We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great School for our grandchildren.

Top school to learn to ski. Kids had a great time and the learned so much. The school provides a... read more

Reviewed October 7, 2018
Gaylord M
,
Fremont, Nebraska
Ski School 7 years old

This ski school met our needs and my daughter had a good day skiing. Nothing more, nothing less. It... read more

Reviewed May 5, 2018
kfin99
,
Cary, North Carolina
Read all 119 reviews
  
translated by Google
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Breckenridge
from $29.99
More Info
from $99.00
More Info
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
82
14
11
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
14
11
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews group lesson private lesson taking lessons booked days private family skill level teaching style green runs great instruction ski lift beaver run ski experience spring break instructor skills techniques skier
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 119 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2014

Let me start out by saying that the individual instructors at Breck ski school are great - they are knowleadgable, caring and engaged individuals. However, the management at Breck ski school (which assigns children to instructors and interacts with their parents) fails horribly. We had our two 4 and 5 years old children signed up at Breck ski school for 5 consecutive days during Thanksgiving 2014. Although they joined the program on 5 consecutive days, Breck ski school system made them be re-evaluated for their skill level anew on each of these five days. In addition, a new instructor was assigned to the children each day. As a result, my son was assesed with the same level for three consecutive days and did not make any progress. In particular, he was forced to stay on the "magic carpet" for three consecutive days and was not allowed to go on the chair lift. Only after we complained did Breck assign a different instructor and - wouldn't you know it- he was handling the chair lift with ease. This lack of progress that my son experienced strongly puts into question the effectiveness of Brecks instructional system. In fact, while I believe that each of my son's instructors did a fantastic job -on a day by day basis- Breck's ski school system did not allow my son to progress as it does not look beyond a single day. To make matters worse, my 5 year old daughter experienced a de-facto degradation in skill level. She entered Breck's program as an already experienced skier who had skied for two years. For the first few days, she luckily got assigned to the same instructor who did a fabulous job teaching her new things. However, on the next day she found herself with a new instructor and also in a group two levels below her previous skills. And while in the grand scheme of things it is most important that your children are happy, as a parent you will ask yourself about the goals of Breck's ski school, especially if you have just paid over $3,000 for your children's instruction and received only stagnation or even backward steps. Other ski schools will focus on continuity and assign the same instructor for several consecutive days - so why does Breck's not do the same? When we brought this up to the management of Breck's ski school, we were blown off, in a rather rude fashion. Our take away from this 5 day experience: Breck's ski school is geared to only the very beginners, it is geared to the daily visitors and it does not care about any long term progress of its students.

1  Thank Arni100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan B, Public Relations Manager at Breckenridge Ski & Snowboard School, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2014

Hello Arni100-
Thank you for your review and we appreciate the comments about the Breckenridge Ski & Ride School staff you encountered on your recent trip to the mountain.
We've looked for your information on file to determine what the situation was so we can better understand how to improve our processes within Ski School, but have been unable to find customer information that looks like you. Do you mind emailing breckinfo@vailresorts.com to help us find you? We want to make sure we can learn the most we can from our guests.
Besides that, the philosophy of our Ski School is to provide a safe and fun learning environment that appropriately challenges students of all ages and abilities, from beginner to expert. We sincerely apologize that we weren’t able to meet your expectations with this philosophy and we are confident that we will be able to provide an experience for your children in the future that better meets your goals and expectations.
Please let us know if you do decide to come back to Breckenridge or take another lesson with our team as we'll do our best to make sure your experience is the best possible.
Thanks!
Morgan Bast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

My son and I had tried skiing in the past and it wasn't for us, we decided to try snowboarding and booked a 3 day lesson. The facilities were great and we were able to quickly progress to the green slopes. I think being in a small group of 3 (it can be up to 8) helped but also our instructor was great and encouraged us to push ourselves. Although expensive it was definitely worth it and its something I'm looking to continue back home in the UK in the indoor slopes. This is a full day and you have to purchase your own food which can be expensive, we were staying at peak 7 so we were able to go back to our apartment as it was 15 mins door to door.

1  Thank rz0dcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Our ski experience was watching how-to videos on youtube prior to getting to the mountain. We thought the ski school would be a waste of time, we talked ourselves into at the last second about 30 minutes before a class started. It was very educational and well worth our time. Would recommend for any inexperienced skier. Instructor was great and encouraging.

1  Thank WJLTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My boys took a half day private lesson. It was not cheap but this was their second time skiing and the lesson helped them very much. Every is pleasant and helpful.

Thank beach_mom_leesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Becky taught the 3 of us to ski and Jon Dritto taught the 2 boys to snowboard. We all had the best experience. The instructors were phenomenal. We plan to return and would request the same instructors.

Thank FLtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews