub room in the building was terrific. Loved the movie rental service, which we used a lot since it rained so much! $20 a week for Internet access seemed reasonable. No complaints!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freakinangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Gold Point Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Freakinangels,

Thank you for all the wonderful words about Gold Point, our staff and amenities. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the view of the mountains from Gold Point, even on the rainy days! :) This August has been especially wet, although our staff is hoping this translates into a moisture laden winter season. You should come back then and partake in the myriad of activities Breckenridge has to offer in the winter time. Thank you for your excellent review and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the mountains!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenson Ranch, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Absolutely loved our visit to Gold Point and Breckenridge for our 30th anniversary. Upon our late arrival, minutes before closing, we were informed our unit had a refrigerator malfunction and our small party of 2 were upgraded to a 3-bedroom, 2-bath two-story unit for the week. Absolutely spotless and with a beautiful balcony view. Very comfortable and quiet. Greatly impressed by the very nice staff and look forward to visiting again. Breck is one of our favorite places ever where we can run away to. Very special place!

Room Tip: I believe anything above a studio provides an enclosed garage and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Gold Point Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Denise T,

Thank you for your recent review! The staff of Gold Point was delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Gold Point celebrating your 30th Anniversary! Our company passion statement is “Always great vacations!” and are glad that we have exceeded this expectation. Thank you for your wonderful review and all your support. We look forward to having you as our guest for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived late, and used the access code provided by the office to enter the lobby and obtain our key. We checked in later the next morning greeted by a staff eager to share the attractions. We booked through Interval International, and the only drawback was that it did not indicate it was "Pet Friendly" on the Interval website. Our son has allergies to dogs, so we immediately had to go out and get some antihistamines. Other than that, it was a nice and relaxing week. I definitely recommend getting the free passes to the Brek Rec Center. It is a first class fitness center only 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: Make sure to pack antihistamines if you are allergic to dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willtravel1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Gold Point Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi Willtravel1006,

Thank you for reviewing Gold Point Resort. Our resort offers spacious, fully stocked units with incredible views. We are glad you enjoyed the location and the proximity to the town of Breckenridge. The town bus also has a very convenient stop right by the entrance to the resort.
Gold Point Resort is pet friendly for our owners and we apologize that was not made clear prior to your stay.

Again thank you for taking the time to review Gold Point Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Gold Pont Condos are at the top of Breckenridge. Sitting at an elevation of 10,600 ft. you are looking directly across the valley at the top of the ski area. Gold Point is a sister resort to Grand Lodge Peak 7, and Grand Timber Lodge. Although Gold Point is the oldest property of the Grand Vacation group it is still in good shape. Condos are kept clean and the 3 bed room penthouse units have a ton of room with 3 baths and room for 10 to sleep. Be prepared to drive up Boreas Pass Road about 2 miles above Breck. Most units have a 1 car garage available for your use. Small units are less elaborate and do not have balconies.
Although the furniture is slightly outdated, the kitchen is well supplied and big. Our unit had 4 flat screen TV’s with a DVD on at least one. We spent a weekend and had a great time. The shuttle bus comes right by the units which will save you driving because the complex is not in town. A very nice trip for a few nights or a week timeshare.

Room Tip: The three bedroom penthouse units have killer views any time of the year off the huge balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Gold Point Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi Birdatman,

Thank you for your recent review! The staff at Gold Point Resort is always very pleased when our guests’ expectations are exceeded. It is always a primary goal to strive to create a comfortable environment where our guests can feel at home while on vacation here in beautiful Breckenridge!

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the high alpine location and spacious units. Gold Point is a wonderful resort for larger groups as it is made up of mostly 3 bedroom units. The peaceful atmosphere is also ideal for sitting back and enjoying the breathtaking views of the Ten Mile Range.

We are so glad to hear the property met your expectations and we look forward to having you as our guest for many years to come. Thank you again for taking the time to review the Gold Point Condominiums, it’s much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#8 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Main Street Station
Main Street Station
#17 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Breckenridge
Residence Inn Breckenridge
#12 of 23 in Breckenridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Point Resort

Property: Gold Point Resort
Address: 53 View Lane, PO Box 568, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gold Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spacious condominiums at Gold Point Resort are located 1,000 vertical feet above Breckenridge, CO. The spectacular views overlook the town, the Breckenridge Ski Resort, and the entire Ten Mile Range. Each full size unit offers vaulted ceilings, a gas fireplace, a large private deck, garage parking, a private ski locker, a fully equipped kitchen and much more! As a Gold Point guest, you will have access to the pool, spa and exercise facilities at the Breckenridge Recreation Center. You will also take pleasure relaxing in the on-site hot tubs after a long day experiencing all that the Rocky Mountains have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Gold Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Point Hotel Breckenridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing