We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What a bargain!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Der Steirmark Condominiums

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Der Steirmark Condominiums
Alaska
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“What a bargain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by our stay at Der Steirmark. We booked it because we got a great deal on travelocity and being from the area I knew the location was hard to beat, but it turned out to exceed our expectations. It was nothing fancy, but very comfortable with a small private patio with a killer view where we could sit and enjoy a bottle of wine after hiking all day. Close to ski lifts and happy hours and hiking, good for any season. I know there are multiple units, but our personal experience was great!

Room Tip: Since not all rooms are the same, you might chat with someone about what you would like when booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aktravelseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
7
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Cheaper than the rest but still great quality. Hot tub was nice out in the snow. Just a couple of feet from base of peak 9. It was perfect. Also perfect location I Main Street. The people in breck are sooooo nice. Der steirmark also had a very good Mexican restaurant and ski shop downstairs.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The location is fantastic, right near the Peak 9 base and lifts, but the condos are old with dated furniture. During our stay, there was a leak from a storm drain and we had workers walking through our unit to fix the roof because our balcony was the easiest access to the leaking roof (couldn't they have climbed up an exterior ladder??) Our room had an air bed that leaked air and a pull out couch that was all but unusable. We didn't even have sheets for the pull out bed. We looked all over the condo for the sheets for the pull out couch and then called the management company and asked for sheets. Several hours later, while we were skiing, we got a call from the management company saying that the unit has sheets and asked if we had looked all over because they didn't want to "waste their time" coming over to bring sheets if they were already there. I assured them we looked ALL OVER and they finally brought over the sheets. Interesting that they didn't mind wasting MY time having repair people in the room and calling me while skiing, but they made darn sure that their time didn't get wasted. The hot water tank for the unit was micro-sized and lasted for only one hot shower.

The rest of the facility was nice. They had a garage, large woodpile for the fireplace, and a great restaurant and ski and rental shop right in the building. The hot tub was working and very pleasant after a day of skiing. Overall, although the location was fabulous, I probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CompassRose71W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Breckenridge hotels

colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed in unit #119,which was a studio with a king bed. The unit is older, but was very clean. The bed was very soft and probably needs to be replaced. It faces Park Ave, so it does get quite loud with the traffic of trucks and buses going by. I'd recommend getting a unit on the other side of the building. The hot tub was HOT - too hot for us to even get all the way in, which was disappointing. We didn't notice anyone else in there during our stay - but we were there during the week, so maybe it was slow. It was nice to have a place covered parking space in the garage under the building but the elevator has a mind of it's own (wouldn't change floors and just kept the door open) so we used the stairs the entire time.
The location is fantastic - you don't even need your car while you are in town. Plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance. We didn't smell or hear any noise from the mexican restaurant on the lower level.

It was an alright place, but will probably try somewhere else next time...or maybe just an updated unit that doesn't face the street.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kushta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here late October 2010 for 2 nights. The check in was easy, once you found the hotel, and the hotel staff was GREAT. We received our key and continued to the condo. After passing it once, we went down the very steep driveway to the underground parking. There were only about 4 other vehicles in the garage and my boyfriend has a habit of parking in more than one space to "protect the car". Seeing as there were many more spaces we didn't see an issue, but the "owner" did and gave us a visit to tell us (rather rudely) to move because they were expecting more people (who never came). This was pretty late that night I believe. We made our way to our room which was pretty nice, but the heater wasn't working well (either freezing or burning). We then decided to go exploring in the car since it was snowing like crazy and a little chilly. WRONG! We couldn't get out of the driveway. It was completely frozen and after many tried to help we called the free shuttle service provided by the hotel. They sent a nice big pick-up truck and that lady tried to help us up the driveway too, but failed. We finally gave up (since we never received a shuttle and the lady in the pick-up didn't act like we were riding with her) and started to walk. Funny thing was, now that big 4 wheel drive pick-up was stuck too!! The next morning, very early (about 6am), there was a knock on the door. We didn't answer because we were still in bed. About an hour or so later another knock. I got up to see what it was, by this time already upset from getting woken up so early while on vacation. It was the "owner" and she let us know that they had put sand down on the driveway. We were able to get out that day and drive around. We were very hesitant about going back down the driveway for the night, but there was nowhere else to park. Also, there is a hot tub in the inner courtyard, but it was closed and covered with snow. That would have been nice after having to walk the first night.

It was a decent room for the price, but I think we will try some place different next time. I would rather pay a little more and not get woken early or stuck in a garage.

The condo is also located above a Mexican restaurant. If you like smelling food all the time then this isn't a big problem, but it did get a little annoying. The restaurant on the other hand was GREAT! We were wishing we would have eaten there the whole time. The Mango Duck Quesadilla and Chorizo Quesadilla were honestly the best we have ever had!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed at #204 which is a one bedroom condo with a loft. The loft can actually sleep 4 people (3 beds) so there is heaps of room. The decor isn't overly modern but it was fine and the place was clean.

The condo is on the shuttle route with the stop right outside and there is a mexican restaurant and ski hire in the building. The building is right opposite the entrance to the Peak 9 lift so you can walk to the lift.

The hot tub is great and was never too busy even though we were there during President's weekend.

We booked the condo direct from Nona at http://www.breckenridgecondos.net

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sn0wbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2010

We stayed at Der Steirmark for our anniversary and - for the price during peak season, it was great. We paid less than $150 per night (including taxes & fees). Easy check-in - I had flowers delivered to the front desk and they placed them in our room before we arrived. Parking is in a lower level garage which is nice - and in the building are Blue River Sports ski rentals and Mi Casa mexican restaurant. The hallways are a little dated and worn - but our unit was nice and clean. We stayed in unit #216 - it had a double bed loft, a sleeper sofa, small balcony, 2 baths, kitched and fireplace. Very comfortable, roomy for 2 people - the split level is a nice change from the normal cramped hotel room - plenty of room for ski gear and suitcases. It's across the street from Peak 9 Base & just off the north end of Main Street (tons of shops & restaurants). The condo is well stocked with dishes and paper products & firewood. Very clean and comfortable. The only problem was getting a fire started - seems to be little air flow to keep it going. otherwise great place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katsandcards_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.1 mi away
Main Street Station
Main Street Station
#15 of 22 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trails End Condominiums
Trails End Condominiums
#11 of 70 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
River Mountain Lodge
River Mountain Lodge
#7 of 70 in Breckenridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Avenue Lofts
Park Avenue Lofts
#21 of 70 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Pinos Townhomes
Los Pinos Townhomes
#47 of 70 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Steirmark Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Steirmark Condominiums

Property: Der Steirmark Condominiums
Address: 600 S Park Ave, Breckenridge, CO 80424-5007
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Der Steirmark Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From studios to two-bedroom units with lofts, Der Steiermark has a long tradition of providing great value and an excellent location. Peak 9 chairlifts, including the new Quicksilver Super6 chairlift, are directly across the street, providing easy access to the slopes. Main Street Breckenridge is half a block away, and close to Riverwalk Center with tons of shops and restaurants. Enjoy the hot tub after a day on the slopes. Each unit has a balcony, fully equipped kitchens and are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Der Steirmark Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing